• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System randomly won't boot unless I reseat the ram.

Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
511 (0.18/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
So two times in the past couple of weeks my PC got stuck at the Bios splash screen and wouldn't go past it until I powered it down and reseated the ram. I am not sure what is causing this but its most likely an issue with the motherboard or ram itself. Strangely enough I ram memtest not long ago and it passed but I plan on running it again. My main specs an Asus p8p67 deluxe motherboard, i7 2600k, 16 gb ddr3 @ 1600 mghz and a gtx 1070.

Any help would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,412 (0.34/day)
Location
Heart of Europia what!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
is this 2x8gb or 4x4gb ?
whats the native speed of ram 1600mhz at what volts?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
511 (0.18/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
2 x8 gbs and im not sure of the volts. Its gskiill ripjaws im going to rum memtest now and I will post the results later.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,614 (0.37/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Q6600 QUAD
Motherboard ASUS P5QC
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon
Memory HYPER-X KHX1600C8D3T1K2 /4GX PC3-12800 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5770 VAPOR-X
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music + mods Audigy front Panel (full working)
Power Supply HIPER 4M780 PE 980W Peak
Mouse MX510
Keyboard Microsoft Digital media 3000
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail )
Feel free to move the PC case so this to be on the floor.
This will be a good test condition if your PC suffering from vibrations.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,412 (0.34/day)
Location
Heart of Europia what!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
have a look at your heatspreader of the ram.
all info should be there.
which slots are they in ?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,730 (2.26/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
random boot, and i think you know the problem from
first try to reset your bios first, clean the contact area of ram, and try to boot only with one ram. you can try put the ram on first slot or second slot, just to check since likely you have err on your ram slot or your ram
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
221 (0.74/day)
System Name PC ?
Processor Intel Core i9 10850k 5.1 Ghz/4.8 Ghz 1.36V
Motherboard Asus TUF Z490 Gaming Plus
Cooling NZXT Kraken X73
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL14 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF GeForce RTX 3080 OC (+150/500)
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, Samsung 870 QVO 4TB, Crucial MX500 2TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850-B
Case NZXT H710 Black
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 750W Platinum
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed Hero
Keyboard Logitech G815
latest bios?, cmos reset, xmp on and look again
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,190 (0.56/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
Try cleaning the RAM slots and RAM sticks contacts with isopropyl alcohol. If that doesn't help, likely the memory controller in the CPU is giving up the ghost due to long-term high voltages from overclocking.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
511 (0.18/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
have a look at your heatspreader of the ram.
all info should be there.
which slots are they in ?
Here is the spec sheet for the ram that I have.

random boot, and i think you know the problem from
first try to reset your bios first, clean the contact area of ram, and try to boot only with one ram. you can try put the ram on first slot or second slot, just to check since likely you have err on your ram slot or your ram
The issue is that I happens randomly. I can reboot my pc multiple times and it will fire up each time then the one time it decides to freeze up so it's hard to predict when the issue will pop up.

I ran memtest for a few hours and it found no errors.

I'm going to reset cmos and clean the ram and I will report back.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,339 (0.25/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
likely the memory controller in the CPU is giving up the ghost due to long-term high voltages from overclocking.
My thoughts exactly, especially considering the age of the platform, you may well start to see degredation of the IMC of a 9 year old CPU especially if it has been overclocked and running higher than the recommended spec'd RAM which in SB case is only 1066/1333 official so perhaps a combination of time, overclocking and running out of spec ddr3 1600 has finally taken it's toll on that poor old IMC :oops:
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,279 (4.17/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Try cleaning the RAM slots and RAM sticks contacts with isopropyl alcohol. If that doesn't help, likely the memory controller in the CPU is giving up the ghost due to long-term high voltages from overclocking.
What he said.
Also, look at the pins in the RAM slots. Some may be slightly bent, leading to iffy contacts. But first, make sure there's no dirt in the way.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,339 (0.25/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
I mean, it's had a good run in, 9 years as your main PC is pretty impressive and comes from the fact that SB along with Nahelim? CPU's were absolute monsters when it came to IPC and performance vs previous gen of CPU's from Intel and remained relevant for a lot longer than anyone could've anticipated, coupled with quad cores being enough for another 3/4 gens or so and not much more IPC increase in that time and they had a stellar run IMO, if you want to delay the inevitable you could always grab a 3570/3770k for it if it is the CPU/IMC though the 3770k's tend to go for quite a bit more than i would be comfortable paying for on a 9 year old platform as they do still fetch somewhat of a premium due to demand with users still running SB rigs/SFF etc
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,412 (0.34/day)
Location
Heart of Europia what!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
do ya have your ram in the blue slots= A2 + B2
I am shocked that 8gb modules are not listed on the QVL list.
but they should run maybe little more volt like 1,55
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
110 (0.03/day)
pencil eraser is also good for cleaning electrical contacts, so ram sticks, LGA processors, PCIe cards. Obviously don't use on slots or sockets. You might try reseating the vid card.

The fact that it "works after a few times" you might want to check the PSU plugs on the mobo, and indeed the Power Supply itself.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
511 (0.18/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
Ok so I cleaned the ram modules and ram slots on the board, cleared cmos and reseated the power cables to the motherboard. System seems stable so far. I will report back if anything changes. I just need this PC to last me until spring time because I plan on doing a new build at that time, most likely a Ryzen based build.

Thanks for your guys help.

do ya have your ram in the blue slots= A2 + B2
I am shocked that 8gb modules are not listed on the QVL list.
but they should run maybe little more volt like 1,55
According the motherboards manual I have the ram in the correct slots so that shouldn't be an issue. And do you think adding more voltage to the ram may help? I have been using this ram since 2015 without any issue, used it in two different builds.
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
Location
/dev/null
System Name Home PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-A
Cooling DeepCool Castle 240EX
Memory Team T-Force Delta 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage A-Data XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) ViewSonic XG2405 1080p@144Hz
Case Lian Li Lancool II (White)
Power Supply Corsair HX1200 80+ Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Techware Phantom Elite
Software Ubuntu 20.04
Check motherboard screws, make sure all the screws are there. The screws function as grounding on various spots on the motherboard. It's also nice if you can add FIY grounding cable from your PC to the ground, it's usually tied up onto the PSU screw on the back.
 
Top