• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

system with xeon 1230 v2 and asrock z77 extreme4 not working

Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.37/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#1
Friend got himself a xeon 1230 v2 ( ivy bridge ) and a Asrock Z77 extreme4 gen3.

Upon assembling and starting the fans start spinning, but no signal out of the videocard ( which works perfect in other system ) and nothing is showing up on the LED debug.

Broken mainboard or small chance of bios being so outdated it doesnt support the xeon? its been supported since april and saw videos of it back in may on youtube of that combo.

thanks
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.46/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#2
I would make sure your friend has the latest BIOS available.
Make sure everything is plugged into the Mobo? (no forgotten cables? sounds silly but it happens).
Maybe re-install the processor again?
Try another Video card? Make sure GC has power connection to PSU if needed?
Make sure no RAM problems?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.37/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#3
had him double check , gonna tripple check it in a bit, though how would one update the bios when cpu isnt supported?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.46/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#4
If you can't get far enough to even update the BIOS because it's not supported at all, I imagine one would have to use another processor to do that.
I've never run into that situation.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.37/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#5
just to make sure, unsupported cpu doesnt mean one cant get into bios and update it? so we can rule out the chance its the oldest bios.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,547
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
just to make sure, unsupported cpu doesnt mean one cant get into bios and update it? so we can rule out the chance its the oldest bios.
Yep, outdated BIOS means the machine won't even post. I just had the same problem on an ASUS board when using an IvyBridge Xeon, the BIOS the board came with didn't support IvyBridge processors. Board would power on, spin the fans, but not POST. It wouldn't even initialize the video. Dropped in a Sandybridge and it powered right up.