1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tarantula Case Desk [kustom pc mawds, india]

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by de.das.dude, Feb 8, 2014.

  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    Extracting the Front IO
    The front IO and the HDD easy dock will be salvaged and implemented into the new chassis.

    1. Removing the front bezel:
    Behold, a front bezel from the back side
    [​IMG]

    Look at that mess of wires, and how they are cramped into that little place.
    [​IMG]


    3. Getting rid of the removeable wiring.
    [​IMG]
    At first glance it would seem that the whole square outlined bit is a separate unit and should lift off after bending away the mesh tabs.
    however rosewill decided it to be best to glue the whole thing in place. This means i have to do a ton more work and rape the are around the bits i want to salvage.


    4. De-mesh & de-filter
    [​IMG]


    5. Cutting out the square bit.
    Now, i wasnt completely sure that the hdd dock wont be useable so i first cut out the whole thing, the cut had to be 3d and include the top of the front bezel completely since the top had some mounting places for the PCB and would require precision cutting, that will not be possible on the cumbersome bezel itself.
    [​IMG]

    6. Lift off!
    [​IMG]

    7. Rough cleaning the edges:
    Here i remove the mounting places and some reinforcements. Couldnt get a cutting disc in there, so i just sheared them off with pliers.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    8. Extracting I/O
    I realised salvaging the hdd dock wont be possible and could save either the dock or the I/O, since the latter was more important, the dock got destroyed for its sake..
    Extracted
    [​IMG]

    9. Finishing off with filing and cleaning.
    a lot of filing and a quick clean with a wet brush did the trick
    [​IMG]

    Thats a lot of work done; but i managed to do it all in 2hours putting the total time at 6hours.
     
    Peter1986C and Arjai say thanks.
  2. Dak77

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    I always enjoy looking at these deskbuilds - one day i may actually try one myself..
    A question thou? With all those fans facing forward - aint you afraid you'll have one he** of airflow around your precious parts?
    Personally i would make sure to have the intakes on both short sides, and out the back, keeping the front clear of fans - but thats a matter of taste i guess
     
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    silent fans dont make gale force winds. :p
     
  4. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,568 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,509
    /tag
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  5. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,574 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    nice renders of design.
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  6. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,295 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,590
    Location:
    GMT +2
    have you slept during all your ergonomics classes
     
  7. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    lol what XD i dont get you...
     
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,225 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    cover for motherboard power pins i mean.
    btw how many drives you gonna put there since you give much space for drives
     
  9. Udit

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Two Rigs with 9 Drives each
     
  10. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,225 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah, DDD gives room for 9x2 drives, but he will fill all the drive bays?
    some modder place tray or something for aesthetic reason, like putting 4 bays is better than 3 bays since it will look much better
     
  11. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,295 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,590
    Location:
    GMT +2
    how deep is the box (cm, mm, in, whatever you like)
     
  12. Udit

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    A Rampage IV Black Edition ROG Panel in one.
    A 4 in 3 Hot Swap HDD Cage in another for Data Transfer to friends HDD's.

    W3.5ft x D2.3ft inches x H1ft
     
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    there u go.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  14. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,295 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,590
    Location:
    GMT +2
    ok
    take 1ft ruler sit down on the chair with feet on the floor place ruler at about 5-10cm above your femorals and measure 1ft in vertical direction.
    at the end of the ruler is where the top of your desk will be.
    how do you plan to use that.
     
  15. Udit

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well normal cabinets are 9.5-10" with one layer of hdd's but this has 2 layers of hdd's stacked so 12" is needed in my opinion because the cages are 11.8" high when stacked upon each other.

    Also more space is never bad in my opinion but less space is very bad.

    Just imagine a large case labs (TX10-D) laid down sideways.

    http://www.caselabs-store.com/magnum-tx10-d/
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    you know you dont have to be smart ass right? how do you even know how this will be used?
    this will lie separate on top of the table.
    the monitor and peripherals are far away.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  17. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,295 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,590
    Location:
    GMT +2
    i dont speak about working inside. i speak about sitting infront of the desk and using kb for example.
    and yes normal cabinates are 10" but at they are thiner at chair possition so that 10" ticknes goes at the sides of the user.


    :)
     
  18. Udit

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kolkata, India

    My Room Layout :

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Chill DDD it was a genuine question.
     
    psyko12, Ahhzz and de.das.dude say thanks.
  19. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,295 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,590
    Location:
    GMT +2
    are you in the bed?
    how that respiratory machine works? how often do you have to use it? is it electrical only or it has electronics that can be affected by bluetooth or 2.4/5ghz electromagnetic waves? do you have other medical equipment that can be affected from microwaves?
    you lay only in position from pics or your bed level is changeable? how often is needed to be changed?
    what is the level of your disability?
    for how long dust from the pictures in the rosewell case that you cannibalize has been collected? what is the effect of the dusty environment to your condition?
    what is max current that can supply white plugs on the wall behind the bed? does the wall cable for that plug has big enough cross section to support 8x that current? beside respiratory machine what else must be plugged in it?
    you have 2pcs, ps3, 360. what else? big screen on the wall is tv only or it is connected to your stuff?
    why do you need 24 hhds? you plan to dl interent?
    for what you will use that dual cpu rig? do you have it already or you gonna buy it?
    hat AC on the wall is standard split system or it suck air from outside and supply it in the room? when was the last time its dust filters and heat exchanger has been washed? what is its model and manufacturer?
     
  20. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    954 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    I just felt the need to say that this is a ridiculous post.
     
    Vario and de.das.dude say thanks.
  21. Udit

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    How does the respiratory machine work as in?
    It is electrical only.
    The bed level is changeable and it's is changed when and if I need it to be changed.
    Just my mouth, eyes, ears and right hands 3 fingers work.
    The dust took 2 months to accumulate. The dusty environment doesn't effect my condition because I was born in India which is like that.
    I got bedridden and started needing the respirator at the age of 17 (because duchenne muscular dystrophy progresses slowly) so was used to dust by then.
    The walls behind the bed can give 3300W and my respirator and oxygen concentrator use 800W max.
    The Audio equipment and Computers are on individual lines which supply 1300W each and are not using the line which is behind the bed.
    I have 2 pc's, a ps3, a xbox 360, a Onkyo TX-SR508, a QSC RMX 1450, a Beheringer DCX2496 and a 75" tv which together consume 3000W max.
    The big screen is connected to the pc, ps3, xbox 360 and a set top box.
    Parents (yes they stay in the same room) use the tv at night after 8pm and I use the tv when I want to.
    I have the os in a 512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD and 20TB in 8 HDD's in pc #1 and the os in a 240GB Mushkin Callisto Deluxe SSD and 20TB in 8 HDD's (clone of the hdd's of pc #1) in pc #2
    The ac is a standard split.
    The ac is a Panasonic CS-XC24PKY which has a separate power line supplying it the 1500-2100W it needs.
     
    psyko12 and MT Alex say thanks.
  22. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,568 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,509
    While a bit on the unfriendly/clinical side, I'd like to give him the benefit of the doubt, and say he's actually interested in the environ, and may actually have some constructive input based on the responses.
     
  23. Udit

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    That is what I thought thus I replied.
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  24. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,225 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    anyway what kind of red that you want to use for the table?
     
  25. Udit

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    the table is white
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)