• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Technical Issues - TPU Main Site & Forum (2020)

Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,134 (2.83/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Mention notifications don't work for me. I have them enabled, but haven't seen last two pop up when I was mentioned in a thread. They also didn't show up in the Alert section.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,897 (3.62/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
I keep seeing the following here and there in the forums;
DeletedMemberScreenShot.jpg

What's with the "Deleted member 158293 Guest"?
Is this a legacy account held over from an older/previous version of the forums?
Perhaps some glitch with the ignore function?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
613 (0.84/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Pro
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 525GB Crucial MX300, 4TB Seagate Barracuda, 8TB WD White
Display(s) AOC AG241QX 1440p 144Hz, LG 24EN43V-B 1080p 60Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Geekbench 4 on i7: 14581 multi, 4225 single @4.5GHz (https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu/8441992)
I keep seeing the following here and there in the forums;
View attachment 145155
What's with the "Deleted member 158293 Guest"?
Is this a legacy account held over from an older/previous version of the forums?
Perhaps some glitch with the ignore function?
I see that too. It has nothing to do with the ignore feature since I don't use it (yet...). If you look around, you can usually find out who the deleted members were.

That specific deleted member used to be yakk.
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,369 (4.00/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x Micron 500GB SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett Solo on beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,897 (3.62/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,897 (3.62/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Fair enough. It's more of a weird curiosity I'd never seen before and thought it might be good to mention, just in case.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,139 (3.14/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
No fix for missing pictures if an adblocker is enabled on the horizon?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,203 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
No fix for missing pictures if an adblocker is enabled on the horizon?
They fixed their rules months ago. Do you have an example link?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,139 (3.14/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
They fixed their rules months ago. Do you have an example link?
Example link? I use mainly Opera for Android, and with the built in adblocker enabled images are dead. I just updated though, maybe I have to clear cache and whatever.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,203 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Any idea what blocklist they use? Can you contact their support and ask what's going on?
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,600 (0.83/day)
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
Has anyone else noticed when viewing a post with many pages it will always default to the first page? Even if it marks the thread as having no new posts?

Is this expected behaviour?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,989 (4.54/day)
Has anyone else noticed when viewing a post with many pages it will always default to the first page? Even if it marks the thread as having no new posts?

Is this expected behaviour?
Depends on where you click... if you click on the thread title, it always goes to the first post. But if you click on the right side, the last post time, it goes to the end.

Where are you clicking?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,600 (0.83/day)
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
Depends on where you click... if you click on the thread title, it always goes to the first post. But if you click on the right side, the last post time, it goes to the end.

Where are you clicking?
I click on the title. Been a while since Iv'e been on the forums, so may well have changed since then. That or more likely i remember it different!

Either way clicking on the page number indicator to the right takes me to that page, so thats a workaround to the same end. Was just curious if it was the intended behaviour when clicking on the thread title.

I suppose its current behaviour makes sense, otherwise you would have to track the last viewed page to know which to open. However saying that it tracks something to know if there are new posts or not.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,811 (6.16/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
643 (0.77/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Desktop5
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage Kingston HyperX Fury 240 GB // Toshiba 2 TB HDD // WD 2 TB HDD // Mushkin Triactor 3DL 256 GB
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Logitech Wireless Mouse M280 // Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Windows 10
Not exactly an issue, but I wanted... clarification I guess, regarding VPN usage.

My main ISP (the one that provides me Internet access through a coaxial cable) is currently throttling pretty much everything outside of RDP due to people "staying at home and watching Netflix and Youtube all day, overwhelming the capabilities of the currently available infrastructure all over the country" (that's what they are saying at least, I don't really have the data to either back up or shoot down that idea, and honestly I don't really care much outside of this particular issue).

This means that it takes a few actual minutes to get any page on TPU to fully load up (case in point, yesterday I wanted to reply to a couple posts in the FAH subforum and I just quit because I was too tired to deal with that at the moment).

The thing is that while my VPN is enabled (Private Internet Access), I can get past some of the throttling (it's still somewhat slow, but it only takes a few seconds to load the same page that was taking minutes before).

Now, I sort of expect the system to forcefully log me out every once in a while if I'm constantly entering from both Buenos Aires (from my phone) and Florida, USA (from my desktop computer, through VPN). But, since it's not in the guidelines, I wanted to know if VPN usage in general is allowed. I have two different ISPs at work here (the main one with coaxial cable and the carrier for my phone, both completely separate companies), and I only use the VPN on my desktop computer. Thus, my current situation, and wondering whether I will get up one day and find my account banned...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,897 (3.62/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Thus, my current situation, and wondering whether I will get up one day and find my account banned...
You are not going to get banned. AFAIK, there is no policy that limits VPN usage. And why would there be? Half the users would drop off the site. You're fine, carry on.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,897 (3.62/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
You can not register a new forum account through VPN though (anti-spam measure)
Really? I did. Granted, that was 7 years ago before VPN's were a widespread thing...
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
643 (0.77/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Desktop5
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage Kingston HyperX Fury 240 GB // Toshiba 2 TB HDD // WD 2 TB HDD // Mushkin Triactor 3DL 256 GB
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Logitech Wireless Mouse M280 // Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Windows 10
You are not going to get banned. AFAIK, there is no policy that limits VPN usage. And why would there be? Half the users would drop off the site. You're fine, carry on.
Yes, even TOR is fine.

You can not register a new forum account through VPN though (anti-spam measure)
Yesterday I was logged out, went to log back in, by mistake clicked on "register" and got a message saying that I could not sign up while behind a VPN. So, I was left with that question in my head.

Thanks for the quick reply!
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
113 (0.38/day)
System Name Times Killer
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard MSI B450-A Pro rev. 2.0
Cooling arctic freezer 33 TR4
Memory 2x 8gb Corsair 3200 mhz LPX for Ryzen @ 3733mhz 16-16-16-38
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070Ti ACX 3.0 +223/455 / Asus Strix Vega 56 Gaming OC 1630/900 1120 mw
Storage 2 X 1TB WD's 1X 4gb WB red 1x LG GH22NS70 DVD-RAM Drive
Display(s) HP Omen X 27
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D W/ airflow kit
Audio Device(s) SoundblasterX AE-5 / Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Carsair 850-M
Mouse Logitech Proteus spectrum G502
Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
Software Windows 10 home
any petricular reason why turing in the gpu data base say's it doesn't support direct x 11 or 12 just 12 ultimate.. seems a little misinforming.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,897 (3.62/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
any petricular reason why turing in the gpu data base say's it doesn't support direct x 11 or 12 just 12 ultimate.. seems a little misinforming.
Link please? What page are you looking at?
 
Top