1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Techpowerup! Hwbot Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by d1nky, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    can't submit score XD


    Keeps saying "Processor is required for 3D benchmarks!" and i keep putting FX 8320
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,286 (7.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,748
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I cannot join due to having windows 8.... :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Its banned bud
     
  4. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    the site is buggy as hell tbh. maybe try the compatibility settings and make sure you've entered processor speeds in mhz
     
  5. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I ended up getting it to go through. First score of the day submitted. How long does it take to get approved
     
  6. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    updates every few hours or so I believe. it took a day for me to earn a golden cup for hwbot prime. just have to be patient.

    and thanks!
     
  7. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,195 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Too bad win8 is banned even though apparently AMD hardware is fine. Ohwell...
     
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Doing some cinebench runs and 3Dmark Vantage
     
  9. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    CineBench R11.5 score posted
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Rank 77th out of 101 global CPU

    &

    13th out of 18 FX 8320 Rank
     
  11. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    fairplay and that's @ 4.7ghz. try pushing 5ghz or more and youll get higher.

    Im not sure how hot it is there (its hot here) but later ill be benching.
     
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    t hot to push 5GHz. I tried and it hit 78c :banghead:

    4.8GHz is the highest i can achieve without overheating to bad due to the need for very high volts. 4.8GHz @1.568v 62c

    i might get a FX 8350 since they OC much better at lower volts
     
  13. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    I cant believe your temps are getting that high. I wouldn't waste money on changing chips, but see whats letting temps get so high.

    just on my RS240 kit my temps didn't get that high. I never saw above 60*c for testing at around 4.9ghz.
     
  14. vega22

    vega22

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    anyway you could put your rad in a bucket of ice?

    ok it has risks but a big desk fan should remove most risks of condensation and it would help you with temps a lot.

    you could also turn cores off if you are just trying to get high mhz cpuz validations too :)

    8350 are great chips but with the massive drop in price of the fx9 chips i might even consider one of those now instead.
     
  15. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    At what voltages
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,345 (11.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,628
    His temps getting so high is normal. Your CPU is abnormal... in a good way. You lucked out on the Piledriver lottery.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    at around 1.52v for 4.8ghz then its a painful volt jump (2 increments per multi notch) to 5ghz
     
  18. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    See your volts are a lot lower than mines
     
  19. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    yea only just. maybe its what erocker said and yours puts off a lot more heat than others.

    the lower vid ones usually do.
     
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6,470 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,576
    Stop putting in FX and just put in the numbers and select it from the dropdown that appears.
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
  21. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    So it would be better to have a FX 8350
     
  22. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    I don't think itll be worth the swap tbh. unless you started hunting for a decent 8350, like bought it, tested, returned etc etc until you found a decent overclocker, but then youre limited by the mobo still
     
  23. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I believe my board is more than capable
     
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6,470 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,576
    Fixed.

    8+2, you are ok...more is always better especially with these Octo FX chips...I surely wouldnt push much higher for long periods of time personally..
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2013
  25. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    well boys and girls the suns disappearing, it should be cold soon and I got beer!

    3d11 and hopefully wprime/superpi is what im aiming at!

    just seen not many people have used the FX4100 or gts450. so weekend or when I got some time, ill plug them in and have a go or two!
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)