• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tecware Phantom RGB Keyboard

VSG

Editor, Reviews & News
Staff member
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
1,394 (0.66/day)
Tecware makes a grand entrance with their Phantom RGB keyboard. Available in TKL or full-size form factors, three switch options, and a modular switch design for increased customization and hot-swapping, extensive onboard controls and per-key RGB lighting, it offers a lot of value for its asking price.

Show full review
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
5,047 (1.38/day)
Location
Iberian Peninsula
Funny to call a keyboard Phantom.... when ghosting is one of a keyboard's most famous problems. :rolleyes:
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,317 (4.10/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Funny to call a keyboard Phantom.... when ghosting is one of a keyboard's most famous problems. :rolleyes:
Well, the problem is ghosting, not phantoming :D

The software driver offers a poor user experience at the best of times and does not really do much onboard controls don't do already.
That may a blessing in disguise, because it means you might not actually need to look at the drover's UI at all.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
5,047 (1.38/day)
Location
Iberian Peninsula
@bug "That may a blessing in disguise, because it means you might not actually need to look at the drover's UI at all."

Yeah, never again a keyboard without onboard memory for the profiles. My Asus kb was configured during first day and then I uninstalled their unholy "Armour" (cough) softcrapware. Keyboard remains fully functional without it :toast:
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,317 (4.10/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
@erixx It's how I can use my custom settings on Linux as well, despite having no software Linux support :toast:
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,165 (3.13/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Routed cable! Is that common? I prefer them exiting on the right, generally.

Also, is my tablet downloading low res pictures or does the legends look dodgy, even the main ones?
 

VSG

Editor, Reviews & News
Staff member
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
1,394 (0.66/day)
Routed cable! Is that common? I prefer them exiting on the right, generally.

Also, is my tablet downloading low res pictures or does the legends look dodgy, even the main ones?
Most of the legends are doubleshot injected with seams, maybe that's why they seem different at first sight?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2016
Messages
368 (0.26/day)
System Name Baxter
Processor Intel i7-5775C @ 4.2 GHz 1.35 V
Motherboard ASRock Z97-E ITX/AC
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3 with Noctua NF-A12 fan
Memory 16 GB 2400 MHz CL11 HyperX Savage DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Super Black @ 1950 MHz
Storage 1 TB Sabrent Rocket 2242 NVMe SSD (boot), 500 GB Samsung 850 EVO, and 4TB Toshiba X300 7200 RPM HDD
Display(s) Vizio P65-F1 4KTV (4k60 with HDR or 1080p120)
Case Raijintek Ophion
Audio Device(s) HDMI PCM 5.1, Vizio 5.1 surround sound
Power Supply Corsair SF600 Platinum 600 W SFX PSU
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G613 and Microsoft Media Keyboard
Actuation is below the tactile bump? Isn't the whole point of the click to tell you that it has registered? That seems like a big deal...
 

VSG

Editor, Reviews & News
Staff member
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
1,394 (0.66/day)
Actuation is below the tactile bump? Isn't the whole point of the click to tell you that it has registered? That seems like a big deal...
I know what you mean, it seems counter-intuitive to me too but all clicky switches I have tried to date (those following the Cherry MX stem design, anyway) do this. There is a tolerance of +/- 0.2 mm when it comes to the actuation and tactile bump locations, but even so they have it so that you hear the click/feel the bump and the downward momentum inevitably results in further travel enough to cause actuation before you can stop yourself and allow the stem to get back up.
 
Top