• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Temp monitoring what program to trust?

Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,101 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-8086K (Coffee Cups) @ 5GHz 1.248V Offset -110| Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi (Bios: P4.00 Disabled Intel ME modded by R-T-B) | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24 | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid Core/Mem: +130MHz GPU Boost: 2000MHz+ | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK-Logitech G305 | Logitech MK270 kit
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64 | Win10 Home SCU x86
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
i normally uses Aida64, CPU-Z and RealTemp 3.70 to monitor my cpu core but recently when i push my cpu voltage up to 1.280V in bios and run 4,5ghz on my i5-2500k i get other readings in Windows 7.

Aida64 v.2.30.1906 Beta: CPU VID 1.3761 V
CPU-Z 1.60 x32: 1.288V
CPU-Z 1.60.1 x32: 1.376V (latest one posted my Stasio here on the forum)
RealTemp 3.70: 1.3761V

so which should i trust, when ino bios is set to manual 1.280V ?

CPU.Voltage.Reading.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Location
Seattle area
Processor Core I7 4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Extreme
Memory 4x8GB Mushkin Blackline PC3-2133 11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980 TI Superclocked
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro + 4x 250GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) 2x Dell UP2414Q
Case Fractal Design XL R2
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620M
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
One is "Core Voltage" the other is "Core VID"
You'll likely get 1.60 to match the others if you change Sensor=0 in the ini file.

Core Voltage is going to be reading from the motherboard's sensor and will likely match Vcore in SpeedFan - and is usually the one I tend to trust as it reflects what I set it to given load/speedstep/etc on most of my systems.
Check the Sensor section in if AIDA64 instead.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,101 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-8086K (Coffee Cups) @ 5GHz 1.248V Offset -110| Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi (Bios: P4.00 Disabled Intel ME modded by R-T-B) | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24 | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid Core/Mem: +130MHz GPU Boost: 2000MHz+ | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK-Logitech G305 | Logitech MK270 kit
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64 | Win10 Home SCU x86
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
zyky looks like the latest beta of CPU-Z that stasio linked at the CPU-Z thread fixed this and my other thread with memory ^^
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,280 (2.41/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
i use hwmonitor
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,101 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-8086K (Coffee Cups) @ 5GHz 1.248V Offset -110| Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi (Bios: P4.00 Disabled Intel ME modded by R-T-B) | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24 | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid Core/Mem: +130MHz GPU Boost: 2000MHz+ | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK-Logitech G305 | Logitech MK270 kit
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64 | Win10 Home SCU x86
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,857 (3.22/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 3 1200
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Does the Vcore sensors work differently than the other voltage sensors? Because they never ever work on my system. HWmonitor says it's 1.001V and AIDA says it's 1.985V.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,171 (0.63/day)
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Stock CPU cooler.
Memory 2x 4Gb Hyper X 2666mhz @2993mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
You can't truly trust software monitoring, even though it's usually within a few degree's accurate if your wanting a more reliable reading your best bet is to use some sort of sensor tool ie: some high end fan monitoring kits have temperature sensors with them what tend to be just as accurate.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
861 (0.27/day)
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
You can't truly trust software monitoring, even though it's usually within a few degree's accurate if your wanting a more reliable reading your best bet is to use some sort of sensor tool ie: some high end fan monitoring kits have temperature sensors with them what tend to be just as accurate.
Except he's talking voltages to the CPU, not temps of the cpu, but you're on to something- Some board have v-check points you can read using a multi-meter, that would be the most accurate, providing you have them to begin with.

I just looked, you do have them, they're the small pads next to the ram along the edge of the mobo.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,101 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-8086K (Coffee Cups) @ 5GHz 1.248V Offset -110| Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi (Bios: P4.00 Disabled Intel ME modded by R-T-B) | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24 | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid Core/Mem: +130MHz GPU Boost: 2000MHz+ | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK-Logitech G305 | Logitech MK270 kit
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64 | Win10 Home SCU x86
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
and yes the Asus Maximus Gene-Z and Gene-Z/Gen3 does have the check points, but i don't got a voltage meter at my hands and i can't do it in the case (too big hands for that xD )

and i am not that much into HWMonitor anyway.
 
Top