• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Temperature: GPU: 1.$°C GPU environment: 1.$°C

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#1
hi folks.
till yesterday my pc ran all fine. all the games and tools.

then i bought orangebox (portal/tf2) and cod4.

i installed portal, played it, all fine.
i installed tf2, played it, all fine.
theni installed cod4, low fps wihtout patch, so i quit, sucked the patch, installed it. did NOT try it.

then i played tf2 again and then it began. 2 vpu recovers within 10 minutes. the 3rd one resulted in a hard reboot.

puh, then i tested cod4, hard reboot in the first 5 minutes. portal again, hardreboot asap. etc.

then even a SMALL moviewindow crashed!

i deinstalled the punkbuster service which came with cod4 and he securom crap.

now i can watch movies and play old games like hl1 without crashes.
but all the new stuff like cod4, tf2 and portal hardreboot or crash wiht soundstutter.

i fired up atitools and the 3d render view crashes ASAP too.

and now i got an atitools log file question:

2007-12-02 01:19:45 I Temperature: GPU: 45.0°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:19:47 I Temperature: GPU: 45.0°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:19:49 I Temperature: GPU: 44.9°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:19:51 I Temperature: GPU: 44.9°C GPU environment: 40.0°C
2007-12-02 01:19:53 I Temperature: GPU: 44.9°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:19:55 I Temperature: GPU: 44.9°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:19:57 I Temperature: GPU: 44.8°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:19:59 I Temperature: GPU: 44.6°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:01 I Temperature: GPU: 44.6°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:03 I Temperature: GPU: 44.8°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:05 I Temperature: GPU: 44.8°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:07 I Temperature: GPU: 44.6°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:09 I Temperature: GPU: 44.5°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:11 I Temperature: GPU: 44.5°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:13 I Temperature: GPU: 44.5°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:15 I Temperature: GPU: 44.4°C GPU environment: 40.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:17 I Temperature: GPU: 44.4°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:19 I Temperature: GPU: 44.3°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:21 I Temperature: GPU: 45.1°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:23 I Temperature: GPU: 44.5°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:25 I Temperature: GPU: 44.8°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:27 I Temperature: GPU: 44.5°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:29 I Temperature: GPU: 44.4°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:31 I Temperature: GPU: 46.5°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:33 I Temperature: GPU: 47.3°C GPU environment: 41.0°C
2007-12-02 01:20:38 I Temperature: GPU: 47.3°C GPU environment: 1.$°C
2007-12-02 01:20:42 I Temperature: GPU: 1.$°C GPU environment: 1.$°C


does 1.$°C mean the temp went BOOM, or wasnt atitools able to read the tempchip coz of the crash?

all other temps, mobo, cpu, hds etc are below average.

(if someone got an idea, please tell.)

its pretty strange that it happend just after i installed those new games. i was able to play hl2 wihtout problems before. (tf2 and portal are based on the same engine like hl2.)

and as you can see, 2d is stable so far.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#2
can you please fill out your system specs in the user cp? that will help us diagnose and fix your problem.
 

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#3
can you please fill out your system specs in the user cp? that will help us diagnose and fix your problem.
oh sure will do, but not right now, i checked, cleaned, etc my pc the last couple of hours and now ill relax and do some party. :D
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#5
Sounds like a vid/chipset driver crash but it could be vid temp sensor/hardware related.
 

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#6
system specs updated.

Sounds like a vid/chipset driver crash
please explain.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#7
Reinstall your drivers, They may have become corrupted.
 

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#8
completely deinstalled drivers and reinstalled them. still ASAP crashes but this time VPU recover triggers more often till it finally ends in the complete crash.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#9
try going into your bios and raising the pci-e frequency to 115. this helps with some 1950pro's.
 

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#10

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#11
Reinstall the video drivers, sounds like something got corrupted. Are you overclocking in any way?
 

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#12
now we are getting recursive. ;)
and nope, not overclocking.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#13
If you have an option in your BIOS entitled "Slot Power" - try setting is to [HEAVY]

also, check with either ASUS or Intel for any chipset updates for that mobo


*Edit> I just thought of this, too - what interface is your card, AGP or PCIE? Also, what CAT version are you using? If you're running 7.11, try completely removing that version and install 7.10 or 7.9
If you're running an AGP card, try installing 7.8 instead.
 

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#14
its a pci-e card, and no slotpower option.
this system ran 12months without problems.

problems started while i had 7.10 and are still there with 7.11. will try older versions tho.
(installed 7.11 after those new games started to crash.)


EDIT: i went back to 7.06 and played the last "new" game i was able to play wihtout crashes, opposing forces.
this time i was able to play for 20-30 minutes. then the GAME froze but i was able to move the MOUSE. then my monitor shutdown and i had to reboot.
 
Last edited:

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#15
ok, its 100% not the graficcard temperature. in my logginsession it never went above 50degrees. crashes came too fast to produce any heat.

since im not a techy, im not sure how to read this logfile:
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/3848/systemlog1ai5.jpg

note the +12V values.

is my PSU damaged or is it a normal behavior while the card VPU recovers?
-5V is jumping up and down too.

i dont have logfiles from a stable system, so i cant compare. :(

right now, im running with 7.06 drivers.
i tested with portal, valves little puzzle game, since its not that hardwarehungry, small levels, a few textures.

i start, i reach menuscreen, load a savegame, after 10 seconds the sound loops and i get kicked to desktop to the VPU recover (send info?) window, while portal is stilla ctive in the background. i close the VPU window and im back in portal. 5 seconds later VPU crashed again. i stopped after 5 recovers. system is still up but windowdragging is ultra jaggy.

thanks for your help.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#16
completely deinstalled drivers and reinstalled them. still ASAP crashes but this time VPU recover triggers more often till it finally ends in the complete crash.
Deinstalled?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#17
unless I'm interpreting that table wrong - I'd say it looks like your PSU is going out the door. IIRC, 12+ should hold stable at no less than 11v even once the CPU goes under full load. Anything below that is cause for concern . . .

and then when you factor in that your GPU draws a butt-load of power once it goes into 3D mode (loading up a game, for example) that could stress out the PSU enough that the whole system burps and crashes.

If you've got another known good PSU around, swap 'em out and see if there's any difference
 

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#18
@CrAsHnBuRnXp: i removed all ati related files and entries, then reinstalled drivers.
@imperialreign: thats my first thought too. my second thought is, that its a normal VPU recover behaviour. but since im a tec-layman i asked.

will do another logging session with a 2d game.

at least a new PSU is cheaper than a new GPU. :)
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#19
most defi - for the most part. If the GPU was bad, you might be able to RMA it, though.


If it turns out the GPU is bad, the price of the X1950's is dropping like MIR right now, so they're not too bad to replace anymore compared to a quality PSU. But, at this point also, it might be a better idea to go ahead and upgrade if your 1950 is bad, know what I mean?

BTW, what brand PSU are you using?
 

bazzar

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core2duo 6600
Motherboard asus p5b
Cooling arctic freezer pro 7
Memory 2 x 1gig - G Skill F2-6400CL5-1GBNQ
Video Card(s) ati x1950pro
Storage several, all cool :P
Display(s) LG T910B
Case chieftec CS 901
Audio Device(s) HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 (onboard disabled)
Software win xp, latest updates
#20
funny that you are mentioning that. i just surfed the local stores and was surprised how the prices dropped. its 2-3 times cheaper now. esp. while the dollar is so cheap and the euro so strong.

for the case the GPU is the fault, what would be a good replacement? if i wanted an equivalent to the x1950pro? havnt kept track of the new versions since i bought my 1950.

if noone else got an idea, ill buy a new PSU and will see.

EDIT: forgot: PSU 550w supersilent 2.0 (from lc-power? i forgot)
 
Last edited:

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#21
EDIT: forgot: PSU 550w supersilent 2.0 (from lc-power? i forgot)
Uhh that's my same PsU. i'm running a 8800GT on it.
It's got 2 12V rails, if I remember correctly one at 18V and one at 16V...

I guess it should run the 1950...
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#22
funny that you are mentioning that. i just surfed the local stores and was surprised how the prices dropped. its 2-3 times cheaper now. esp. while the dollar is so cheap and the euro so strong.

for the case the GPU is the fault, what would be a good replacement? if i wanted an equivalent to the x1950pro? havnt kept track of the new versions since i bought my 1950.

if noone else got an idea, ill buy a new PSU and will see.

EDIT: forgot: PSU 550w supersilent 2.0 (from lc-power? i forgot)

As for the PSU . . . 550W is more than enough to drive your setup. I'm honestly not sure on that brand, though . . . don't think I've ever heard of them before . . . perhaps picking up a PSU for cheap from a store to just "test" might be in order. Not sure where you live, but some stores here have "No Questions Asked" return policies :D

As for an upgrade to the GPU . . . well, if you'd like to stick it out with the 1950 series (which isn't a bad thing, really) Sapphire is a really good brand to go with, I'd recommend their products over any other ATI licensed hardware. Otherwise, the mid-range cards are decent . .. VisionTek, ATI, etc.

If you want to move up to DX10 compliant hardware, it'd probably be best to go ahead and look into the 3870 series. The 2900 is still maturing and all, but the 3870, IMO, just offers better value between the two.

Unless, you're wanting to pick up an nVidia card - in which case, the 7900 series is on par with the 1950s. Otherwise, the 8800 series is a better buy hands down, except it's a bit of a toss-up between the 8800GT and the HD3870. Both are an equal match. If you're looking for all out performance FPS-wise, the 8800GTX or 8800 Ultra are the sure fire bets.