• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Temperature Sensors

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
326 (0.12/day)
Likes
24
Location
UK
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD X6 1055T 2.8GHZ @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Coolermaster 212+
Memory Kinston Hyper X RED DDr3 1600Mhz 2x4Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 660 FTW w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
Storage Sandisk 240GB SSD /WD Black 32MB Cache 500GB (STEAM) / Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung S24D390HL PLS 23.6 X2 Dual Monitor
Case CoolerMaster Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
#1
Hi all,

Im about to put my parts in my new case (coolermaster scout) and i bought a Fan controller (Aero cool Mordern V) It was ment for my Antec mod but paint went dried funny due to cold weather so i bought the coolermaster scout.

Anyway I just opened it for the first time from went i bought it a month back and went to check the intructions as iv never stuck one of these in a pc before and well it doesn't say much about placing the Temperature sensors and where.

I have 4 of these Sensors (There Flat ones) One is ment for the Graphics card, Another for the CPU, Hard Drive and System and i have no idea where i should stick them for a Close enough reading...Lol

Please could someone help me out as not sure where to place them.

I have heard it's not a good idea to place between Heatsink and CPu so i thought maybe just under the CPu ?

Not sure about the System, Graphics and Hard drive sensor at all ?

not sure if you need these Details but :
My Graphics will be my 4870, HD Westenr digital 500Gb, AMD X6 1055T, Cooler : coolermaster 212+.

Fan Controller :

http://www.aerocool.us/peripheral/modernv.htm




EDIT : OK after abit of Searching on google Alot have said the Hard Drive Sensor is best to go on the Top of HD in the centre, Would that be Right ?
Still stuck on where to place sensor for Graphics card and CPu and System.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,987 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#2
if you have air an cooler on your cpu stick it as low down and on as solid a bit near the cpu as pos same goes for others but never between heatsink and chip just on the most solid bit of metal near the cpu etc
same goes for water cooling
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,987 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#3
hence you should allways take into acount the 5-15 degree difference between heatsink and actual chip and set your fans accordingly,the controller might allow you to offset the displayed temps so they are closer to the actual chips temps
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
326 (0.12/day)
Likes
24
Location
UK
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD X6 1055T 2.8GHZ @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Coolermaster 212+
Memory Kinston Hyper X RED DDr3 1600Mhz 2x4Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 660 FTW w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
Storage Sandisk 240GB SSD /WD Black 32MB Cache 500GB (STEAM) / Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung S24D390HL PLS 23.6 X2 Dual Monitor
Case CoolerMaster Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
#4
Ok So Not Directly Between the CPU and heatsink So on the side of CPu where the Metal Bit is ?

So like this :

----------------------
------Heatsink--------
----------------------
----------------------
Thermal Paste
================= <---- Sensor Here on side of Cpu ?
======CPU========

Also What about the Sensor for the System Sensor i was thinking in the middle of the Case Somewhere ?

and

The graphics card sensor where should that go ?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,631 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,356
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
I would put the temperature sensors on things that dont readily report temperatures already. Why have a sensor on the CPU when there are tons of apps out there that already do this. Think of things like PWM, memory, chipsets, things that software tends to leave out;)
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
326 (0.12/day)
Likes
24
Location
UK
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD X6 1055T 2.8GHZ @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Coolermaster 212+
Memory Kinston Hyper X RED DDr3 1600Mhz 2x4Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 660 FTW w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
Storage Sandisk 240GB SSD /WD Black 32MB Cache 500GB (STEAM) / Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung S24D390HL PLS 23.6 X2 Dual Monitor
Case CoolerMaster Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
#6
I was gonna do that but the Fan controller Label on the Front what Reading is from what like this (picture below) and it would get confusing.




EDIT :

Ok i searched around abit on Google, Someone Wrote a Guide on placing Probes.
Best places seem to Be under the Cpu On the Side, Away from the pins. ; )
Top of the hard drive in the centre
The System one on top of the Case as that is where it is Hottest and would give you a better idea.

But i cannot find any info at all about placing a Probe on my 4870 Any ideas Please ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
326 (0.12/day)
Likes
24
Location
UK
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD X6 1055T 2.8GHZ @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Coolermaster 212+
Memory Kinston Hyper X RED DDr3 1600Mhz 2x4Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 660 FTW w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
Storage Sandisk 240GB SSD /WD Black 32MB Cache 500GB (STEAM) / Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung S24D390HL PLS 23.6 X2 Dual Monitor
Case CoolerMaster Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
#7
Ok, just Got my pc working again everything has now been put together installed Etc.

All the sensors appear to be working,

Hard Drive sensor is about 1c out so not too bad.

Graphics card sensor, Well that's 10c out but i cant think of any where elase i can put that I Actually stuck in inside my 4870 next to where the heatsink and GPU Touch (not actually between them)

System Sensor is exactly Right.

Sadly though my CPU sensor is not working at all Temps are showing 18c in bios on my X6 but accoring to the Sensor it's between 0 - 2c so that's wrong.

Any ideas where i can stick the Cpu Sensor for a Close enough reading ?

I put the sensor on the side next to where the Cpu and heatsink touch.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.35/day)
Likes
161
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
#8
those types of sensors work best on thing like hard drives or ambient air temps, for gpu and cpu readings i would use realtemp for cpu temps or you could use something like everest, it will show you all temps of anything on your motherboard that can read temps, cpu, gpu, motherboard, etc.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#9
I placed mine on the side of the HSF as close to the GPU as I could the readings are 5* cooler than in AIDA64 . Really close to the gpu as you can on the HSF .
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
326 (0.12/day)
Likes
24
Location
UK
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD X6 1055T 2.8GHZ @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Coolermaster 212+
Memory Kinston Hyper X RED DDr3 1600Mhz 2x4Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 660 FTW w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
Storage Sandisk 240GB SSD /WD Black 32MB Cache 500GB (STEAM) / Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung S24D390HL PLS 23.6 X2 Dual Monitor
Case CoolerMaster Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
#10
Thanks, Yh i know you can use software and it is more accurate Etc. ;)

I took It appart again to try to sort out the Sensor/probe for CPU but instead i put it on the heatsick where the copper Pipes come out (That flat Block above which sits on CPU) But the sensor shows up as 0c so i think sensor is Damaged so i will replace that tommo......Dam means i gotta Take heatsink off again :mad:

The GPU sensor, well i did stick it on the Heatsink as i said earlier but it is still 10c out but i dont think i can get it any better then that unless someone else knows where it might get a better reading.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#11
When doing the CPU I would put it next to the IHS on the CPU this will give you clearance and better temps readings as well .
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
326 (0.12/day)
Likes
24
Location
UK
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD X6 1055T 2.8GHZ @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Coolermaster 212+
Memory Kinston Hyper X RED DDr3 1600Mhz 2x4Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 660 FTW w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
Storage Sandisk 240GB SSD /WD Black 32MB Cache 500GB (STEAM) / Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung S24D390HL PLS 23.6 X2 Dual Monitor
Case CoolerMaster Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
#12
The cooler im using is the 212+ and here is pic of heatsink, so should i stick it on the top of the bit the Goes over the CPU ?

Sorry im getting abit Confused + really teird this been bothering me all day...Lol

 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#13
I am not sure if you can see this or not but do you see that lip there ( In red ) ? try to attach the temp probe there . I used super glue to do mine and it works great .
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
326 (0.12/day)
Likes
24
Location
UK
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD X6 1055T 2.8GHZ @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Coolermaster 212+
Memory Kinston Hyper X RED DDr3 1600Mhz 2x4Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 660 FTW w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
Storage Sandisk 240GB SSD /WD Black 32MB Cache 500GB (STEAM) / Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung S24D390HL PLS 23.6 X2 Dual Monitor
Case CoolerMaster Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
#14
Hmmm..... I may try that, Wouldn't really want to use super Glue to hold it in place. But i dont see any where else i can put it, other then on top of the heatsink.

They gave me loads of thermal tape to hold the sensors down with but that just comes off as soon as you put it down

Edit :

Found this Pic on Google is that sensor at the the back of the Mobo on the silver bit and would that work ? ?

 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#15
Hmmm..... I may try that, Wouldn't really want to use super Glue to hold it in place. But i dont see any where else i can put it, other then on top of the heatsink.

They gave me loads of thermal tape to hold the sensors down with but that just comes off as soon as you put it down : (
This is why I use super glue do not use too much and make sure you place the censor part as close to the IHS as you can be patient and take your time . This will give you great temp readings if done right and you will see this ( If done right ) when you use like core temp and watch both the temp probe and core temp you should see a 5-10 degree difference .
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
326 (0.12/day)
Likes
24
Location
UK
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD X6 1055T 2.8GHZ @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Coolermaster 212+
Memory Kinston Hyper X RED DDr3 1600Mhz 2x4Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 660 FTW w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
Storage Sandisk 240GB SSD /WD Black 32MB Cache 500GB (STEAM) / Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung S24D390HL PLS 23.6 X2 Dual Monitor
Case CoolerMaster Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
#16
Ok, What about the The pic i stuck up in last reply do you think that would work at the back ?
If not i'll use your suggestion.

Thanks to all Btw
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#17
Ok, What about the The pic i stuck up in last reply do you think that would work at the back ?
If not i'll use your suggestion.

Thanks to all Btw
Not as well . I also have one on the back of mine . I monitor the temps there as well . but you can stick one there if you like but it will not give you temps as good as it would if you had it were I put mine . I use that temp probe when I have my TEC WB in it tells me how cold the back of the MB is when it is on and how hot it gets when I load it up to 100% . But mine is right on the MB and in dead center of the CPU socket . That one in the pic you posted is on the back plate and would do nothing at all to tell you how hot the back of the mb is getting when CPU is at full load . Also if you look carefully at that pic you will see were the censor really is and well that one is far from center . The thing is you need to get the tip of that censor as close to what ever it it you want to keep an eye on , They are tricky to use but when done right you can get some great results .
 
Last edited:

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,567 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,468
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#18
Just fyi the probes are not that accurate nor is the bay reader you have. I got one for free a few years back ktype probe and meter proved it to be way off. Just put the cpu probe on the side of the alum on the cooler you have it will work fine and the only thing that it is reading thru is a solid hunk of alum which won't be to terriblely off.