• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Texture pop in/draw distance problem

Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#1
I'm having this problem since an year or so (everything was normal before, so it is not the games, not the control panel settings and not the drivers newer/older).

I saw a topic here about the same problem (it was from 2008, and it was with radeon 4870 x2)
where 2 people were having it, and there was no solution replied.

I have seen many thread with this problem on the web, but again with no solution found.

So, I am with Windows 7 32-bit, Geforce 8800GT. The problem consists in poor draw distance and a texture "change" in 95% of the games. It is not only for objects on the background, but in closer object, where the texture "changes" (or pops in, dunno how to describe it) when i make a step forward, and changes again when i go back

Example with COD MW2 http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/3226/asd3.gif (notice the change of the car's texture. This happens with sandbags, NPCs, etc.. (This is .gif so please wait a while or refresh unless it starts moving.

Example with SWTFU http://vbox7.com/play:d5fe0b6f (1 sec only, but you can see the change when i move forward.

Example with Dragon Age http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/28/asdyz.gif (the texture of the white ox is "changing"

The is an example of a guy playing Oblivion with the same problem as mine (especially the trees "changing" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ax4P06hyGnY

The interesting thing is that for me Oblivion is one of the few games that are not bugged.

Other games that are normal are RTS games, even ANNO where i can zoom in and out, and i don't notice any bugs, and OpenGL games (Doom3, Quake 4).

I think it has something to do with Windows 7, some strange incompability with my card, or maybe because I have installed 4 GB RAM, but using 32 bit windows.

Recently i bought a new computer for mine cousin with a 9800GT, installed Win7, installed COD2 and saw the same problem :eek:

The one thing i haven't done is going back to XP, installing 64 bit OS (which some of the ppl with the problem have done, but without a result.

It is a long post, but this problem is annoying, and I would be thankful if you manage to help me.

Thanks.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
the problem is the games themselves. there is nothing you can do about it.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#3
It is not in the games, i have played the games before and there wasn't such thing.
Even when i played COD 2 with Geforce 4 and 7600gs it was normal, and now it's not

Half life 2 ep2 has also very onnoying trees, grass and rocks popping, and it also was normal before
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,635
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#4
yah its a draw distance thing

i dont know that you can change that... i notice it in crysis like mad.

You used to play these games before and they were fine? o_O hmmmm...

I see what you're saying about COD 2 and mine def dosn't do that. Maybe try different drivers?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#5
Crysis hasn't the furthest draw distance by default. I have tried with many drivers, eventhe first Win7 drivers (185.21 i think)
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,635
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#6
tried turning off all texture optimizations in the control panel? Set to high quality?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#7
Yep i have tried
 

ctrain

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
393 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#8
this is almost undoubtedly the games themselves, just model level of detail at work trying to save you performance.

it'll swap to a higher quality model when it figures you're close enough to actually notice the detail. this isn't your system doing something terrible, it's just an incredibly common optimization at work.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#9
But i have played the same games before and this wasn't happening, that is what is worrying me.
 

ctrain

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
393 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#10
can you mimic the effect by going into iron sights in COD?

if you position yourself right, you should be able to get it to change just by sighting.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#11
I don't have COD installed atm, but as i remember i could get the effect by using iron sights.

P.S- Just tried in Crysis (vehicle's wheel are bugged like COD's sandbags etc..) and i got the "change" by sighting. I will try to post gifs later

The gif (it is a little slow) http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/4317/bugz.gif
Here is the tyres'(the rims especially) texture change while sighting
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
35
#12
I don't have COD installed atm, but as i remember i could get the effect by using iron sights.

P.S- Just tried in Crysis (vehicle's wheel are bugged like COD's sandbags etc..) and i got the "change" by sighting. I will try to post gifs later

The gif (it is a little slow) http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/4317/bugz.gif
Here is the tyres'(the rims especially) texture change while sighting
Its all in the LOD for the games.The screenshot you showed for Crysis,heres how to change it.I could of went back father and it would still be the same,but you would not see the wheels lol.

Add this line to an autoexe.cfg file.
e_lods=0



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Here are some other commands, if ya want I can tell you what each one does.
e_lod_ratio=6
e_lod_min=0
e_lods=1
e_view_dist_ratio = 100
e_view_dist_ratio_detail=100
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation=100 This one here can get rid of popups.
e_view_dist_custom_ratio=200
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_custom_ratio_min=1
e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio=1.5
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy=4096
e_detail_materials_view_dist_z=256
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#13
I know about editing the cvars in Crysis, but this is bot only in Crysis, and this "wheel change" wasn't happening the first time I played Crysis. I was just giving an example what is happening in almost all games

I created an autoexe.cfg file in the Config folder of Crysis, added the command but nothing happened.

I just renamed it to autoexec.cfg and the tyre isn't "changing", but the npcs are still bugged
Can i do the same file for all the other games?
 
Last edited:

ctrain

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
393 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#14
I don't have COD installed atm, but as i remember i could get the effect by using iron sights.

P.S- Just tried in Crysis (vehicle's wheel are bugged like COD's sandbags etc..) and i got the "change" by sighting. I will try to post gifs later

The gif (it is a little slow) http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/4317/bugz.gif
Here is the tyres'(the rims especially) texture change while sighting
this is an expected change.

it's not a bug, it's normal behavior. that's why i asked you to confirm that it happens.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#15
But this means that i have a general problem with the LOD settings and i have to manually adjust them for each game. I tried with Rivatuner but it makes no change.

And I know that this is not normal behavior :p. I know how things were before this started to happen.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
218 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
System Name OC GamePC
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K (4,7ghz @ 1,392v max)
Motherboard Intel Z68
Cooling ID Cooling Frostflow 120mm AIO (2x Noctua NF-F12)
Memory 26gb 1866mhz DDR3 CL9 Dual-Channel (2x8gb)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX970 SSC @ 1430/7900
Storage 250gb Sata3 SSD, 750GB SSHD
Display(s) 32" 1366x768 Toshiba LED Backlight TV
Case Raijintek Thetis Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 PCI
Power Supply EVGA 550G2
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: ~ 11.100 Timespy: ~ 4.000
#16
But this means that i have a general problem with the LOD settings and i have to manually adjust them for each game. I tried with Rivatuner but it makes no change.

And I know that this is not normal behavior :p. I know how things were before this started to happen.
No, it most likely just means that you didn't notice it the first time you played through it and now that you noticed it for 1 game you start noticing it in all the other games. I'm almost 100% positive this is just normal Level of Detail; it's the Game-engine doing this, not some fault in your hardware.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#17
The texture change of the sandbags in COD 2,4,6 is so obvious that it is just impossible i didn't noticed it before. I am 100% sure that wasn't happening. I know what normal LOD and draw distance is and that this is not normal.

For example look at the Oblivion video in my first post. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ax4P06hyGnY

This guy has bugged LOD (more obvious when you look at the trees). If you that this is normal behaviour, i can say that i also played it some days ago, and it wasn't like that.

It was one of the few games that are absolutely normal (which is strange). Also i have found different topics on the web with ppl that have the same problem (there also was example with COD and the problem was like mine).

So the next time I manage to reinstall Windows, I will put back XP and see if that changes something (there is chance it wouldn't, because there were people trying this with no help), because I first noticed this soon after i put Win7 for the first time.

I posted this because i wanted to see it anyone here has the same problem (like an older thread about a guy with the same problem, there was another with the same thing happening).

Anyway, thanks to all who responded.
 

XibaD

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720be@3400
Motherboard Asrock AOD790GX/128M
Cooling Xigmatek 1283S
Memory OCZ Reaper 1150
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon HD 4870 1Gb
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2
#18
The texture change of the sandbags in COD 2,4,6 is so obvious that it is just impossible i didn't noticed it before. I am 100% sure that wasn't happening. I know what normal LOD and draw distance is and that this is not normal.

For example look at the Oblivion video in my first post. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ax4P06hyGnY

This guy has bugged LOD (more obvious when you look at the trees). If you that this is normal behaviour, i can say that i also played it some days ago, and it wasn't like that.

It was one of the few games that are absolutely normal (which is strange). Also i have found different topics on the web with ppl that have the same problem (there also was example with COD and the problem was like mine).

So the next time I manage to reinstall Windows, I will put back XP and see if that changes something (there is chance it wouldn't, because there were people trying this with no help), because I first noticed this soon after i put Win7 for the first time.

I posted this because i wanted to see it anyone here has the same problem (like an older thread about a guy with the same problem, there was another with the same thing happening).

Anyway, thanks to all who responded.
I'm facing the exact same problem recently in everygame. I have an ASUS 4870 1Gb and there's popping in BC2, STALKER's, Crysis, a little in CoH ... the Ungine Heaven tests... And It's driving me crazy. Maybe has to do something with DirectX10/11?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#19
I haven't found a solution yet, but your same problem(and some others i have noticed) shows it is not the games but something else.

When did you noticed the problem? Did you do something specific before you saw this? I saw it after i upgraded to windows 7
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
the fact that you're all seeing it in DirectX 9, 10, and 11 (unigine heaven) programs, on ATI and nvidia hardware in a ton of game engines... really just makes me think you're all seeing things.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#21
I know how it sounds, but i know what I'm seeing and i know that it is not normal. There was a guy here with the same problem (actually there are two of them). http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=75565

but he hasn't posted a solution, maybe he hasn't found one. There are also 2-3 threads in the nvidia forum (again with no solution, and again more than one man complaining.)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22
I know how it sounds, but i know what I'm seeing and i know that it is not normal. There was a guy here with the same problem (actually there are two of them). http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=75565

but he hasn't posted a solution, maybe he hasn't found one. There are also 2-3 threads in the nvidia forum (again with no solution, and again more than one man complaining.)
when tracking down this kind of problem, you must ALWAYS look for things in common.

So far we have ruled out: game engine (according to you), DX level, ATI/nvidia, drivers, OS - what the hell is left?

For all i know, its something as simple as you playing on a smaller, lower resolution screen previously, so the game engine didnt drop as many items out as a performance enhancement.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Albatron PXP35
Memory 2x2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Albatron 8800GT+ Accelero L2 Pro
Storage Hitachi 500 GB 16 MB
Power Supply CWT 400W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#23
It is not the resolution- I've tested COD2 on the lowest res with the lowest graphics settings and it was the same.
 

XibaD

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720be@3400
Motherboard Asrock AOD790GX/128M
Cooling Xigmatek 1283S
Memory OCZ Reaper 1150
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon HD 4870 1Gb
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2
#24
Sure I notice too. I notice it when I move around and face some objects (grass, boxes, even highly textured zones). When I walk near this objects or textures they suddenly appear in front of me, a drastic transition between not beeing seen and beeing seen (objects) or low quality LOD and high quality detailed textures. I don't know how to explain better. In some games it's a noticeable effect (BC2, STALKER, Crysis, GTA IV...) and in others the effect is barely noticeable (CoH, Ungine tests, Futuremark tests, Borderlands, CoD...).

As gnb said, it's not the resolution. I have already tested this and lowering the res doesn't help. At firs I thought that was something with the memory frecuency, but I tried to lower it from its defaults and that doesn't help neither.

I also thought that was Windows 7, but I reinstalled Windows XP x64 and it was happening to in native DX9 mode.

I don't know how tho think.
 

ctrain

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
393 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#25
If you can move back and forth and make the transition happen yourself, then it is the game, plain and simple. There is nothing else to it.


You're just seeing model LOD. The graphics API doesn't do this, your hardware doesn't do this. It's up to the game engine to handle... which also makes it easy to take pictures of since in COD4 it's just a console command. You won't find a solution outside of turning detail settings up in game.

http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/1900/iw3mp2010071520511521.jpg
http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/4596/iw3mp2010071520512137.jpg
http://img697.imageshack.us/img697/508/iw3mp2010071520512560.jpg
http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/8929/iw3mp2010071520513214.jpg