• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thanks to Windows 11, Scalpers Buy Out Add-on TPM 2.0 Modules

Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
413 (2.12/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory Hyperx fury 16Gb DDR4 3333Mhz
Video Card(s) 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb plus some HDDs
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
Hillarious:
Microsoft asking for TPM 2.0 and then backtracking to 1.2 but in off channels and keeping the confusion up
People scalping the modules
Calling W11 to a update to W10 and calling it a day

What a show this is going to be
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,292 (0.22/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name The Expanse
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro BIOS 4021 AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0 / Asus NAS AS1004T V2 14TB
Display(s) HP ZR24w + LG 24MB35 on Neo-Flex® Dual Monitor Lift Stand
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H2
Benchmark Scores 3800X https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5 5800X https://valid.x86.fr/2dey9c
Well the TPM requirement was downgraded to 1.2 already.

Sooner or later it won't be needed at all.
Where was that officially posted?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,243 (7.71/day)
Processor Ryzen 5900x
Motherboard MSI x570s Carbon Max WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3600Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070 Ti Trinity OC Watercooled
Storage SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modius DAC, SMSL SP200 amp, Fosi Tube Pre-Amp.
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Logitech Pro Wireless
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
These scalpers are just wannabe future pharma CEO's.
 

Mac the Geek

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
8 (0.05/day)
What does the TPM thing do anyway? I have never ever heard it mentioned as being useful for anything.

It's an encryption module, whose function is to protect your data. Works hand-in-hand with stuff like BitLocker to encrypt your hard drive, so that if your drive is stolen, the thief can't read your tax returns and passwords.
 
D

Deleted member 197223

Guest
Nobody really wants to support legacy hardware. But then I remember that white/blacklists where yeeted from the linux kernel because muh racism. Same with everywhere else i.e github.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2021
Messages
102 (0.64/day)
People will figure out something to crack it, it's Windows :p But damn, people were on the ball right after the announcement, A-holes. Imagine people walking into a store to get their PC updated and being told to pay another 50-150 besides the labour, that really sucks. Oh, and great eco friendly move from Microsoft now that I think of it. Wouldn't surprise me if people just bought a new laptop because their old one wasn't supported. Most older laptops can run Windows 10 just fine (2nd gen Intel and above, first gen Ryzen and above) provided that they have an SSD. I have no doubt that those machines can run Windows 11 just fine too. Thanks Microsoft! /s


Labor?

Seating one of these on a motherboard qualifies as labor?
(downsized pic)
1624648893190.png
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
15,027 (2.74/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G915 Wireless Clicky
Software The Matrix
I have a 7th gen intel CPU so my PC is not compatible but I run Linux anyway. Feels good to be free. Windows 11 will probably upload all of your computing history to the NSA. Just saying.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,712 (1.70/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.3
Motherboard MSI 690-A PRO
Cooling 280MM push pull water Loop
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-37
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UC @1830mhz 810mv
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG CX OLED 48"
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Tecware phantom w/ pudding keycaps
Software Windows 11
I have a 7th gen intel CPU so my PC is not compatible but I run Linux anyway. Feels good to be free. Windows 11 will probably upload all of your computing history to the NSA. Just saying.

Your ISP and Cellphone already do it - M$ can't be left behind.

Also M$ will backtrack -- they're giving away the OS for marketshare, would make no sense to make a barrier to entry like this and stick to it. They need as much data as they can sell get.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
201 (0.42/day)
My Sklake quad-core sytem with tpm 1.2 plus secure boot enabledin the bios, the tool still says no go.

This is a CLUNKY REQUIREMENT FOR CONSUMER DEVICES (REALLY, WHO RUNS BITLOCKER ON HOME DEVICES?)

Thy can just change it for Enterprise, and nobody would be bitching about the issues this will bring,

The worst part about the TPM spec: its motherboard-specific (so theres no no healthy market of third-party TPM modules available to handle this spike)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
936 (0.27/day)
Location
Netherlands
System Name TheDeeGee's PC
Processor Intel Core i7 11700
Motherboard ASRock Z590 Steel Legend
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Crucial Ballistix RGB 3200/C16 32GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC
Storage Crucial P5 1TB, Crucial BX500 1TB, Crucial BX500 2TB
Display(s) EIZO CX240
Case Fractal Design Define 7
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic Fanless TX-700
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores None, don't care. As long as my games runs smooth.
I have a 7th gen intel CPU so my PC is not compatible but I run Linux anyway. Feels good to be free. Windows 11 will probably upload all of your computing history to the NSA. Just saying.
But you're using the Internet?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I see ms facing antitrust suit again
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,292 (0.22/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name The Expanse
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro BIOS 4021 AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0 / Asus NAS AS1004T V2 14TB
Display(s) HP ZR24w + LG 24MB35 on Neo-Flex® Dual Monitor Lift Stand
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H2
Benchmark Scores 3800X https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5 5800X https://valid.x86.fr/2dey9c
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,510 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Are you f**kin' kidding me? Seriously, these scalpers need to burn in hell already.
Right there with you.
Thankfully, I don't need a TPM chip; it's built into my processor.
Wait, on chip? Are they doing that now? Last time I checked TPM was a motherboard bound thing...
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,292 (0.22/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name The Expanse
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro BIOS 4021 AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0 / Asus NAS AS1004T V2 14TB
Display(s) HP ZR24w + LG 24MB35 on Neo-Flex® Dual Monitor Lift Stand
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H2
Benchmark Scores 3800X https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5 5800X https://valid.x86.fr/2dey9c
Wait, on chip? Are they doing that now? Last time I checked TPM was a motherboard bound thing...

Last I heard this was true, on the AMD side its built into AGESA.
 

MxPhenom 216

ASIC Engineer
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,779 (3.11/day)
Location
Longmont, CO
System Name Ryzen Reflection
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900x
Motherboard Gigabyte X570S Aorus Master
Cooling 2x EK PE360 | TechN AM4 AMD Block Black | EK Quantum Vector Trinity GPU Nickel + Plexi
Memory Teamgroup T-Force Xtreem 2x16GB B-Die 3600 @ 14-14-14-28-42-288-2T 1.45v
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP HoloBlack RTX 3080Ti 12G | 950mV 1950Mhz
Storage WD SN850 500GB (OS) | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB (Games1) | Samsung 970 Evo 1TB ( Games2)
Display(s) Dell 32" 1440p 165Hz Curved | Asus VP249QGR 144Hz IPS
Case Lian Li PC-011D XL | Custom cables by Cablemodz
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic TYGR 300R + Beyerdynamic FOX Mic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 850
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-Bit
Are you f**kin' kidding me? Seriously, these scalpers need to burn in hell already.

Thankfully, I don't need a TPM chip; it's built into my processor.

It still doesn't work. I just tried the compatibility tool on my 8700k and with both PTT and dTPM enabled in BIOS neither option passed. So don't be too thankful.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2021
Messages
102 (0.64/day)
It still doesn't work. I just tried the compatibility tool on my 8700k and with both PTT and dTPM enabled in BIOS neither option passed. So don't be too thankful.

Who made the module? I just got an Asus brand for an Asus board with an 8700K. Asus built two TPM's only one works with a Z390. Not meaning version levels, there are two distinct builds of V.2
 

MxPhenom 216

ASIC Engineer
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,779 (3.11/day)
Location
Longmont, CO
System Name Ryzen Reflection
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900x
Motherboard Gigabyte X570S Aorus Master
Cooling 2x EK PE360 | TechN AM4 AMD Block Black | EK Quantum Vector Trinity GPU Nickel + Plexi
Memory Teamgroup T-Force Xtreem 2x16GB B-Die 3600 @ 14-14-14-28-42-288-2T 1.45v
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP HoloBlack RTX 3080Ti 12G | 950mV 1950Mhz
Storage WD SN850 500GB (OS) | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB (Games1) | Samsung 970 Evo 1TB ( Games2)
Display(s) Dell 32" 1440p 165Hz Curved | Asus VP249QGR 144Hz IPS
Case Lian Li PC-011D XL | Custom cables by Cablemodz
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic TYGR 300R + Beyerdynamic FOX Mic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 850
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-Bit
Who made the module? I just got an Asus brand for an Asus board with an 8700K. Asus built two TPM's only one works with a Z390. Not meaning version levels, there are two distinct builds of V.2

All my board has is a slot for a module. the options in bios enable that slot, but needs to be populated. I have an MSI z370 board.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
108 (0.49/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name C₂H₅OH
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X Monoblock
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master Rev 1.0
Cooling Custom loop - MO-RA3 420 & 360 Pro - Heatkiller 200 & 150 D5 pump/res combo
Memory G.Skill Trident-Z 4x8GB B-die 3800-14-15-15-15-34-1T 260 TRFC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3080 Ti Aorus Master EK block
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB - Intel 660 Pro 2TB
Display(s) Gigabyte Aorus FV43U
Case Streacom BC1 Silver
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7Pro - Topping A90 - Hifiman Ananda - Focal Elear - Audeze LCD-XC - Adam A5X & Adam Sub 7
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Ducky One 2 SF White MX Speed Silver / Logitech MX Keys
Software Windows 11 Pro
Labor?

Seating one of these on a motherboard qualifies as labor?

View attachment 205419
Nope, I mean getting the machine upgraded from Windows 10 to Windows 11 and making a backup of the original install. And yeah, I know it's labor :p Had a long day.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
926 (0.53/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Home PC/Work PC/Lenovo IdeaPad S145
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)/AMD Athlon II X2 220 (Dual-Core)/AMD Ryzen 5 3500U
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)/HP Motherboard/Lenovo Motherboard
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx L120T/Stock/Stock
Memory 8GB/7GB/8GB
Video Card(s) GT 730 1GB/Onboard/RX Vega 8
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with AAF Optimus driver
Benchmark Scores Mikrotik RB760iGS with 1Gb/s Up/Down
Gentlemen, I learned today of a Library (DLL) capable of removing TPM 2.0/UEFI/SecureBoot requirements from Windows 11. Please let me know here if you also know anything about it. I'll look into the information.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
15,027 (2.74/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G915 Wireless Clicky
Software The Matrix

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
13,113 (2.29/day)
System Name Nothing new
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Pro s
Cooling Custom loop,
Memory Teamgroup 2x8gb 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, 1507/8000 water cooled
Storage WD blue 256gb M2, WD blue 4tb HDD
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz
Case Thermaltake V21
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Corsair k65
Software Win 11 Home x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
Apparently you can just delete "appraiserres.dll" from your installation source and it will get rid of the check.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
926 (0.53/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Home PC/Work PC/Lenovo IdeaPad S145
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)/AMD Athlon II X2 220 (Dual-Core)/AMD Ryzen 5 3500U
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)/HP Motherboard/Lenovo Motherboard
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx L120T/Stock/Stock
Memory 8GB/7GB/8GB
Video Card(s) GT 730 1GB/Onboard/RX Vega 8
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with AAF Optimus driver
Benchmark Scores Mikrotik RB760iGS with 1Gb/s Up/Down
Gentlemen, I learned today of a Library (DLL) capable of removing TPM 2.0/UEFI/SecureBoot requirements from Windows 11. Please let me know here if you also know anything about it. I'll look into the information.
Gentlemen, I think it worked for me.
Before:

1.jpg


Later:

2.jpg


Apparently you can just delete "appraiserres.dll" from your installation source and it will get rid of the check.
Or replace it with an identical one, but from an earlier version of Windows 10.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2021
Messages
102 (0.64/day)
All my board has is a slot for a module. the options in bios enable that slot, but needs to be populated. I have an MSI z370 board.

I don't know about MSI. I saw a couple of comments from people saying 'theirs' failed so they retried, retried and it finally worked, maybe try again?

Right there with you.

Wait, on chip? Are they doing that now? Last time I checked TPM was a motherboard bound thing...

AMD built it in. The plugin module isn't in retail packages, they get another $20 for a separate box. Now MS is selling it for them for $39.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,510 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
8,801 (3.39/day)
Location
USA
I switched to Linux Mint latest beta about an hour ago... loving every damn second of it. Seriously no need for Windows anymore, unless you only care about AAA latest games.

 
Top