• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The 4800 series Driver, OCing, Cooling and Tweaking Thread

Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.60/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
oh, i tot somebody did mentioned about higher voltage.
It runs at 1.15v, most others run at 1.1v. The main feature is the 160/500 2D clocks. Use RBE to set it at 1.2(which reads 1.21v on the MM).
 

ben3003

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6300 1.86ghz@2.8ghz 1.2875v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
Cooling ThermalTake BigTyphoon VX
Memory 2x1024MB DDR2 667 Kingston Value RAM@800mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3
Storage Seagate SATA2 200GB
Display(s) LG 196WTQ
Case Antec Super Lanboy
Power Supply Acbel Intelligent Power 450W
so will it compatible with my sapphire card? I scare shit happens like when i flash my galaxy 9600gt with evga bios lolz. And which value should i set? There are a lot of clock info there i dont know which to set.
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.31/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
Well Ive just finished all the voltmodding Im going to do.

I started simply doing a bios voltmod by selecting 1.200v and this gave a real voltage of 1185mV. This allowed a max overclock of 720mhz. And then I moved onto pencil modding.

1.85kohm - 1185mV - 720mhz
1.27kohm - 1283mV - 800mhz
1.06kohm - 1329mV - 830mhz

Original max overclock was 680mhz with original voltage of 1135mV. Original idle voltage was 1031mV, after voltmodding the idle voltage is 1046mV. Therefore, idle power consumption will be pretty much unnaffected vs stock msi bios. Load power consumption should be 82% higher.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
ATi tool tends to crash with these cards. The furmark bench is a great way to heat things up. :D
what?, that must be one of the reasons my 4870 crashes and the other might be motherboard bios not playing nice :cry:
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
Got a VF900, and a new MM. Give me a few hours till some v-modded results:)...WoooHoooo:D
vf900 wont work, the card heats to much for it to handle
get another like VF1000 or something with more heatpipes
i got a vf900 and the stock 4870 does alot better job at 28% fan speed
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,546 (10.05/day)
Likes
18,289
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
what?, that must be one of the reasons my 4870 crashes and the other might be motherboard bios not playing nice :cry:
I don't think it would be the bios... Idk, tomorrow I'll try these cards on my Asus 790fx board and see what happens.:)
 

ben3003

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6300 1.86ghz@2.8ghz 1.2875v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
Cooling ThermalTake BigTyphoon VX
Memory 2x1024MB DDR2 667 Kingston Value RAM@800mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3
Storage Seagate SATA2 200GB
Display(s) LG 196WTQ
Case Antec Super Lanboy
Power Supply Acbel Intelligent Power 450W
i have tried to up my voltage to 1.2v load, but i am getting blank screen when playing age of conan at 700/1050, what would the cause be?
 

SirJangly

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
800 (0.23/day)
Likes
66
Location
Antioch, CA
Processor Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P
Cooling Stock, soon to be s1283
Memory 4gb OCZ Reapers @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 4870 1gb
Storage Samsung F3 500gb
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 630w
Software Windows 7 RC
What would upping the voltage do? Increase performance more than OC'ing?
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.60/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
vf900 wont work, the card heats to much for it to handle
get another like VF1000 or something with more heatpipes
i got a vf900 and the stock 4870 does alot better job at 28% fan speed
For the price I got it for, it's fine. I had no issues hitting 770 Core with it, was running hot, but ALOT cooler than the stock cooler.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
475 (0.14/day)
Likes
50
Location
Chicago
Do any of you guys have a kill-a-watt or other way of measuring the 4850 power consumption after the MSI bios upgrade? The 3850 consumes so little at 300mhz idle I would love to know if the 4850 gets a little less thirsty with the new bios.

Thanks,
Dan
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.31/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
Do any of you guys have a kill-a-watt or other way of measuring the 4850 power consumption after the MSI bios upgrade? The 3850 consumes so little at 300mhz idle I would love to know if the 4850 gets a little less thirsty with the new bios.

Thanks,
Dan
Hi,

The msi bios gives out a real voltage of 1135mV. If you edit the bios and put in a 3d voltage of 1.2v or more, this results in a real voltage of 1185mV.

You can also reduce 2d voltage to 0.950v which gives a real voltage of 935mV rather than a stock voltage of 1031mV.

Hope that helps.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
475 (0.14/day)
Likes
50
Location
Chicago
Hi,

The msi bios gives out a real voltage of 1135mV. If you edit the bios and put in a 3d voltage of 1.2v or more, this results in a real voltage of 1185mV.

Hope that helps.
I was hoping someone could do an at-the-wall comparison of before/after power consumption. I love my 3850 because it uses so little power at idle so I was extremely disappointed to see the 4850 use a LOT more at idle when it doesn't use that much more at load.
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.31/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
I was hoping someone could do an at-the-wall comparison of before/after power consumption. I love my 3850 because it uses so little power at idle so I was extremely disappointed to see the 4850 use a LOT more at idle when it doesn't use that much more at load.
Dropping the voltage down to 0.950v and using the msi bios will theoretically reduce idle power consumption by ~71%. I would do what you wanted, but Ive pencil modded mine making it harder.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
475 (0.14/day)
Likes
50
Location
Chicago
Dropping the voltage down to 0.950v and using the msi bios will theoretically reduce idle power consumption by ~71%. I would do what you wanted, but Ive pencil modded mine making it harder.
Thanks, I understand that; I was just hoping someone might be able to give some actual data before I buy/fry one trying this myself.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.47/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
OK, I've updated the OP for easier reading. Also, I would not over volt the GPU if you are not planning on OC'ing it beyond CCC's capability. If you reduce the 2D clock along with 2D voltage you will use less power.
 

ben3003

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6300 1.86ghz@2.8ghz 1.2875v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
Cooling ThermalTake BigTyphoon VX
Memory 2x1024MB DDR2 667 Kingston Value RAM@800mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3
Storage Seagate SATA2 200GB
Display(s) LG 196WTQ
Case Antec Super Lanboy
Power Supply Acbel Intelligent Power 450W
Y mine is showing:
- <Feature name="CoreVoltageTarget_0">
<Property name="Want_0" value="1084" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="1084" />
<Property name="Want_2" value="1084" />
</Feature>
I already did bios mod to make it load at 1.2v.


Am i doing the correct thing to get 1.2v?

Just now i tried to change the 7 8 9 clock info to 1.2v, i cant login in to windows, i wonder is it a bad flash or what. Then i tried to get into DOS to reflash the backup and it is back to normal again.

Btw, Can i flash MSI or Sapphire latest bios to my sapphire card? The CRC and bios file size is different.
 
Last edited:

BoOsTed SS

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
64 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Processor Pentium D 950 @ 3.9ghz
Motherboard Asus P5WD2E-PREMIUM
Cooling AC Coolers on CPU and GPU
Memory 4 gigs DDR2 800mhz @ 4-4-4-11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 4850
Storage 2 x 250gig Maxtor's RAID 0
Case Thermaltake Tsunami - Black
What is a good voltage to set 2D to? i have my 2D clocks at 160/500
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.47/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Y mine is showing:
- <Feature name="CoreVoltageTarget_0">
<Property name="Want_0" value="1084" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="1084" />
<Property name="Want_2" value="1084" />
</Feature>
...
Because you are using a 4850. The one in the OP is a 4870.
 

ben3003

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6300 1.86ghz@2.8ghz 1.2875v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
Cooling ThermalTake BigTyphoon VX
Memory 2x1024MB DDR2 667 Kingston Value RAM@800mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3
Storage Seagate SATA2 200GB
Display(s) LG 196WTQ
Case Antec Super Lanboy
Power Supply Acbel Intelligent Power 450W
oh, so from my RBE setting, am i on 1.2v currently?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.47/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
oh, so from my RBE setting, am i on 1.2v currently?
Hmm I am not sure, 1.2v appears to be kinda high if CCC only uses 1.084v

I am not familar with that program though.
 

ben3003

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6300 1.86ghz@2.8ghz 1.2875v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
Cooling ThermalTake BigTyphoon VX
Memory 2x1024MB DDR2 667 Kingston Value RAM@800mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3
Storage Seagate SATA2 200GB
Display(s) LG 196WTQ
Case Antec Super Lanboy
Power Supply Acbel Intelligent Power 450W
Oh ok thanks :) How about the clock info 7,8,9? What is it for? i tried to change it to 625/993 at 1.2v and the card doesnt boot up in windows. Then i reflash it at the setting that i am showing and it is working now.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.47/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Oh ok thanks :) How about the clock info 7,8,9? What is it for? i tried to change it to 625/993 at 1.2v and the card doesnt boot up in windows. Then i reflash it at the setting that i am showing and it is working now.
Your best bet is to PM W1zard and ask him about it. 7, 8 and 9 reflect what CCC's profile says. Other then that ask him.
 

ben3003

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6300 1.86ghz@2.8ghz 1.2875v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
Cooling ThermalTake BigTyphoon VX
Memory 2x1024MB DDR2 667 Kingston Value RAM@800mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3
Storage Seagate SATA2 200GB
Display(s) LG 196WTQ
Case Antec Super Lanboy
Power Supply Acbel Intelligent Power 450W
i found out the prob, i tried to uninstall my 8.7beta to 8.6 hotfix, it works with the BIOS Urbklr gave me.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.47/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
What would upping the voltage do? Increase performance more than OC'ing?
Ever since the 1800 series (someone correct me if I am wrong), we've seen that increasing voltage along with a good OC can improve performance. However, there is no confirmation on this with the 4800 series at this time.




OP updated