• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The 4800 series Driver, OCing, Cooling and Tweaking Thread

Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.23/day)
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64

Trizmatic

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
erocker, did you volt mod? I found that hitting 840 gives me a lot of artifacts. 830 seems to do alright on my GPU. What is your highest stable GPU clock?
 

Trizmatic

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Im getting a 4870 on monday, so im looking after a good aftermarket cooler! But i just can't find any (mostly cause i know nothing about cooling for a gfx card). Anyone got some recommendations?
Stock coolers are working just fine. What is the need for an aftermarket? Keep in mind they will send the heat into your case rather then vent it out of the back.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
127 (0.03/day)
System Name Shadow Warrior
Processor 4670k @ 4.1
Motherboard Asus Z87-C
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 500rpm
Memory 24GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 280x (Arctic Cooling S1+)
Storage 512GB MX100, 256GB SSD, 13TB WD green and 6TB external
Display(s) Asus MG279Q
Case Antec P180 (2x500rpm fans +modded of course.)
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Antec rm650i
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure
Software Win10 x64 / Win7 x64
I guess I got the worst 4850 that one can purchase. Max stable frequency is 645mhz on the core. Up it 5mhz more and there will be artifacts. Have not overclocked the memory since I'm waiting for Zalman memsinks.

It's a Sapphire. Use Arctic Cooling Accelero S1 with Nexus 120mm fan @ 7v and the temps are much lower than stockcooling (which I think is terrible, too high temperatures and too noisy)

Core is now idle at 40 and the VRMs are about 40 too.

Zalman heatsinks on the VRMs with airflow on them through the fins.

Tried different BRE edits for the voltage (1.2v), but still can't reach higher clocks.

Seasonic S12 500w should be enough to power the system

For comparison my GeCube 3870 overclocked to 830/2505 without problems with the same cooler (no vmods)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,314 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I guess I got the worst 4850 that one can purchase. Max stable frequency is 645mhz on the core. Up it 5mhz more and there will be artifacts. Have not overclocked the memory since I'm waiting for Zalman memsinks.

It's a Sapphire. Use Arctic Cooling Accelero S1 with Nexus 120mm fan @ 7v and the temps are much lower than stockcooling (which I think is terrible, too high temperatures and too noisy)

Core is now idle at 40 and the VRMs are about 40 too.

Zalman heatsinks on the VRMs with airflow on them through the fins.

Tried different BRE edits for the voltage (1.2v), but still can't reach higher clocks.

Seasonic S12 500w should be enough to power the system

For comparison my GeCube 3870 overclocked to 830/2505 without problems with the same cooler (no vmods)
well every card is different doesnt matter if it comes from the same batch.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
OP updated to include water cooling of the 4870. If anyone is interesting in water cooling your 4850/4870 I suggest that you keep the OEM front plate with fan on the video card. It should not hinder your water block. I would keep fan speed about the same so that your vregs/etc are properly cooled.
Thanks for the tip man! I won't be watercooling, but I'll try to fit Accelero S1 together with this bracket and original fan :D I doubt that I'll have enough clearance in the stock fan's area, but if I do, this could rock, LOL! :D I'll try some other setups, hopefully to find out what's the best way to aircool this card (4870). I'll be posting my results next week! :)
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Thanks for the tip man! I won't be watercooling, but I'll try to fit Accelero S1 together with this bracket and original fan :D I doubt that I'll have enough clearance in the stock fan's area, but if I do, this could rock, LOL! :D I'll try some other setups, hopefully to find out what's the best way to aircool this card (4870). I'll be posting my results next week! :)
Make sure you use either a rubber washer/Neoprene washer between the bracket and the video card. You can find these washers at your local hardware store. Do not let the bare metal of the bracket come in contact with the video card.


This photo shows neoprene and a rubber washer. If you can, try to get rubber washers as they are gummy while the neoprene washers are rigid.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
Make sure you use either a rubber washer/Neoprene washer between the bracket and the video card. You can find these washers at your local hardware store. Do not let the bare metal of the bracket come in contact with the video card.

This photo shows neoprene and a rubber washer. If you can, try to get rubber washers as they are gummy while the neoprene washers are rigid.
Oh, thanks for the tip! Btw, did you just put insulation on screws? I see some rubber on the square (middle) metal part of the bracket, is that originaly there or did you add those as well? I do usually take a VERY good care about those things, but extra warning is always welcome, there's never too much of those :D
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
90 (0.02/day)
System Name Homemade :)
Processor Ryzen 3900X@4.35Ghz
Motherboard Asus X570 Prime Pro
Cooling Alphacool Eisbear 420 + 6x Silent Wings 3
Memory 2x16GB A-Data Gammix D10 3200-15-15-15-31@3733-19-18-18-38 1:1
Video Card(s) Palit GameRock GTX1080Ti +110 core +200 mem
Storage WD SN750 1TB + 3x Crucial MX200 500GB RAID0
Display(s) 4k TV + Benq XL2730Z
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) AIM 808
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 LTSC
After spending last few days flashing and reflashing my cards with different settings I arrived at the following conclusions:
- do not modify voltages through bios individualy (set them the same for all profiles 2d, lp3d and hp3d) otherwise stability is compromised
- do not set various memory freq. for different profiles (I left them all @ 300Mhz) or stability suffers)
- feel free to modify core frequency (I set 2d-150, lp3d-300, hp3d-830)
- fan modifications are safe, of course if you know what you're doing

In the end (at least untill I learn of some stable method) I mostly gave up and created profiles with AMD GPU Tool for 2D (150/300 loaded at boot time) and 3D (830/1100) started through shortcut. Voltage is also set through AGTool, although I have no idea if it's really working. Still 830 is perfectly stable for me as it was when I set voltage 1.363 in bios. I'll be testing to see if it really works for everyday use (games, movies, internet).
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,181 (0.24/day)
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
Still 830 is perfectly stable for me as it was when I set voltage 1.363 in bios.
I thought 1.276v was the max voltage when setting the bios?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
90 (0.02/day)
System Name Homemade :)
Processor Ryzen 3900X@4.35Ghz
Motherboard Asus X570 Prime Pro
Cooling Alphacool Eisbear 420 + 6x Silent Wings 3
Memory 2x16GB A-Data Gammix D10 3200-15-15-15-31@3733-19-18-18-38 1:1
Video Card(s) Palit GameRock GTX1080Ti +110 core +200 mem
Storage WD SN750 1TB + 3x Crucial MX200 500GB RAID0
Display(s) 4k TV + Benq XL2730Z
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) AIM 808
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 LTSC
Well, I don't have a multimeter and it would be kinda strange since 1.263 is the default voltage. But I may be wrong, no documentation and no way to check for me.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
@Frank - I believe you're talking about 4850 and mat9v is talking about 4870

@mat9v - could you pls populate your system specs, and/or confirm you're talking about 4870. And if so, does changing GPU core clocks in BIOS actualy work in Windows? I mean, clocks do drop once in 2D, right? Cos' I've seen people saying it's not working just right on 4870 (probably only because stock BIOS doesn't drop clocks enough). Tnx :)
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Oh, thanks for the tip! Btw, did you just put insulation on screws? I see some rubber on the square (middle) metal part of the bracket, is that originaly there or did you add those as well? I do usually take a VERY good care about those things, but extra warning is always welcome, there's never too much of those :D
No, I didn't put any insulation on the screws. That bracket is an OEM bracket and has a clear rubber gourmet attached on all 4 sides.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
90 (0.02/day)
System Name Homemade :)
Processor Ryzen 3900X@4.35Ghz
Motherboard Asus X570 Prime Pro
Cooling Alphacool Eisbear 420 + 6x Silent Wings 3
Memory 2x16GB A-Data Gammix D10 3200-15-15-15-31@3733-19-18-18-38 1:1
Video Card(s) Palit GameRock GTX1080Ti +110 core +200 mem
Storage WD SN750 1TB + 3x Crucial MX200 500GB RAID0
Display(s) 4k TV + Benq XL2730Z
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) AIM 808
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 LTSC
Created signature, hardware specs are there.
Changing core and memory clocks in bios works and clocks drop as expected, but I suppose if you use Sidebar with lots of gadgets and so on, and 2d clock in bios is low enough, the hardware might stay in Low Power 3D mode, and not slow down to 2D mode. I don't use sidebar, it annoys me. But as I posted above there are serious limitations on the clock and voltages for stability sake. So for now I prefer to use mostly AMD GPU Tool to over/underclock. It's safer and "I" decide when to enter 3D mode and burn power :)
 

mmaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Anyelse experience that loading CCC profile at certain overclock will not work? I can load profile with better fanspeed till 820/1100. After that nothing happens to the fanspeed. Really annoying since its stable and no articfacts at all at that speed. I dont really want to oc without good cooling.

sofar in 3dmark06 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=7601202 was at 820/1100
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
90 (0.02/day)
System Name Homemade :)
Processor Ryzen 3900X@4.35Ghz
Motherboard Asus X570 Prime Pro
Cooling Alphacool Eisbear 420 + 6x Silent Wings 3
Memory 2x16GB A-Data Gammix D10 3200-15-15-15-31@3733-19-18-18-38 1:1
Video Card(s) Palit GameRock GTX1080Ti +110 core +200 mem
Storage WD SN750 1TB + 3x Crucial MX200 500GB RAID0
Display(s) 4k TV + Benq XL2730Z
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) AIM 808
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 LTSC
Yes, after 820 profile loading does not happen. You can try to save profile and manualy remove part of settings concerning cor/mem clocks and try again. If not, sorry, only bios mod for you :(
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Ok I've OCed my 4850s using BIOS flashing to 750/1150 and it's completely 24/7 stable. Mine are on water too.
I finally got around to checking actual voltages with a DMM and found that I get 1.05 (probably 1.046, only 3 sig figs) and 1.17V at load..............however I flashed the BIOS to 1.21V (I've read this is the max)
I tried flashing it again with 1.3V and it didn't work...same results.
Anyone have any ideas? Has anyone else measured with a DMM?
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,358 (0.51/day)
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 2x8GB GSkill Trident Z RGB 3600MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 250GB Samsung 840 EVO - 1TB Intel 660p
Display(s) Samsung 27" 144hz Curved 1440P - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case InWin A1+
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Steinburg UR44
Power Supply InWin 650w
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB LUX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Ok I've OCed my 4850s using BIOS flashing to 750/1150 and it's completely 24/7 stable. Mine are on water too.
I finally got around to checking actual voltages with a DMM and found that I get 1.05 (probably 1.046, only 3 sig figs) and 1.17V at load..............however I flashed the BIOS to 1.21V (I've read this is the max)
I tried flashing it again with 1.3V and it didn't work...same results.
Anyone have any ideas? Has anyone else measured with a DMM?
Yep, max from the bios is 1.21v, no matter how high you set it. Try the pencil mod, very very easy, and you can get 1.4v with it.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Yep, max from the bios is 1.21v, no matter how high you set it. Try the pencil mod, very very easy, and you can get 1.4v with it.
I'm actually going to do the VR mod, but I'm still not sure why I only get 1.17V in 3d mode when I flashed 1.21V....even 1.3V. I just edited my BIOS to have all voltages 1.3V and it's still 1.17 on both cards. :banghead:
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
90 (0.02/day)
System Name Homemade :)
Processor Ryzen 3900X@4.35Ghz
Motherboard Asus X570 Prime Pro
Cooling Alphacool Eisbear 420 + 6x Silent Wings 3
Memory 2x16GB A-Data Gammix D10 3200-15-15-15-31@3733-19-18-18-38 1:1
Video Card(s) Palit GameRock GTX1080Ti +110 core +200 mem
Storage WD SN750 1TB + 3x Crucial MX200 500GB RAID0
Display(s) 4k TV + Benq XL2730Z
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) AIM 808
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 LTSC
Eh, wish there were a pencil mod for 4870. I'm stuck at 830Mhz and don't really want to permanently alter my cards. For obvious reasons :)
 

mmaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
People with aftermarket coolers, how have you cooled the VRM? mine gets really warm. up 120c with furmark. I have put small heat sinks on them and a 120 fan blowing at low speed, but ye still high :/
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
People with aftermarket coolers, how have you cooled the VRM? mine gets really warm. up 120c with furmark. I have put small heat sinks on them and a 120 fan blowing at low speed, but ye still high :/
Are you using an infrared thermometer or something?
Well I have copper RAMsinks on mine with a 120mm fan sitting in front of my cards.
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
People with aftermarket coolers, how have you cooled the VRM? mine gets really warm. up 120c with furmark. I have put small heat sinks on them and a 120 fan blowing at low speed, but ye still high :/

VRM reach 79C using the stock OEM front plate. 80C using the stability test for 2 minutes
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,514 (0.79/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
Hey east, what's that program you're using to display stats?
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Top