• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The 4800 series Driver, OCing, Cooling and Tweaking Thread

Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.79/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
imperialreign,
:toast:
Good to read you found this thread useful.
useful for others, I'd have to say - at least threads like this keep newcomers from having to blunder through the darkness like we all did :p



BTW - if you intend to make a section for BIOS modification . . . make sure not to forget about the difference in BIOS size (IIRC, the newest RBE can properly edit and save the 4800 BIOS). It seems that info has fallen into the depths of the internet like the resulting dead boards had never happened :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.45/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
It's good to know that this thread was useful to you and others. A lot of members have provided good information in this thread. :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.16/day)
Likes
93
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
Bloody f***, my gfx-card got busted :banghead:

Yesterday, I was playing some Assasin's Creed, when it all of the sudedn froze and crashed the whole comp. Now when ever I try launch a 3D program, or for example Furmark, the whole comp freezes, and no signal goes to the display.

I guess I'll just RMA this, the only problem is, I slapped on the Twin Turbo, and now I have to get it off, to restore the stock heatsink. Any idea how to remove the memory sinks?

Think they'll see that the stock cooler has been off?
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
896 (0.21/day)
Likes
300
Location
Canada
System Name MurderBox #17
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k - 4.5Ghz 1.275v - Bitspower Summit EF
Motherboard Asus X99-E WS - Bitspower THOR AIX99 Full Full Board Block
Cooling SR-1 480, 8x Corsair ML120 , MCP350, I&H Res 250, PETG hard pipe, Mayhems Pastel White
Memory 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition - EK Fullcover waterblock with Backplate
Storage 3x Samsung SM951 256GB, Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Samsung PM961 512GB, WD Black 2.0TB
Display(s) ASUS PG348Q 3440x1440, 2X ASUS PB278 2560x1440
Case MurderMod TJ07 With Illuminated mid-plate
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Optical out to Pioneer VSX-1017TXV 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i With custom MDPC Sleeve and Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64bit
Usually you should be able to just pull off the ramsinks, you have to be careful and twist them lightly. If you pull the video card out and take it apart right after it was used, the glue on the ramsinks will be softer and easier to pull off. After that clean the chips with alcohol and re-apply thermal paste to the die. As long as you assemble the card right they probably wont take it apart if there is no sign of physical damage.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
i have ati radeon hd 4850 and my idle temperature is around 60-65°C with the fan running at 75% :( .When i play Call of duty 4 the temperature boosts to 103-105°C & fan speed @ 90% :twitch: :cry: Please help me ppl........is it very dangerous?!?!?!?!?!
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.62/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
Oooo. this thread might help.

My XFX 4870 never seems to drop it's 3D clocks... Is there a way i can set them... worried about pointless power draw. This is from just typing this and leaving my PC idle:

 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.62/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
That was on water cooling, add 5c to each bit and thats the current on this T-Rad2.
 
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
933 (0.26/day)
Likes
132
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
Any of you think this is high on my temps :confused: this is at idle.
There is a pic of the type cooler and of the temps. of my card. The reason I ask is yesterday I cleaned my PC but did not do anything but use canned air to dust it out. Now I get random black screens similar to my monitors going to sleep but they are not. Sometimes I get the D1601 Red LED (critical temperature fault) and D601 Red LED (critical Core power fault) both at the same time when this happens but not always. This happens in 2D just looking around on the net etc. :wtf: I have had this card since I believe last March and it has been flawless until now. I have OC'd it but only for benching and never to an extreme point. The card is a Factory OC card so the temps probably are a tad higher than an average card. I just don't remember what my temps were originally to compare. The cooler has never been off so I thought maybe it was time to reapply with good thermal paste what do you think? I did add a 120 fan blowing directly on the card and it seemed to help slightly but I still get random times my screen just goes black.
I do have good airflow (Antec Nine Hundred) in my case and I have inspected both PCIe plugs all of which checked out fine. Also I am currently using 9.11 CCC which I have used for quite some time with no issues.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.16/day)
Likes
93
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
I don't think they're really all that high, but if you get errors, then there's definitely something wrong. Those temps shouldn't cause the problems you're having. Since you can't see the VRM temps, they might be very high.

Your symptoms make me think the VRM's have cooked and it's time for a RMA. That's how it started for me with my first card.
 
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
933 (0.26/day)
Likes
132
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
Since my card is a 512 version I would love to get a newer version I wonder what ASUS has as a RMA replacement? Maybe a stepup program? :laugh: Seriously though what has been the luck with ASUS and RMAing a card? I will be PO if they send me some garbage. :pimp:
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.16/day)
Likes
93
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
Can't help there. I did it through the retailer.
 
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
933 (0.26/day)
Likes
132
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
Well I got a response from ASUS.
Thank you for contacting ASUS Customer Service.

My name is Echo and it's my pleasure to help you with your problem.

Please take out your graphic card, try to clean its golden connectors with a rubber, check if there is any hardware issue, and then reseat it back tightly.
Please check if there is any updated BIOS or driver for your other PC components.
Otherwise please change this card to another PC to test.
If the problem still exists after you did all basic troubleshooting, please contact with your retailer for check. If the card is faulty, they will arrange RMA service for you. If you could not get any reply from them, please complete this RMA Submittal Form and send to us, and then will arrange RMA service for you:
http://vip.asus.com/eservice/usa_rmaserv.aspx

Welcome to refer Troubleshooting & FAQ for ASUS products in ASUS website:
Troubleshooting - http://support.asus.com/troubleshooting/troubleshooting.aspx?SLanguage=en-us
FAQ - http://support.asus.com/faq/faq.aspx?SLanguage=en-us

If you continue to experience issues in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Echo_Zhang

ASUS Customer Service

If you have any suggestions or feedback about our technical support service, please e-mail to Manager_TMSS@asus.com. We will then arrange for a specialist to work with you regarding your issue. Your suggestions and feedback are appreciated and allow us to provide better service.
I know this sounds totally off the wall but the line
try to clean its golden connectors with a rubber
has me stumped. The only "rubber" I can think of I havent bought one in 20+ years. :laugh: Someone please explain to me what the hell he is talking about. I know what the golden connectors are, but a rubber? :confused:
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,699 (1.64/day)
Likes
2,634
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
Rubber eraser, probably.

But I would use contact cleaner or 90%+ alcohol(rubbing type) instead, as you don't have to worrying about rubber pieces getting into the equipment.

Edit: I know you were probably joking, but I wanted that 1000 post....:)
 
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
933 (0.26/day)
Likes
132
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
Nope I was not joking I had no idea I was to use a eraser on my video card. I did find the only rubber I could think of was not fit for this task. :laugh:

Thanks
 

jbloggs

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I have a Sapphire HD 4870 512MB, SKU# 11133-03-20R, bought Oct 2008 and at the moment I have an Asus BIOS in it, however I would like to flash it with the original Sapphire BIOS, but unfortunately I didn't keep the original one, could someone please link me to it...

There is one on the Sapphire website but it says the folowing:

FOR P/N:188-01E85-001SA,SKU#11133-00-XXR ONLY

But I'm not sure if I could use this or not.

Thanks...
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,699 (1.64/day)
Likes
2,634
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
975 (0.31/day)
Likes
173
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1080 Golden Sample
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Seagate IronWolf 8Tb / BW-16D1H-U PRO blu-ray rw
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, Dali Zensor 7´s, Dali Zensor Vokal, Dali Zensor 1´s, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
Check your cards backside for this P/N:188-01E85-001SA,SKU#11133-00-XXR
If you find it, you can can flash with that bios. Otherwise you just need to know if your card is refference design and you can flash with whathever bios for refference design cards.