• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
375
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
ok so far as follows

4ghz 1.40v
core 0-pass
core 1-pass
core 2-pass -2 acc
core 3-fail +2, fail -2, fail -4, testing -2 at 1.42
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,998 (0.64/day)
Likes
611
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
I was able to boot into bios and flash to a supported bios with an unsupported bios with my M4A79T Deluxe if that helps.
Well that is what you would expect from a company right? Because I had a Brutal time with Gigabyte's 790FX-SB600 AM2+ mobo because I bought a 950 Black Edition and it did not support it, so Gigabyte told me that I had to go out and buy a Phenom which the mobo supports, flash it, then reinstal my 950 BE. :wtf:

The worst part was this mobo kept on falling back to its default bios (Due to trying to OC the darn thing) which would then force me to pull out my 950 BE, flash the bios with that Phenom I bought, then re-install the 950 BE. I've done this over and over agian like 6 or 7 times, and that is when I said to hell with Gigabyte, and went out and got the latest AM2+ Asus mobo at that time.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,998 (0.64/day)
Likes
611
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
ok so far as follows

4ghz 1.40v
core 0-pass
core 1-pass
core 2-pass -2 acc
core 3-fail +2, fail -2, fail -4, testing -2 at 1.42
Your CPU reached its limit. Just leave it at 3.90 GHz and have fun :D
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
ok so far as follows

4ghz 1.40v
core 0-pass
core 1-pass
core 2-pass -2 acc
core 3-fail +2, fail -2, fail -4, testing -2 at 1.42
So core 3 still has not passed?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
375
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
so far at 4.0Ghz i can't stabilize core 3 at any acc setting without adding more voltage
i'm working on it now will have some more results as soon as i get this one stable.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
so far at 4.0Ghz i can't stabilize core 3 at any acc setting without adding more voltage
i'm working on it now will have some more results as soon as i get this one stable.
hmmmm, you running everything else at stock? You sure you testing only that core, you could have easily overlooked setting the affinity or something.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
375
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
nah i've tried 4 different acc settings at 1.4 and 1.42 now i'm moving up to 1.4375 to see if i can get by it.. not looking to good for me over here


passes at 1.45v +2 acc(odd everyone having better luck with minus 2 but now me..

so here is where i got to at this point

4.0Ghz
core 0 pass 1.40v no acc
core 1 pass 1.40v no acc
core 2 fail no acc 1.40v, pass -2 acc 1.40v
core 3 fail no acc 1.40v, fail -2 and +2 1.40v, fail -4, and +4 1.40v, pass +2 1.45v.

i'll bring the other cores to 4 Ghz and start upping the clock.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Well. After some testing and core by core setting of ACC, I have reverted back to my last tested stable settings with the difference that I set ACC accordingly this time. Tomorrow I will try to go for higher on all cores and see what my temps allow.

This is where I'm at now, all fans turned down as much as possible, rig is completely silent. Crunching away at 100%
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.59/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
CP, I've been meaning to ask....does your board natually run at 201Mhz HTT or are you setting it that way yourself. Every screenshot I can remember you've got a 201Mhz HTT clock going just never remembered to ask until now.

Kei
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
CP, I've been meaning to ask....does your board natually run at 201Mhz HTT or are you setting it that way yourself. Every screenshot I can remember you've got a 201Mhz HTT clock going just never remembered to ask until now.

Kei
BIOS is set at 200, but it runs like that. Beats me :confused:
 

jjFarking

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
456 (0.15/day)
Likes
93
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Frankenstein C3
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE C3
Motherboard Asus M4A79T DeLuxe
Cooling Aywun A1-V10
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR3 (2x2GB @ 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5850 @ 775/1125
Storage Seagate 250gb/500gb/1tb
Display(s) BENQ E2200HD
Case Thermaltake Element S (VK60001W2Z)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Zalman ZM600-HP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
OH YEA!!!! I forgot the BIGGEST OFFENDER of the whole bunch.....we all know that the max HT 3.0 speed is 5200MT/s which translates to an HT Link max speed of 2600Mhz (x2 of course).
Uhm, no.
Maximum speed for HT 3.0 is 3.2GHz (6400MT/s)
More info HERE.

I'm running mine at 2800MHz, default voltage, rock solid.
:p

Maybe you're limited by your mobo?
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Uhm, no.
Maximum speed for HT 3.0 is 3.2GHz (6400MT/s)
More info HERE.

I'm running mine at 2800MHz, default voltage, rock solid.
:p

Maybe you're limited by your mobo?
You gain anything from running it that high? Kei actually observed that while running higher HT Ref. Clock and didn't notice any considerable increase in performance.


Well ladies, Gotta hit the sack. I'll keep chatting with you'll tomorrow! :toast: Night TPU!
 

jjFarking

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
456 (0.15/day)
Likes
93
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Frankenstein C3
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE C3
Motherboard Asus M4A79T DeLuxe
Cooling Aywun A1-V10
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR3 (2x2GB @ 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5850 @ 775/1125
Storage Seagate 250gb/500gb/1tb
Display(s) BENQ E2200HD
Case Thermaltake Element S (VK60001W2Z)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Zalman ZM600-HP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
BIOS is set at 200, but it runs like that. Beats me :confused:
Depends on how the mobo in question is.
Some are very precise, and will have 200MHz exactly.
Most will be out by a fraction (usually a tad higher).
Mine runs at 200.66MHz natively, which some proggies round off as 201MHz. Maybe CP's is the same?
:D
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Depends on how the mobo in question is.
Some are very precise, and will have 200MHz exactly.
Most will be out by a fraction (usually a tad higher).
Mine runs at 200.66MHz natively, which some proggies round off as 201MHz. Maybe CP's is the same?
:D
I have noticed a few running in between 200 and 201 like yours, but never between 201 and 202. Oh well, doesn't bother me. :toast:
 

jjFarking

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
456 (0.15/day)
Likes
93
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Frankenstein C3
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE C3
Motherboard Asus M4A79T DeLuxe
Cooling Aywun A1-V10
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR3 (2x2GB @ 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5850 @ 775/1125
Storage Seagate 250gb/500gb/1tb
Display(s) BENQ E2200HD
Case Thermaltake Element S (VK60001W2Z)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Zalman ZM600-HP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
You gain anything from running it that high? Kei actually observed that while running higher HT Ref. Clock and didn't notice any considerable increase in performance.


Well ladies, Gotta hit the sack. I'll keep chatting with you'll tomorrow! :toast: Night TPU!
Lower RAM latency, which translates to higher bandwidth, especially for L3 cache, which is of course the slowest cache ;)
Overall performance may not see a huge impact though. Depends on the app I guess.
In GTA IV, I do notice an extra 2fps because of it.
Not huge, I know.. but still!
:toast:

EDIT: and goodnight to you mate :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
375
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
well looks like the acc settings helped core 2, core 3 idk what the deal is, it still takes a voltage increase to hit 4ghz 5 minute run, i'm done fiddling for the night, got some arena games to bang out in wow, then its' to bed for me.. 2 bad though was seriously hoping for a breakthrough, i guess the one core counts for something doesn't it lol
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
well looks like the acc settings helped core 2, core 3 idk what the deal is, it still takes a voltage increase to hit 4ghz 5 minute run, i'm done fiddling for the night, got some arena games to bang out in wow, then its' to bed for me.. 2 bad though was seriously hoping for a breakthrough, i guess the one core counts for something doesn't it lol
Try a lower clock, like 3.9. GHz to do core per core testing.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,766 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,167
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
some CPUs require more voltage than others, that is the way of manufacturing. Same goes for Engine builds, some are perfected to produce a certain amt of Umph. Lets just say this back in 2002 a Winston Cup Series Car Team was up at the High School stating they had a engine that needed to make 730 HP, well they had one that could only make 715, so they were going to scrap it and build another; remember this is an engine that was built for STOCK CAR RACING, meaning naturally aspirated, no Nitrous Oxide. Just some engines are better than others. Also the HP that every day engines are rated for are Base Horse Power- There is no telling how much HP you could get from them just by electronic tweaking, amongst engine rebuilds/upgrades.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
375
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
i passed without acc at 3.9 on all cores 1.40 v, and a 4.0 core 0 and 1 passed without it, core 2 passed with -2 and core 3 passed with +2 and 1.45v.. and back at 4Ghz still takes 1.535, i need more work with it, i'm gonna keep up with it, i got new fans coming tomorrow some coolermaster r4 90cfm 120mm fans, i can't wait, my tri rad already kicks ass, can't wait to see what i can push with these babies lol
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.59/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
Lower RAM latency, which translates to higher bandwidth, especially for L3 cache, which is of course the slowest cache ;)
Overall performance may not see a huge impact though. Depends on the app I guess.
In GTA IV, I do notice an extra 2fps because of it.
Not huge, I know.. but still!
I'm running low latency ram as well on my system so that's not the issue. My board is limited to 5200MT/s (sorry for the improper wording earlier) however with any bios version besides the first one you cannot select a multiplier higher than the 2200Mhz setting (4400MT/s).

That doesn't really matter much as 1800-2000Mhz has all the room you need for optimal 3D performance. Running higher than that can cause serious instablity as well as decrease in 3D performance...in both my own findings over the years as well as words straight from AMD themselves.

I've run my own HT Link speeds at up to 2600Mhz and gained almost nothing (easily within the margin for error on test results) or lost some depending on the video card used. That has a lot to do with it though even for the more extreme cards 1800-2000Mhz is still more than enough. I've never had to raise the voltage on it either to get it to clock higher which looks wicked cool in screenshots...just wish it was worthwhile. :)

As for latency/bandwidth/l3 cache performance I've never lacked for that as I can achieve 3Ghz on either board I've used my processor on for the Northbridge. I don't use it because it's too much voltage for such a small gain over 2.8Ghz which is just plain easy to get. That makes the L3 and memory performance pretty monstrous especially if you're running right timings.

1333Mhz 6-6-5 1T or 1600Mhz 7-7-6 1T are both just plain ridiculous when paired with a 2.8Ghz Northbridge speed. I haven't even tried 1766Mhz cas8 1T with a super high Northbridge for fear of disrupting the time space continuum. :p

Kei
 

jjFarking

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
456 (0.15/day)
Likes
93
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Frankenstein C3
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE C3
Motherboard Asus M4A79T DeLuxe
Cooling Aywun A1-V10
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR3 (2x2GB @ 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5850 @ 775/1125
Storage Seagate 250gb/500gb/1tb
Display(s) BENQ E2200HD
Case Thermaltake Element S (VK60001W2Z)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Zalman ZM600-HP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
Agreed. More benefit can be had from increased NB speed.
Just seems my Corsair RAM is happy with the HT increase somehow.
Might swap them over, as NB speed increase should actually net a better speed gain, than a HT increase..

Cheers for your findings so far as well mate.
Saves me a lot of stuffing around (been in the game for decades, but never really into OCing as such).
:toast:
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.59/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
Simply ridiculous...

Got curious to see what kinda latency 1700Mhz 7-7-6 1T would get me. Just ridiculousness...I love it! I'm pretty sure I could find a better setting still, but this was the first one that popped into my mind before heading off to bed.

Kei
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,766 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,167
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
whats your last latency value? there is usually 4 before the Command Timing?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
1,268 (0.37/day)
Likes
77
Location
USA
Processor Intel Xeon E5-1620 v3 Haswell-EP 3.5
Motherboard ASRock X99E-ITX LGA 2011-v3
Cooling Stock (Temp.)
Memory CORSAIR LPX 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) XFX AMD 6770
Storage 1 X SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 256GB 1 X Crucial M4 120GB SSD, 1 X 2TB WD Black SATA
Display(s) LG 32" Widescreen
Case Corsair Carbide Series 250D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Cooler Master
Keyboard Corsair
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
i haven't tried finding my max nb speed how would i go about doing that letting my proc stay stock and keep oc my nb? and for ACC i have never really understood how to use that? how do i find my stable cores?
 

jjFarking

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
456 (0.15/day)
Likes
93
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Frankenstein C3
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE C3
Motherboard Asus M4A79T DeLuxe
Cooling Aywun A1-V10
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR3 (2x2GB @ 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5850 @ 775/1125
Storage Seagate 250gb/500gb/1tb
Display(s) BENQ E2200HD
Case Thermaltake Element S (VK60001W2Z)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Zalman ZM600-HP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
Have a look at what Kei wrote HERE.
Most informative.

As for NB.. you can OC it, without OCing the CPU, but it depends on your mobo. Also, you'd have to increase the voltage slightly.. Pretty much the same rules as for anything OC-wise apply here as well.

Try not to go over 1.3v too much, without some hefty cooling though. From what I've read so far, more than 1.375v might actually cause damage. Chances are, that you'll find a limit of what's a decent speed for the NB, long before you get into dangerous voltage territory anyways ;)

I'm sure the more experienced OCers here can point you in the right direction a little better than I can :D

EDIT: I run mine at 2800 @ 1.25v