1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,459 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,465
    Location:
    Houston
    see if you can keep that speed with cas 7 ram and NB is very low?

    great clock and temps though :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Ok, bout to post a thread in the FS/FT section which will contain my X4 920 and maybe some other goodies...

    Figured I would give you guys headsup before it goes gold.
     
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,069 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,184
    my ram won't do it. It just not that tight runing but 1666 is decent, at these speeds ram timing makes very little difference in the real world, lots of testing on that subject and lots of reviews report the same thing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    What vDimm are you running? And can they at least do CAS8? CAS 9 at that speed actually isn't all that great. That's like DDR2 running CAS5 at 925Mhz. I'd rather try for 1333Mhz CAS6 if I were you.
     
    Kei says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,909 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,719
    I think DDR3 Timings are getting closer to DDR Timings than DDR2 ever did.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    DDR2 far surpassed DDR a long time ago. Take 1200Mhz CAS5 DDR2. DDR would've had to be able to hit 600Mhz at CAS2.5 to keep up. Not gonna happen for 24/7 use.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,069 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,184
    past drr3 1400 timing makes very little real world difference, these new chips, I7 included just cannot use all the bandwith. These are just average ddr3 Giskill nothing special.

    and this is a bit better, not bad for a 80.00 motherboard.

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    You are absolutely correct about the bandwidth, but you are forgetting latency. 1333 cas6 would be faster overall.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,069 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,184
    Yes but this ram was 84.00 and faster than what ? Ram timing is the least important part of these new systems might make a 3 percent difference if that. I can run those speeds at ddr3 1333 7 cas no problem. Also with these quad 4.0ghz with bus at 250 is no small thing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    3% is still 3%, and 1333 at a tight timing would be easier on the IMC. I'm not knocking your ram, I'm just saying 1333 CAS6 would be better if you can do it.
     
    Kei says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,069 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,184
    I know your not knocking it, how can ya for 84.00. It was a steal, but ram isn't important to me really. Also this is a Vista 64 overclock, with a Phenom II x4, with 250 bus speed, on a 80.00 motherboard, using a 84.00 ram. I think it's okay not stellar, but you get what you pay for, and I payed very little for this level of performance. However, even after all that it's fast as hell. Also this motherboard doesn't like a high northbridge speeds it gets goofy around 2500.

    This is my ram but I got it on sale for about 20.00 less http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231277&cm_re=gskill-_-20-231-277-_-Product

    real fast cas 7 run and my xmp ram rating

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,459 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,465
    Location:
    Houston
    ram may make very little difference in real world i'll take that however your NB at 2250mhz is not as unnoticed real world thats linked in with your L3 cache and all that other good stuff and phenom's do use that L3 in encoding and all your other daily tasks. evven if you have to loose some ram speed pick up the NB speed its what sets apart benchmarks not the ram.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    therefore i told you to get a c3 965, because they cant be c2;)
    3.6 ghz on stock volts are decent, for a stock cooler. I admit mine never saw an air cooler in all its life, only for 5 minutes, as i tested if its DOA as it arrived;)
    regarding fans: buy enermay magma. theyre quiet and powerful. and have double the air pressure of an ordinary fan.:D
     
  14. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,131 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    624
    lol, I wouldn't exactly be upset that you got a C2 model. Mine is a C2 as well and is awesome on air cooling...might be even better on water cooling. I've already hit 4Ghz on a budget $80 motherboard. If I'm totally honest, I'm actually afraid to get a C3 for fear that it might not be able to do the same things my C2 can do lol.

    Amen, northbridge makes all the difference in the world. I'm still big on ram timings since they're still very important especially in reference to stress on the IMC. 1333Mhz cas6 is fantasticly responsive for daily usage so if you can get it then absolutely go for it. 1600Mhz cas7 just isn't the same, but if that's the best that you can get (try 1333Mhz cas6 first of course) then make sure that you can get your northbridge speed up high enough to match.

    I keep my systems memory read and L3 read speed as close to equal as possible, if any one has to be marginally higher then the L3 is the one...but marginally higher. It produces a fantastic responsiveness in the system, and isn't that hard to get.

    1333Mhz cas6 when paired with 2250Mhz Northbridge is a thing of beauty! Make sure that you keep the cpu speed in mind when looking for those goals. If your cpu speed is too low you'll have to run a much higher northbridge speed in order to make the memory and L3 read match...but then you're still out of whack because the system is lopsided with too high a northbridge speed and too low a cpu speed. :)

    Kei
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    im addicted to NB speed! and to responsiveness! nothing will be as snappy on AMD as ddr3 1250+ with cas 5, and really high NB speeds, like 2600+ !!
    I LOVE IT!:laugh:
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,350 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,429
    Freindly reminder...

    Little did I realize, I never installed my SB driver during my last O/S install and took a couple days to remember. AMD doesn't make these easy to find, but if you have an AMD chipset and find yourself reinstalling your O/S, always remember to install these:

    http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx

    Select: Motherboard/Integrated Video Drivers --> Individual Drivers (Motherboard/Chipset) [select your O/S] --> South Bridge Driver.

    You can also find your AHCI and RAID drivers in there.
     
    trt740, Kei and Chicken Patty say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,599 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,704
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Good one, thanks bro. I'll be doing my re install of W7 shortly, soon as I receive my SSD. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,738 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,659
    Location:
    04578
    i still gotta wait to install win7 jj gave me a key or 2 but arg doing the wallpaper for him is harder then expected so i cant reinstall yet -____-
     
  19. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,069 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,184
    Can you guys give me some northbridge speeds and htt, that I should shoot for, my ram is lower end, but northbridge and htt can be raised. I can do 3.7 ghz at default with bothN/B / HTT at 2500 and use cas 8 at ddr3 1600 or cas 7 at ddr3 1333. I'm sure I can go higher on the core but messing with the HTT/ NB for now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    818 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    See what Kei said, add me to it+better for me now to wait for Thuban (plus that GF100 DX11 card, i guess) & you'll know how happy i'm with current situation, Wafer. :laugh: To get these clocks out of rev. C2 CPU - i say, IT'S ALIVE !!!!!! :roll: This 3.6GHz is probably 24/7 (or something like that) gaming/web browsing/movie watching clock, til i get my hands on TRUE.

    Enermay ? You mean Enermax maybe ? I'll check for it. Thanx. How much CFM & dBa are the best ones ? What about Thermalright's own or Scythe's S-Flex ? Thanx again. :toast:
     
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Any insight on hwo I can improve this?
    [​IMG]

    CL7 Isn't memtest stable, even up to 1.8v, and chip won't unlock.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    lower the divider maybe, some procs have a fairly weak IMC, and dont like NB clocking and Ram Timing at that Ram Speed;)
    it helped very good with mine!

    IF i were you, Xanlord, i would have ripped my Hair out :D Or bought me some better cooler,upon buying the Phenom.
    sry for that Typo, i really meant Enermax. i really dont care about fan data, its bullshit. i hold my hand in front of it, to feel how good a fan is.
    the Enermax are the Best, regarding that Test. they get REALLY cool. and look stylish too,also their blades are detachable ;-)
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Will report back with a mem bench screenshot on the 1066 divider. :)

    EDIT:

    [​IMG]

    Was able to change a few timings too. Notice L1 latency went up and L3 latency dropped. Hmmmm....
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,459 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,465
    Location:
    Houston
    @jr have you tried to see if your wifes board will unlock your chip correctly?


    HTT link is unimportant most chips can do over 3ghz HT link no issues shoot for a NB around 2800mhz and the ram at 1600 cas8 isn't to bad i would push that
     
    Kei says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Nah and it's too much of a pain to try with it now being in a lanbox. Not worth the hassle.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)