• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Valnjes

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
System Name Dead Horse
Processor AMD Phenom II X2 555BE -> X4 B55 4GHz 1.35V
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling Thermalrigh HR-02 + Scythe 140mm 800r/pm
Memory 2x 2GB Mushkin Silverline CL9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) XFX 4890HD 1GB + AC S1 + 8800GT for PhysX
Storage Corsair SSD F60GB + 2x WD Green 2TB for storage
Display(s) AOC 2434Pw
Case Lancool K-62
Audio Device(s) Audigy X-Fi
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Windows Sedaš 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Top 5 spamer @ BUG.HR/FORUM
While OC-ing, i dont use the MBO in the case...

My "case setup" is:
ASRock 890FX Deluxe5
555BE @ 4GHz 1.45V (clasic 555BE, not the beather one 1.35V)
4GB Ripjaws 1333 CL7
LC Power 560W GP3
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Core Temp 0.99.8

Well I bumped FSB up to 219. Its running at 3504 ghz and the core temp is 27c.
Seems very stable. So does that temp sound about right ? Im using the
Core Temp 0.99.8 untility. That'll get me by until I get a new case with
more fans.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,426 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,942
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Well I bumped FSB up to 219. Its running at 3504 ghz and the core temp is 27c.
Seems very stable. So does that temp sound about right ? Im using the
Core Temp 0.99.8 untility. That'll get me by until I get a new case with
more fans.
Add 10c to that temp and its about right. What voltage are you running?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,013 (1.46/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
Well I bumped FSB up to 219. Its running at 3504 ghz and the core temp is 27c.
Seems very stable. So does that temp sound about right ? Im using the
Core Temp 0.99.8 untility. That'll get me by until I get a new case with
more fans.
coldest mines ever got is 39'c, since you have to add 10'c on that means my cpu idles at 50'c - gotta love the stock cooler
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,426 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,942
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
To high man. I would tone it down some for those clocks. You shouldn't need that much voltage unless your like me and have a shitty board.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
To high man. I would tone it down some for those clocks. You shouldn't need that much voltage unless your like me and have a shitty board.
What setting would you suggest ?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,102 (0.37/day)
Likes
47
Location
barrie ont
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Biostar TA870+
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory Kingston hyperx 1600mhz 2x8gb
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 6870 DirectCU II 990/1250 stock volts
Storage Seagate 500gb, Wd 1tb black
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2433BW 24
Case Thermaltake v3 black edition
Audio Device(s) onboard, Logitech x540
Power Supply Antec true power modular 650 watt
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
hes saying lower the vcore, to stock
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,426 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,942
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
What setting would you suggest ?
I would lower the clocks and voltage to stock. Up the clocks 25Mhz at a time until its unstable. Then up the voltage .5. Rinse and repeat.

At 1.45 you should be able to hit close to 4.0 without an issue on a decent board. But honestly I wouldn't go that high with a Frio.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
I would lower the clocks and voltage to stock. Up the clocks 25Mhz at a time until its unstable. Then up the voltage .5. Rinse and repeat.

At 1.45 you should be able to hit close to 4.0 without an issue on a decent board. But honestly I wouldn't go that high with a Frio.
I really haven't a clue how to do any of that. I want to learn, but just reading it I'm lost.
So right now with the way I'm running it isn't a good idea I'm assuming. Why would be my first question and then is
there maybe a youtube explaining what you were just talking about. I thought if I was running fairly cool and the machine
was stable I was good to go. I have a lot to learn evidently. Thanks ! My board is on my specs, it is pretty good for a MicroATX.
Update: I just went into Bios and it says Normal vcore voltage 1.45 ! I am idle at 31c add 10 degrees 41c. Bad ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
831 (0.26/day)
Likes
121
System Name YautjaLord
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz/1.3v
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X370 Gaming K7
Cooling EKWB EK-Kit X360|EK Vardar 120mm fans x3|3x200mm LED red fans 700RPM
Memory G.Skill FlareX 2x8GB DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 1xGigabyte GTX 1070 G1 8G
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SATA III | WD Elements 500GB (storage)
Display(s) LG LED IPS 22EA53
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair RM850i
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Off-topic, sorry :

Going for 'Dozer-based setup soon, need me to RMA few things. People - who of you wanna buy next : 300GB VelociRaptor WD & Samsung SyncMaster T240. How much will you give me if i'll sell it to either of you ? :) No rush, might happen atleast in about a month or even more.

Topic :

Boise, if it helps : i had 965BE rev.C3 125W TDP CPU; before it was down i had it @ 3.9GHz 1.3875v vCore, going for 1.40v might do the trick plus as people say tweak down FSB/HT & if you didn't - play with VDDA, 2.50-2.60v is prefferable.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,426 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,942
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Ok you dont need to be at 1.5. Thats nuts unless you have better cooling. Set your volts to 1.40 and set your multiplyer to get you 3.5Ghz and see if shes stable via OCCT.
Acronym's are killing me man :roll:
OK figured it out. Stress tester ! So bump the multiplyer
up and the voltage down ?Is that it ? Then run OCCT to
make sure I'm safe : ) How long should I run it ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,426 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,942
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Acronym's are killing me man :roll:
lol OCCT is a program made for stress testing your overclock.

Here you go....
http://www.ocbase.com/perestroika_en/index.php?Download

1. Run OCCT with stock settings only. Everything must be stock. If it doesn't pass under stock settings then the system itself isn't stable and you have other issues.

2. If it passes under stock settings up your volts to 1.40. You could try 1.38 and such but personally I like to start at 1.40.

3. Up your multiplier until you hit 3.5 Ghz.

4. Run OCCT and watch your temps.

5. If you do not break 50c with that Frio it will be a miracle. I wouldn't exceed 45c under 100% load for 24/7 use. 54c at an hour of 100% load isnt to bad......but not great.

Now if you hit 55-59c under OCCT I would stop OCCT and turn down your clocks. Remember you have to add 10c to whatever you read. Anyway what I am telling you to do is playing on the super safe side. You can push all this higher but since you are new to overclocking I would stay in these parameters. Also do not run OCCT for more then 1 hour bursts and allow cool down between each run.

If anyone would like to add to this feel free. :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
If anyone would like to add to this feel free. :toast:
Yes in lame man's terms please :D I appreciate the time
you took explaining it where I can understand it. Thank you
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
110 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
Location
Australia
System Name Black Beauty
Processor 4790K
Motherboard MSI Gaming 3
Cooling Water H110
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866C9B 16GB
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX970
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro
Display(s) BENQ 24"
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse R.A.T.7
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software W7 Pro 64bit
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,102 (0.37/day)
Likes
47
Location
barrie ont
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Biostar TA870+
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory Kingston hyperx 1600mhz 2x8gb
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 6870 DirectCU II 990/1250 stock volts
Storage Seagate 500gb, Wd 1tb black
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2433BW 24
Case Thermaltake v3 black edition
Audio Device(s) onboard, Logitech x540
Power Supply Antec true power modular 650 watt
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
Yes in lame man's terms please :D I appreciate the time
you took explaining it where I can understand it. Thank you
listen man a gigabyte ga-880gm-ud2h is is only 4+1 phase, dont expect a high overclock, 3,5ghz is even pushing it lmo
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
listen man a gigabyte ga-880gm-ud2h is is only 4+1 phase, dont expect a high overclock, 3,5ghz is even pushing it lmo
Really ! There are a lot of Youtubes with guys with Phenom II x6's
and that board pushing them a lot farther then that. Are temps what
I need to be careful with ? I'm not looking for records just a little
gaming advantage. At stock right now OCCT is running at 100% load and
it is holding at 46c. Doesn't climb over that. I have two programs watching it
and they both read the same.

Update: Spiked to 47c once in 20 minutes so far.
30 min. 46c is where it held most of the time ? I'm
gonna wait for an answer before continuing anything.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,102 (0.37/day)
Likes
47
Location
barrie ont
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Biostar TA870+
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory Kingston hyperx 1600mhz 2x8gb
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 6870 DirectCU II 990/1250 stock volts
Storage Seagate 500gb, Wd 1tb black
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2433BW 24
Case Thermaltake v3 black edition
Audio Device(s) onboard, Logitech x540
Power Supply Antec true power modular 650 watt
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
Really ! There are a lot of Youtubes with guys with Phenom II x6's
and that board pushing them a lot farther then that. Are temps what
I need to be careful with ? I'm not looking for records just a little
gaming advantage. At stock right now OCCT is running at 100% load and
it is holding at 46c. Doesn't climb over that. I have two programs watching it
and they both read the same.

Update: Spiked to 47c once in 20 minutes so far.
cpu temps mean nothing, check your vrms and chokes temps by putting your fingers on them while stress testing the cpu if its to hot to touch then your pushing the board to far, ive own lots of 4+1 boards trust there not ment for wuad cores even at stock unless undercolted or they get super hot around the 90 to 100c range
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
cpu temps mean nothing, check your vrms and chokes temps by putting your fingers on them while stress testing the cpu if its to hot to touch then your pushing the board to far, ive own lots of 4+1 boards trust there not ment for wuad cores even at stock unless undercolted or they get super hot around the 90 to 100c range
So it is an AM3 board and has support pictures of Phenom x4 and x6 on the package, but isn't up to snuff to run them ? I'm about done with this idea. I get more confused every day. This board advertises dramatically lower system temps because of uses twice as much copper. Is that just advertising mumbo jumbo ? So those guys I seen the video's on youtube with this board, are they in for trouble and have no idea what they are in for ?
You see my conflict here ? Have you had this board and if so is that what happened ?
I'm not trying to flame your warning I just need to know I'm listening to the right advise as far as MY board is concerned. I understood it was good for what I wanted to do and now of course like so many other things I've bought in the past it isn't up to the job. I heard the same thing about my cooler, of course after I bought it.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.63/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
So it is an AM3 board and has support pictures of Phenom x4 and x6 on the package, but isn't up to snuff to run them ? I'm about done with this idea. I get more confused every day. This board advertises dramatically lower system temps because of uses twice as much copper. Is that just advertising mumbo jumbo ? So those guys I seen the video's on youtube with this board, are they in for trouble and have no idea what they are in for ?
You see my conflict here ? Have you had this board and if so is that what happened ?
I'm not trying to flame your warning I just need to know I'm listening to the right advise as far as MY board is concerned. I understood it was good for what I wanted to do and now of course like so many other things I've bought in the past it isn't up to the job. I heard the same thing about my cooler, of course after I bought it.
lets say.... you get what you pay for, when its about mobos.
boards like this will never clock very high, due to having a small vrm, which isnt even passively cooled. i had stronger boards, that had uncooled PWMs, that BURNED nearly, so hot they were;)
and i admit: i needed 3 boards, till i found the right one for my phenoms, which is so strong, that now my phenom is the weakspot;)
to give a statement about 2 oz copper PCB´s... they have use!
but only, if all other components on the board are top notch... you could regard it as cherry on the top of the cream on an ice ;)
your cooler is... average. nothing special, nothing bad :)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
So it is an AM3 board and has support pictures of Phenom x4 and x6 on the package, but isn't up to snuff to run them ?
Sure it is.. at stock settings. It may not be able to push it much overclocking. Make sure that your phases/vrm's are heatsinked.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,321 (0.90/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
lets say.... you get what you pay for, when its about mobos.
boards like this will never clock very high, due to having a small vrm, which isnt even passively cooled. i had stronger boards, that had uncooled PWMs, that BURNED nearly, so hot they were;)
and i admit: i needed 3 boards, till i found the right one for my phenoms, which is so strong, that now my phenom is the weakspot;)
to give a statement about 2 oz copper PCB´s... they have use!
but only, if all other components on the board are top notch... you could regard it as cherry on the top of the cream on an ice ;)
your cooler is... average. nothing special, nothing bad :)
:DWell I did pay $80 as opposed to the $50 on my last board.
So do you think I could push it to say 3.7 maybe ? Give the
finger test. I used to do that with girl friends all the time:roll:
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,102 (0.37/day)
Likes
47
Location
barrie ont
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Biostar TA870+
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory Kingston hyperx 1600mhz 2x8gb
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 6870 DirectCU II 990/1250 stock volts
Storage Seagate 500gb, Wd 1tb black
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2433BW 24
Case Thermaltake v3 black edition
Audio Device(s) onboard, Logitech x540
Power Supply Antec true power modular 650 watt
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
boise i was not trying to offended u in any way just stating facts, aim for 3.6ghz tops just don't stress test the cpu and u should be find running games etc