1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Spartan805

    Spartan805

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Oxnard, CA
    I have 2, shall I disable CFX?
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No shouldnt have to.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,909 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,719
    Windows 7 64bit runs perfectly fine on 2Gigs 16 isnt needed but ram is cheap so why not. 8gigs runs great but mix slow ram with fast u will only be able to run at slow ram speed

    As far as your RAM if you mix ram it will clock to slower ram speeds. Nature of the beast, just runt the 1600. you don't need 16GB of ram, I think?!?!?!? I don't at least!!!![/QUOTE]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Cussing desert
    [/QUOTE]

    Was that directed at me?

    I've decided to go with 8gigs of the 1600. Its ripjaws X. I'm gonna try and push up towards 1866 or higher if I can. I saw a couple of reviews that made it to 2133.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,599 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,704
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I run my RipjawX's at 1866 effortlessly and they are rated at 1600's. :)
     
    Irony says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Cussing desert
    Cool. So it can be done. :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. MGF Derp

    MGF Derp

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    174 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Or you could just buy 1866 sticks and see what it takes to get them to boot at that.
     
  8. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Cussing desert
    I'm kindof going for price here. Ripjaws X are 29.99 right now.

    And I already bought em. They should be here tomorrow or the next day.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. MGF Derp

    MGF Derp

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    174 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I really should learn to read more. Good luck with the oc
     
  10. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Cussing desert
    Thanks.

    Are you new to the site?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. MGF Derp

    MGF Derp

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    174 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    WI, USA
    You could say that. Been lurking for awhile, finally decided to start posting.
     
  12. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Cussing desert
    Welcome to TPU :toast:
     
    MGF Derp says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. MGF Derp

    MGF Derp

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    174 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Thanks, I thought you were going to direct me to posts for new people to not seem dumb on the forum lol.
     
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,197 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    Location:
    Pune
    welcome derp.
     
  15. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Cussing desert
    LOLOLOLLL, you stole the words from my fingers.
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,212 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Haha! Welcome DerP! :toast: Feel free to post you system specs so we can put you under the microscope :p
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    LOL..

    Welcome to TPU derp!

    @Chaotic

    Been playin around with Superspeed Supercache. Really does make a difference with all around use
    [​IMG]
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Euroland
    Hey guys, a quick question - will my athlon II 640 work with 1600MHz memory? I mean, will the memory run at 1600 speeds rather than athlon's prefered 1333 at stock cpu clocks? Or will I have to overclock the cpu to read those memory speeds? The ram kit is Corsair vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 1.50V ver 2.12
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Noone can really give you a y/n answer to that. Its overclocking the IMC and every chip is different.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,212 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.

    As Jr said, it depends on your hardware setup. However, I detect that you have a question about memory dividers?
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,909 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,719
    setting the ram speed is mobo dependent
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,212 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    And FSB dependant!
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,909 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,719
    Well im sayin with ram dividers etc. Current boards such as 800/900 series chips u can set the ram to op at intended speed
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Euroland
    oh so it's okay then, tomorrow I'll be picking up a Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3. thanks for the answers.
     
  25. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,459 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,466
    Location:
    Houston
    I run mine at 2200 :laugh: but those are 2000CL9 rated
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)