• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The ASUS P45 Owner's Club

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.47/day)
Location
In a state of flux...
No vdroop on my board at all.

I set 1.425v in the BIOS and I will get 1.425v in WIndows even under load.

Personally, I wouldnt take any 45nm Intel chip over 1.39v~ for 24/7...if you want to thats upto you.


I'm happy you got your chip running at 4GHz, Buck....ever chip is different so you may actually be able to get more on the same volts I did...it depends but its worth a try. :)
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.29/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
No vdroop on my board at all.

I set 1.425v in the BIOS and I will get 1.425v in WIndows even under load.

Personally, I wouldnt take any 45nm Intel chip over 1.39v~ for 24/7...if you want to thats upto you.


I'm happy you got your chip running at 4GHz, Buck....ever chip is different so you may actually be able to get more on the same volts I did...it depends but its worth a try. :)

Got to agree and my board is exactly the same, what i set is what i get. :D
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,521 (1.72/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Ravens Talon
Processor AMD R7 3700X @ 4.4GHz 1.3v
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Modded 240mm Coolermaster Liquidmaster
Memory 2x16GB Klevv BoltX 3600MHz & custom timings
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800XT Red Devil
Storage 250GB Asgard SSD, 1TB Integral SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 27" BenQ Mobiuz
Case NZXT Phantom 530
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply 1000w Supernova
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Fast. I don't need epeen.
45nm isn't that fragile, anything up to 1.425v is alright. Once you start going to 1.45v+, then thats going to stress things. Theres always a few rare exceptions where theres no vdroop at all, one of my P5Q Pros is like that, in fact, it has some vboost under load, but for a vast majority there will be some vdroop.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.29/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
45nm isn't that fragile, anything up to 1.425v is alright. Once you start going to 1.45v+, then thats going to stress things. Theres always a few rare exceptions where theres no vdroop at all, one of my P5Q Pros is like that, in fact, it has some vboost under load, but for a vast majority there will be some vdroop.

It sounds more like your mixing up 45nm and 65nm tbh.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (1.24/day)
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,521 (1.72/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Ravens Talon
Processor AMD R7 3700X @ 4.4GHz 1.3v
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Modded 240mm Coolermaster Liquidmaster
Memory 2x16GB Klevv BoltX 3600MHz & custom timings
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800XT Red Devil
Storage 250GB Asgard SSD, 1TB Integral SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 27" BenQ Mobiuz
Case NZXT Phantom 530
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply 1000w Supernova
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Fast. I don't need epeen.
It sounds more like your mixing up 45nm and 65nm tbh.

No, I'm not. Please don't say stupid things without researching it. Assuming just makes a ass out of you, and me. At least go visit XS and do some reading. 65nm chips people used to frequently push 1.55-1.6v through, 45nm you can't go above 1.4v or so unless you want to kill it, or happen to be running exotic cooling going for a WR.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.29/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
No, I'm not. Please don't say stupid things without researching it. Assuming just makes a ass out of you, and me. At least go visit XS and do some reading. 65nm chips people used to frequently push 1.55-1.6v through, 45nm you can't go above 1.4v or so unless you want to kill it, or happen to be running exotic cooling going for a WR.

Exactly, which is why i commented on the fact you were saying 1.45v was ok for 45nm.

1.4v would be the absolute max imo. And I have put 1.64v through my 65nm before.

Dont think i havent researched.

Feel free to fry your nice new quad, it doesnt bother me.
 

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.47/day)
Location
In a state of flux...
I've had my E8400 up to 1.53v for the 4.954GHz SS but that was for no more than 3 minutes.

Most I've run for 24/7 was the E8400 @ 4.5GHz and that took about 1.39v~...I didn't see a point and took it down to 1.37v for 4GHz (may have been a bit high for that clock).


This is my personal view and whatever yours may be is fine too, I just don't want to kill my hardware or see any others do so by putting too many volts into something that doesn't need it.

1.425v on a 45nm Intel chip is too much for my liking, even under water as the silicone will degrade no matter what..its just a matter of time before something goes pop...if you can afford to replace your hardware ever 6~ months with new stuff then by all means drop 1.45v into your 45nm chip and be happy with the 300mhz clock difference from 1.39v - 1.45v
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.10/day)
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
Buck Nasty, I see you have the same case as I do. How did you mount the radiator in your case? In the top holes or outside the case? Could you post some pictures please?

I'm asking, because I've been trying to figure out a good setup for the watercooling that I'll eventually get. Not that it's near as I'm broke right now. Just for future reference etc.
 

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.47/day)
Location
In a state of flux...
The Tempest is pretty much an A900..whatever goes in the Antec will also work in the NZXT.

Rear mounted rad/pump on the bottom of the case will make sense for a custom setup....BuckNasty has a prebuilt water loop so his pump is integrated in the block, if I remember correctly. :)
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.10/day)
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
I'm planning on mounting the rad on the top, since there are supposed to be predrilled holes for it. I was just wondering how Buck set it up, (push or pull etc).

I kinda had in mind a single rad on top, with just the cpu in the loop, later 2nd rad and vid cards in the loop too.
 

BUCK NASTY

4P Enthusiust
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,974 (0.80/day)
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
The Tempest is pretty much an A900..whatever goes in the Antec will also work in the NZXT.

Rear mounted rad/pump on the bottom of the case will make sense for a custom setup....BuckNasty has a prebuilt water loop so his pump is integrated in the block, if I remember correctly. :)

Not prebuilt, but partially built.:laugh: I have the Swiftech H2o-220 compact with Rad mounted horizontally at the top of the Tempest case(Swiftech advises against horizontal mounting on this model radiator). 2 Ruilian Science 120mm fans draw air out of the case. it's a little tricky purging all the air from the system, but rock solid when finished. Not bad for $140.00 on Newegg.

*** note the 2 screws in between fans which hold the rad in place






I left the top cover off the case to improve airflow. I also have the case side panels off 24/7. The stock 140mm fans on the Tempest bite. These 120mm's that came with the Swiftech kit work great and can really move some air.
 
Last edited:
K

kyle2020

Guest
How do those swiftech kits perform buck? I love the aspect of the pump and block being together, such a space / money saver.
 
D

Deleted member 24505

Guest
The pumps are awesome,basically a 10w ddc,but they vibrate on the motherboard(well mine did) I just got a xspc res top and converted mine to a 18w pump.



Its been like this for a looong time now with no problem.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
I wasnt too sure on their build quality / effectiveness, but that seems to be a big plus for the kit.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,521 (1.72/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Ravens Talon
Processor AMD R7 3700X @ 4.4GHz 1.3v
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Modded 240mm Coolermaster Liquidmaster
Memory 2x16GB Klevv BoltX 3600MHz & custom timings
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800XT Red Devil
Storage 250GB Asgard SSD, 1TB Integral SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 27" BenQ Mobiuz
Case NZXT Phantom 530
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply 1000w Supernova
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Fast. I don't need epeen.
Exactly, which is why i commented on the fact you were saying 1.45v was ok for 45nm.

1.4v would be the absolute max imo. And I have put 1.64v through my 65nm before.

Dont think i havent researched.

Feel free to fry your nice new quad, it doesnt bother me.

I have a E7200 I'm running 1.5v through right now, its been like that for a year over and its fine :rolleyes: By your logic that chip should be dead by now. Also by your logic, you imply running volts higher than what the manufacturer recommends is fatal, within reason, this certainly is not true. Duh, we (or I am at least) a overclocker, I expect to have to run slightly over what manufacturers recommend for 24/7 voltages to get where I want. I just take the necessary precautions to make sure any extra voltage I do have to run through components is adequately compensated for with proper cooling. I won't name names, but you all know who you are posting pics of your systems and having nothing but a teeny tiny HS on your mobos NB and frying the poor thing with volts and not so much as putting a 40mm fan on top of the NB HS :shadedshu

Heres a bit of basic maths for people.

45nm chips: recommended max voltage 1.36v, +10% of maximum recommended operating voltage = 1.49v. That is the MAX a 45nm chip should be subject to, and even then your still restricted by whatever cooling you use. On air, about 1.4v is probably the max you should put through the chip.

Now, one more example.

2x2GB RAM kit: Manufacturer recommends 2v operating voltage, +10% of maximum recommended operating voltage = 2.2v.

Everybody seems to forget that regardless of the hardware, it MUST be designed with a +10% out-of-spec voltage tolerence. This applys for EVERYTHING. CPUs, GPUs, RAM, BGA ICs, etc.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.10/day)
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
Not prebuilt, but partially built.:laugh: I have the Swiftech H2o-220 compact with Rad mounted horizontally at the top of the Tempest case(Swiftech advises against horizontal mounting on this model radiator). 2 Ruilian Science 120mm fans draw air out of the case. it's a little tricky purging all the air from the system, but rock solid when finished. Not bad for $140.00 on Newegg.

*** note the 2 screws in between fans which hold the rad in place


I left the top cover off the case to improve airflow. I also have the case side panels off 24/7. The stock 140mm fans on the Tempest bite. These 120mm's that came with the Swiftech kit work great and can really move some air.

Thanks a lot Buck. So the rad is only fastened to the case by 4 screws? (2 in the pic & 2 on the other side)
The mounts should be quite universal I imagine, since I was planning on using a Black Ice Xtreme 240
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,521 (1.72/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Ravens Talon
Processor AMD R7 3700X @ 4.4GHz 1.3v
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Modded 240mm Coolermaster Liquidmaster
Memory 2x16GB Klevv BoltX 3600MHz & custom timings
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800XT Red Devil
Storage 250GB Asgard SSD, 1TB Integral SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 27" BenQ Mobiuz
Case NZXT Phantom 530
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply 1000w Supernova
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Fast. I don't need epeen.
Woot! Finally ordered my new HDD :D Picked me up a 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black with 32MB cache for £52 :cool: Heres the link for anyone thinking of getting a new drive. Its a fantastic drive that scores very highly in all reviews I've read for it.
 

BababooeyHTJ

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.16/day)
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
Woot! Finally ordered my new HDD :D Picked me up a 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black with 32MB cache for £52 :cool: Heres the link for anyone thinking of getting a new drive. Its a fantastic drive that scores very highly in all reviews I've read for it.

Is that the AALS? I've been wanting to pick up a couple of those bad. What drive are you currently using? Post your results based on real world useage when you get it installed.
 
Top