• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

The everything Crysis thread...

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Monkey_Business

Guest
#1
When will graphics cards exist which are powerful enough to play Crysis on all "very high" specs, 8x AA, on 1920x1200 and get more than <10 FPS?

Not even Two HD 5970's in xfire, or Two GTX 295's in SLI could handle Crysis on those settings and put out a playable framerate.

We'll probably have to wait until the HD 7xxx series graphics cards.

Currently, there are no games, or even drivers for that matter, for Nvidia or ATI, which utilize more than Four GPU cores.

Playing Crysis on it's highest possible settings takes all Four GPU's past 100% load, and then they eventually crash.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Hopefully never so people will realize what a horribly coded POS Crysis is and stop using it for futile benchmarking tests. The game itself isn't even good.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#3
Not for a while, I personally think the push for higher resolutions will be made by gpu designers as to give them a reason to put out new hardware.

To prove my point what was the gaming resolution of choice at Crysis' release? 1280x1024? Probably. Now higher resolutions like 1920x1200 are fairly standard, if not 1080 HD.
 
M

Monkey_Business

Guest
#4
Not for a while, I personally think the push for higher resolutions will be made by gpu designers as to give them a reason to put out new hardware.

To prove my point what was the gaming resolution of choice at Crysis' release? 1280x1024? Probably. Now higher resolutions like 1920x1200 are fairly standard, if not 1080 HD.
How does Crysis run on "very high" settings on 1024x768 resolution with the fastest GPU(s) money can currently buy?

I've never been crazy about resolution, and it doesn't make games look leaps and bounds better. 1024x768 vs 1920x1200 is not the difference between night and day like most people claim it is. It can mean the difference between an enjoyable gaming experience, and a completely unplayable framerate.

Anti-aliasing is also another performance hog to a GPU.

Off-topic, but how would a single HD 5870 run Crysis on all "very high" specs with no AA and 1024x768 resolution?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#5
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,345
Likes
5,808
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#6
Hopefully never so people will realize what a horribly coded POS Crysis is and stop using it for futile benchmarking tests. The game itself isn't even good.
It's funny. You ppl are shouting how crap it is, yet i've never seen any other game to look this good at rendering anything virtually as realistic as it does Crysis. But hey, if it doesn't run well for you, it's automatically rubbish. Lets face it, Crytek and Crysis were ahead of it's time and hardware vendors just couldn't deliver the power to render it. It wasn't much dfferent with Far Cry when it was released, yet no one was calling it crap. And it's beautiful even today.
I was playing it just fine on Very High with 2x FSAA. Not exactly a 200 fps experience but it was perfectly playable. I think that's just great.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#8
No not all tests were done on "Very High" settings. TPU's video card reviews increase AA/AF with the resolution. So no AA/AF on 1024x768 and then 4xAA/AF on 1280x1024 and then 8xAA/AF on 1680x1050 and so on.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
It's funny. You ppl are shouting how crap it is, yet i've never seen any other game to look this good at rendering anything virtually as realistic as it does Crysis. But hey, if it doesn't run well for you, it's automatically rubbish. Lets face it, Crytek and Crysis were ahead of it's time and hardware vendors just couldn't deliver the power to render it. It wasn't much dfferent with Far Cry when it was released, yet no one was calling it crap. And it's beautiful even today.
I was playing it just fine on Very High with 2x FSAA. Not exactly a 200 fps experience but it was perfectly playable. I think that's just great.

You're assuming I'm some sort of anti-Crysis fanboy. I'm not shouting, I'm typing a conversation on how "crap" it is. Yes, it is crap. The game looks great, I agree. My system also runs it just fine. There are other games that I believe to look better and run better. Dirt 2, Far Cry 2 and some others look better to me. Lets face it, Crysis was and still is a horribly made game, full of bugs that no machine can really run very well, up untill now. DRM, Punkbuster.. more crap. Far Cry was actually fun. If the CryEngine was such a masterpiece, they wouldn't of ditched it for a new engine that actually has better graphics and is optimized much better. If Crysis didn't have these extreme graphics, nobody would be talking about it, because overall the game itself isn't very good. Pretty? Yes. Good. Definitely not. I don't "hate" Crysis, and the visuals + physics in the game are great looking. The gameplay itself, storyline, etc. just doesn't suit my taste. Of course, I still use the game for a benchmark now and then anyways.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
455
Likes
39
System Name Bobzilla the second
Processor AMD Phenom II 940
Motherboard Asus M3A76-CM
Cooling 3*120mm case fans
Memory 4GB 1066GHz DDR2 Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD5870 1GB
Storage Seagate 7200RPM 500GB
Display(s) samsung T220HD
Case Guardian 921
Power Supply OCZ MODXSTREAM Pro 700w (2*25A 12v rail)
Software Windows 7 Beta
Benchmark Scores 19753 3dmark06 15826 3dmark vantage 38.4Fps crysis benchmarking tool (1680x1050, 4xAA)
#10
The test of if crysis was really that well coded will be when crysis 2 comes out, since the engine runs on consoles (albeit scaled) there has to be some optimizations in there, which should boost performance. If it doesn't then crytek just fail at optimization. Plus if it looks at stunning as they say, then it should also blow crysis out of the water. (although an eyefinity demonstration - thats right, it's not a twimtbp game - showed some pretty nice visuals which did surpass the original, especially the water.)
 
M

Monkey_Business

Guest
#11
Crysis Warhead seems to run much smoother on identical settings to Crysis. I get on average, +10 fps as opposed to Crysis.

It also looks better.
 
M

Monkey_Business

Guest
#12
I can play Far Cry 2 on all maximum spec on 1024x768 DX10 with 0x AA and get 30-50 FPS in most cases with my HD 5750 1GB.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#13
I can play Far Cry 2 on all maximum spec on 1024x768 DX10 with 0x AA and get 30-50 FPS in most cases with my HD 5750 1GB.
seems a little low, regarding you should get about 58 with 1280x1024 and maybe AA;)
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#15
I was playin crysis 30mins ago on me HD5870, it plays perfectly for me, max settings 16X AF & 2X AA at 1920 1080, a HD5970 will rape this game, I know from 2 months experience :D:D:D
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#16

Phxprovost

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
1,217
Likes
260
Location
Pennsylvania
System Name Result of Boredom
Processor AMD FX-6350
Motherboard ASUS M5A97
Cooling Enzo Tech Extreme-X
Memory 16gb ddr3
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Display(s) Asus 24in (1920X1080) X 2 @144hz
Case NZXT S340
Software WIN7 64bit HP
#17
Hopefully never so people will realize what a horribly coded POS Crysis is and stop using it for futile benchmarking tests. The game itself isn't even good.
lets see proof of your claims..ohh wait you have none :rolleyes: yup crysis and the cryengine are poorly coded. More useless rambling from people who have no idea what they are talking about...but it takes all kinds right? :pimp:
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#18
Hopefully never so people will realize what a horribly coded POS Crysis is and stop using it for futile benchmarking tests. The game itself isn't even good.
OH MAN HOW RIGHT YOU ARE !
The game is lame the coding is full of bugs and problems it needs even more patching to fix it so it will run right on win7 64 bit . What a joke Bioshock is far better any way .
 
M

Monkey_Business

Guest
#19
OH MAN HOW RIGHT YOU ARE !
The game is lame the coding is full of bugs and problems it needs even more patching to fix it so it will run right on win7 64 bit . What a joke Bioshock is far better any way .
I can't play the last level in Crysis "the reckoning" without crashing at least Ten times. The rest of the game is fine, it's just that particular level.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#20
I can't play the last level in Crysis "the reckoning" without crashing at least Ten times. The rest of the game is fine, it's just that particular level.
Hell I can install it and run it just fine as long as you do not update it . when it updates the game is done for and the only way to test the so called benchmark is to have all updates installed WHAT ? They should work on the story line and coding more than the benchmark . I hate the game now myself as it has taken time from me researching and looking for fixes and patches and this and that wasting my time on BS CRAP ! It will never see my computer HDD again ! :mad:
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#21
You're assuming I'm some sort of anti-Crysis fanboy. I'm not shouting, I'm typing a conversation on how "crap" it is. Yes, it is crap. The game looks great, I agree. My system also runs it just fine. There are other games that I believe to look better and run better. Dirt 2, Far Cry 2 and some others look better to me. Lets face it, Crysis was and still is a horribly made game, full of bugs that no machine can really run very well, up untill now. DRM, Punkbuster.. more crap. Far Cry was actually fun. If the CryEngine was such a masterpiece, they wouldn't of ditched it for a new engine that actually has better graphics and is optimized much better. If Crysis didn't have these extreme graphics, nobody would be talking about it, because overall the game itself isn't very good. Pretty? Yes. Good. Definitely not. I don't "hate" Crysis, and the visuals + physics in the game are great looking. The gameplay itself, storyline, etc. just doesn't suit my taste. Of course, I still use the game for a benchmark now and then anyways.
Only thing I disagree with is I will never even use the useless benchmark on my BEAST ! Not even worth the time . I agree with every thing els you have said 100% ! :respect:
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#22
lets see proof of your claims..ohh wait you have none :rolleyes: yup crysis and the cryengine are poorly coded. More useless rambling from people who have no idea what they are talking about...but it takes all kinds right? :pimp:
You must work for crytek! I hope erocker bans your arse!
 
M

Monkey_Business

Guest
#23
Crysis Warhead seems to be a fair bit better coded than Crysis. Thus, giving a few more FPS, as well as less crashes.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
488
Likes
33
#24
I can't play the last level in Crysis "the reckoning" without crashing at least Ten times. The rest of the game is fine, it's just that particular level.
why mate ? I played crysis & warhead in 1680 x 1050 with my old 9800gt w/o any probs...but i didn't use AF & AA :eek: ...all other settings in enthusiast .. i really like the game's music ...
 
M

Monkey_Business

Guest
#25
why mate ? I played crysis & warhead in 1680 x 1050 with my old 9800gt w/o any probs...but i didn't use AF & AA :eek: ...all other settings in enthusiast .. i really like the game's music ...
If you want to play Crysis maxed out, and still be playable, you're going to need more than a single GPU.

The highest benchmark for Crysis set as high as it can go, is 3-way GTX 285 SLI. Water-cooled and superclocked. Crysis is programmed to be better optimized for Nvidia graphics cards. If you can play Crysis on all "very high" specs, with 8x AA, and resolutions beyond 1920x1080, you need 3 GTX 285's and a Core i7 @ 4.5 GHz.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Status
Not open for further replies.