• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The first TRUE DirectX 10 Game

Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,432 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#1
Most games as some of you know that are DirectX 10 are done so after the fact. Meaning that its DirectX 10 supported but not developed for. Well now we finally have our first true DirectX 10 game that will be Vista only and require a DirectX 10 capable GPU.

Creative Assembly's RTS Stormrise will be one of the first PC games to require both a DirectX 10-capable video card and Windows Vista, according to an interview on PC Games Hardware.
"Stormrise has been designed for DirectX 10 and Vista only right from the start," said Stormrise lead designer Artem Kulakov, who later clarified: "Vista only. DX10 only. No fallback option. We have never suggested this or hinted at it, so it shouldn't be a surprise."


"DX10 has offered a lot of advantages over DX9," he added. "First of all, DirectX 10 allowed us to simplify the rendering engine. It matches capabilities of next generation consoles better than DX9, which is important for us considering that Stormrise is a multi-platform title. We had fewer driver-specific compatibility issues with Stormrise compare to our previous games released with DX9."
A new IP from Total War developers Creative Assembly, the small-scale RTS Stormrise was designed primarily with console controls in mind. The game is expected to arrive in stores on PC, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 this month.
Source









Edit: The screens above are from the Xbox360 version of the game. The PC version may in fact look better.
 
Last edited:

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
Damn school. Blocks the images.. I'm pretty excited about native DX10. Why not DX10.1 tho?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.22/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#3
Well it's about damn time. We'll finally get some glimpses of what dx10 is really capable of right before the move to dx11. :laugh:

Why not DX10.1 tho?
Probably b/c nvidia cards don't have it.
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.02/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#5
Well it's about damn time. We'll finally get some glimpses of what dx10 is really capable of right before the move to dx11. :laugh:



Probably b/c nvidia cards don't have it.
the 295 has dx10.1
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.22/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#6
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
2,251 (0.69/day)
Likes
1,336
Location
Riverside, California
System Name Red Monster
Processor Intel Core i7 7800X @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H115i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB DDR4 3466
Video Card(s) evga GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 iCX
Storage Intel 535 Series 2.5" 480GB SATA /WD Blue 1TB SSD /Radeon R7 240GB SSD /1TB, & 4TB HHD
Display(s) Samsung UN55KS8500 55" 4K & Oculus Rift CV1
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZX > Pagoda DAC > multiple amps
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherri MX
Software Windows 10
#7
the 295 has dx10.1
I don't think it does. I doubted it but decided to look it up. No where can I find that this card supports DX10.1.
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#8
And looking at the screenshots, who cares if this is a true DX10 title?? It can hardly keep up graphically with DX9 games of 3 years ago. :laugh:

And no, no Nvidia card supports DX10.1 according to Microsofts definition of what a DX10 (and above) supportive card must be. Latest Nvidia cards (since G92 really) support most of the DX10.1 features, arguably the most important ones (the ones developers close to Nvidia asked for), but they do not support all of them and in the same manner M$ specified them to be, so they can't put the sticker. If Microsoft still had the same philosophy now as they did with DX7/8/9 Nvidia would have DX10.1 support, just as both Ati and Nvidia got support for DX7/8/9 when they didn't fully support them, or used customiced optimizations for such features. At the end of the day, because the developers MUST optimice for each GPU, and half the code is directly HLSL (and the likes, sometimes even machine languaje of each GPU), they could care less if Nvidia cards wear that sticker or not. It's pure marketing.
 
Last edited:

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.02/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#9
found that info on a magazine... but if they give me wrong info I'm gonna send a "not-so-friendly e-mail" to them...
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.22/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#11
And looking at the screenshots, who cares if this is a true DX10 title?? It can hardly keep up graphically with DX9 games of 3 years ago. :laugh:
Screenshots look pretty damn good for an RTS to me, it's hard to tell much from the ones given though.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,432 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#12
And looking at the screenshots, who cares if this is a true DX10 title?? It can hardly keep up graphically with DX9 games of 3 years ago. :laugh:
I agree the graphics suck. But this isn't so much about the graphics as strange as that sounds. Its just a nice step forward in optimization and we can finally start taking advantage of some of our hardware the way it was intended. Lets hope it has a bench we can DL.
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.02/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#13
K mail sent...
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#14
I agree the graphics suck. But this isn't so much about the graphics as strange as that sounds. Its just a nice step forward in optimization and we can finally start taking advantage of some of our hardware the way it was intended. Lets hope it has a bench we can DL.
Agreed on that. How far in development is it? If it still has a way to go the graphics will *hopefully* get some polishing.

P.S. - Mailman love the new avatar! Animal Rocks!:D
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
2,251 (0.69/day)
Likes
1,336
Location
Riverside, California
System Name Red Monster
Processor Intel Core i7 7800X @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H115i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB DDR4 3466
Video Card(s) evga GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 iCX
Storage Intel 535 Series 2.5" 480GB SATA /WD Blue 1TB SSD /Radeon R7 240GB SSD /1TB, & 4TB HHD
Display(s) Samsung UN55KS8500 55" 4K & Oculus Rift CV1
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZX > Pagoda DAC > multiple amps
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherri MX
Software Windows 10
#15
I can't see those screenshots posted above because my work blocks them but I googled it and damn it actually looks pretty damn good 'graphically'. I'll buy it.
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#16
I agree the graphics suck. But this isn't so much about the graphics as strange as that sounds. Its just a nice step forward in optimization and we can finally start taking advantage of some of our hardware the way it was intended. Lets hope it has a bench we can DL.
Hmm you're right about that. It's just that DX10 promised so much better graphics and where are those?

Don't worry, I know all that was just marketing, but everytime I hear something related to DX10/10.1 it drives me nuts.
 

Jakl

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
515 (0.15/day)
Likes
50
Location
Home
System Name AMD Fun Rig | Intel Lil' Gaming Rig
Processor 720BE x4 3.4ghz 1.375v | E8400 4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 790FXT-UD5P | eVGA 780i
Cooling Scythe Mugen | TRUE
Memory G.Skill 2x2gb 1600 | 4x1gb Crucial 800
Video Card(s) ATI 3870 | eVGA 9800GTX
Storage 1TB Seagate | 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 24" ASUS VK246H | 28" Acer LCD TV | 40" Sony V4100
Case Lian Li | Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X | Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 1200W | PC Silencer 750
Software Win7 64
#17
Damn~! That game looks Badass!

Finally games are moving onto DX10 and Vista ONLY... The Graphics doesn't look to huge of noticing if you compare it to Crysis, but now at least it will be now strictly only DX10 and Vista
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,432 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#18
Hmm you're right about that. It's just that DX10 promised so much better graphics and where are those?

Don't worry, I know all that was just marketing, but everytime I hear something related to DX10/10.1 it drives me nuts.
On second thought it is an RTS and them graphics aint to bad for that if you think about it.
 

Jakl

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
515 (0.15/day)
Likes
50
Location
Home
System Name AMD Fun Rig | Intel Lil' Gaming Rig
Processor 720BE x4 3.4ghz 1.375v | E8400 4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 790FXT-UD5P | eVGA 780i
Cooling Scythe Mugen | TRUE
Memory G.Skill 2x2gb 1600 | 4x1gb Crucial 800
Video Card(s) ATI 3870 | eVGA 9800GTX
Storage 1TB Seagate | 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 24" ASUS VK246H | 28" Acer LCD TV | 40" Sony V4100
Case Lian Li | Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X | Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 1200W | PC Silencer 750
Software Win7 64
#19
On second thought it is an RTS and them graphics aint to bad for that if you think about it.
Yea , at least it isnt like World Of Warcrack lol
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#20
On second thought it is an RTS and them graphics aint to bad for that if you think about it.
I think that nowadays we are past the time when it was normal for RTSs to have worse graphics because they have much more things to render. With the exception of few games (Total war...) RTSs don't really have much more models and FX on-screen than, for example, Crysis or COD4 so, IMHO, the excuse is no longer valid. The environments are just as big too and you can see all of them, like in Crysis. I see no difference nowadays. It's not like when FPSs where corridor crawling games.
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.02/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#21
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,432 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#22
I think that nowadays we are past the time when it was normal for RTSs to have worse graphics because they have much more things to render. With the exception of few games (Total war...) RTSs don't really have much more models and FX on-screen than, for example, Crysis or COD4 so, IMHO, the excuse is no longer valid.
Not so sure about that. From what I understand AI is now being offloaded to the GPU. If this is the case then graphics will suffer. Anyway this may have Total war kinda gameplay. After all we are judging a game that isn't even beta yet.
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#23
Not so sure about that. From what I understand AI is now being offloaded to the GPU. If this is the case then graphics will suffer. Anyway this may have Total war kinda gameplay.
AI to GPU?? Don't think so. Maybe under CUDA and the like, but not yet. I haven't heard that. Where did you hear that??

Point is that IMO Empires TW and Company of heroes already look better so... idk I just didn't liked the graphics. leave me alone. :p

After all we are judging a game that isn't even beta yet.
That's part of the problem to me. It should show a clear improvement, being it is advertised as DX10 and will come when much more powerful GPUs are out. They are already elevating the bar by only supporting DX10 cards after all. I know that the comment about being beta means a different thing, But they are Creative Assembly, they shouldn't show anything if they don't have something worth of showing.

Anyway:

A new IP from Total War developers Creative Assembly, the small-scale RTS Stormrise was designed primarily with console controls in mind. The game is expected to arrive in stores on PC, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 this month.
Why for the love of God will they force us into Vista, if they have created a DX9 path for consoles? It's not because they need the possible performance improvements of DX10. If a downcloked Geforce 7900 and X1800 can handle the game, it sure can 90% of the DX10 capable cards out there, plus many other DX9 ones. Cheaters.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,432 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#24
AI to GPU?? Don't think so. Maybe under CUDA and the like, but not yet. I haven't heard that. Where did you hear that??

Point is that IMO Empires TW and Company of heroes already look better so... idk I just didn't liked the graphics. leave me alone. :p



That's part of the problem to me. It should show a clear improvement, being it is advertised as DX10 and will come when much more powerful GPUs are out. They are already elevating the bar by only supporting DX10 cards after all. I know that the comment about being beta means a different thing, But they are Creative Assembly, they shouldn't show anything if they don't have something worth of showing.

Anyway:



Why for the love of God will they force us into Vista, if they have created a DX9 path for consoles? It's not because they need the possible performance improvements of DX10. If a downcloked Geforce 7900 and X1800 can handle the game, it sure can 90% of the DX10 capable cards out there, plus many other DX9 ones. Cheaters.
Well I need to edit the first post. The images your seeing are from the Xbox 360. Thanks for reminding me :ohwell: I forgot.

I'm looking for the AI article about it being off loaded to the GPU. I found it odd to at the time but Ill post it as soon as I find it. Its a good read.

Edit: The first post is edited.

Edit, Edit: I found the article on AI. Source
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#25
Well I need to edit the first post. The images your seeing are from the Xbox 360. Thanks for reminding me :ohwell: I forgot.

I'm looking for the AI article about it being off loaded to the GPU. I found it odd to at the time but Ill post it as soon as I find it. Its a good read.

Edit: The first post is edited.
Aaah. Seen it in gamespot now. The PC version. And much better. That's a completely different thing. But I still don't understand the lack of DX9 path, because they have one.

About the AI, which game? You do remember that, until you find the link. maybe I could find something.

EDIT: Ok saw the link. Going into it.
EDIT2: OK. They are talking about the future, 12-18 months. I thought you were saying games already were offloading AI tasks to GPUs. I knew that AI can be superbly done on the GPU, I think you even participated in a discusion about that, where I was praising GPGPU mentioning that as one example, but already implemented? No.
 
Last edited: