1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Journey Of A 5000+ BE!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by kyle2020, May 16, 2008.

  1. kyle2020 Guest

    Well, now that i can finally overclock my Black Edition with the new motherboard arriving, i decided to sit down and have a proper tinker this evening.

    Ill keep this thread updated as much as possible, just to show you how you can push a Blackie . give you info if your considering buying one.

    Any how, ill give you the lowdown on how we are going so far.

    The CPU comes factory clocked @ 2.6Ghz, on a multiplier of 13x. After downloading CrystalCPUID so i could increase the voltage (gave me alot of headaches after BIOS only let me go to 1.35), heres how its going so far:

    Multiplier of 14x (tried higher before voltage increase, got errors, might have another crack at it tonight)

    FSB of 220

    And a voltage of 1.39V.

    [​IMG]

    I must say i am extremely impressed! i ran 3 and a half hours of orthos to check stability, and previous to this @ 2.6Ghz i was returning a 3Dmark result in the low 8000's - up to 10k in just one overclock! im very happy with this result.

    I will post the next set of results once i have stability checked, maybe tonight, more likely tomorrow. Once my accelero arrives for my GT i will be able to take my GPU higher too.

    My next purchase looks to be the Zalman 9700, purely because i was getting load temps with orthos of 60 degrees celcius, +/- 3 degrees, and i dont want to kill her before her time.

    Keep subscribed! New results on the way!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    my load temp is 58c 1.4v on my 90nm windsor. I have the AC Freezer 64 Pro
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  3. kyle2020 Guest

    hmm . . . i have the 64 Alpine, but i have read in some reviews the 9700 can drop load temps in some cases by almost half - and at £35 for peace of mind and better cooling, im willing to splash out. What do you think of my overclock so far Hat?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Silverel

    Silverel

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,773 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    That's pretty hot for 1.39v. Definitely go for the Zalman. I've actually got a Thermaltake TMG A2 on top of mine.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  6. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,278 (6.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,576
    Location:
    Houston
    Last edited: May 16, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,951 (5.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,597
    I agree, I hate to say it but Zalmans are almost outdated now. Concidering what the Xig 1283's are doing.

    Comming from a 9500 myself, yes its a bit smaller, but Zalmans get saturated to easy with heat IMHO and I have yet to see the same with my Xig!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,758 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Like many people will tell you, every chip is different. But here's my settings and what i've tested

    Using Xigmatek with MX-2

    15*200 1.250 100% stable core1 21c core2 24c idle and 41c load
    15*230 1.350 100% stable core1 23c core2 25c idle and 45c load
    16*200 1.375 100% stable core1 25c core2 29c idle and 48c load

    I bench at 16*200, I get higher scores with this settings. Using 3dmark series.
    hope this helps some
     
  9. kyle2020 Guest

    ill have to look this xigmatek up - anyone drop me a model name?

    *update*

    Just increased my voltage to 1.4V, and my FSB to 225 and am now running at 3.15 Ghz - about to stress test .

    i also, luckily enough, discovered the 20cm top fan on my antec was obstructed by a loose 4 pin connector and wasnt spinning - freed that up, taken my front 2 intakes to medium speed, also my exhaust to medium, and hopefully that will aid some more cooling.

    Hopefully put 3dmark results on later if stressing goes ok . . . if not, night all!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,758 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    The model number is in my specs
     
  11. kyle2020 Guest

    cheers, having a look now :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    970 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    I'm still a Zalman guy, but the Xig's definitely cool better. My e2180 has never gotten hot enough, but anything around 125-140 watts and the Zalmans just can't dissipate the heat.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. kyle2020 Guest

    yeah, unfortunately for me though the xigmatek might just be too tall for my case so that might be a no - go. ill do some proper measurements tomorrow.

    *update*

    took the multiplier up to 14.5x @ 1.4V and got a BSOD upon boot, so i think any higher than 14x for me isnt realistic, which im upset about. looks like FSB increases from now on. Oh well :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,951 (5.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,597
    I have both the case and the cooler...I will measure from the mobo to the top of the cooler and the mobo to the door of my 900!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. kyle2020 Guest

    please do! save me money if it fits! :D

    *update*

    everything seems stable so far, going to do a 3dmark run later - will keep you all posted.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    About the AC64 Alpine.
    I would only get that if my stock cooler blew up and I wasn't overclocking...

    I was considering getting the Alpine and saving a couple bucks, glad I went with the Freezer now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,951 (5.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,597
    From my measuring I got that the Xig from the mobo to the cooper heatppe tips is just under 6 3/4". Now going to the 900...from mobo to inside of the rolled back edge of the case it is a solid 6 3/4" and an extra 1/4" till you hit the inside of the door(for a total of 7" clearance in the 900).

    The door fan idea is out and the plastic "clips" to hold one in may need removed. You could do as I did and remove the fan side plexi all together. Holding the mesh in is as simple as washers or hot glue. Just be careful not to screw the screws through the plactic caps on the outside!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. kyle2020 Guest

    haha! i think ill be sticking with the zalman then, dont want to be modding my case just yet ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,951 (5.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,597
    I wouldn't really say the removal of the inner panel is modding...I say more like a 2 out of 10 in the skill scale. If you can use a screwdriver, get a hold of some washers, and use common sense, I say it's doable. Take the door off and see...BTW, hugely improved the airflow with just mesh in that part of the door!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,853 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,574
    Location:
    Florida
    i dont think your a t a bottleneck kyle...i ran my 6400BE at like 1.55 to get 3.4ghz...AMD's unlike intel in my experiances need voltage for almost every bump were as intel wil go go and go and then you need high voltage almost immedietely.

    glad that mobo is working out for ya though!!! what r u at now?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. kyle2020 Guest

    thats the problem - i cant go higher than 1.4V (unless anyone can suggest a program other than crystalCPUID to manually set voltages seeing as bios only lets me go to 1.35 anyway) and also at 225 fsb im getting instability.

    Feeling disheartened already :( testing @ 223 fsb, and i cant go any higher than 14x multiplier either :(

    But besides that solaris, its running as smooth and stable as anything! i really like ASUS, will use them in the future :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,951 (5.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,597
    What about some sort of pencil mod to use to just raise stock voltages? Then if you need to swap CPU's or you realize its too much, a little alcohol and its all gone!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. kyle2020 Guest

    "pencil mod"? explain please?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. kyle2020 Guest

    @ sneeky - just read up on it, im not liking the sound of it. Dont want to be buying a new proc a month later, but thanks for the suggestion :ohwell:anyone know of any voltage setting programs?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,951 (5.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,597
    You must have read about some really bad experiences...Ive pencil modded a few mobo's and graphics cards, and when done right, it causes no harm. Rather they remedy issues such as low core voltage, and Vdroop!

    I do agree this is a bit tougher than pulling out the plexi on a case door, but in reality is drawing with a pencil and reading numbers on a display!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)