• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Linux screenshots thread

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
15,022 (2.75/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard CODE V2B Cherry MX Blue
Software The Matrix
Yeah...Debian 11 ran like a dream alright. Until I started loading my newer titles. It seemed to handle the usuals(Skyrim, Oblivion, FO3, and FO:NV) just fine, but when I started going Fallout 4 and newer? Not so much.

Yes, I unfortunately ran into that exact issue with FO4. It just will not run stable with Proton. They must be using some really unusual APIs and libraries in that game for Proton to not be able to load it properly.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2021
Messages
64 (0.63/day)
Location
France
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A | Noctua NT-H2
Memory 4x 8 (32) GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X Trio
Storage 1x Samsung 980 PRO 512 GB | 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB | 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB
Display(s) 2x 1440p 165Hz ASUS TUF VG27AQ
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud Alpha
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-750 80+ Platinum Fully Modular
Mouse ASUS ROG Chakram
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red RGB
Software EndeavourOS
The biggest advantage of Linux so far was OpenRGB just detecting all of my devices straight up. On Windows it would only detect the RAM. This eliminates the need for bloaty, crappy RGB software. Love it.

1631404168818.png
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,205 (0.72/day)
Location
Tanagra
Plain ol' Ubuntu 21.04 here. Really like the snappiness of Wayland. I've been playing a game or two, but this is mostly my darkroom machine. There's also an SSD with Windows 10 on it, but I never go there. My smartphone is the Terracube 2e, which I got from e.foundation.
Screenshot.png
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
1,200 (0.31/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Graphics Card Free...
Processor Ryzen 3 3200GE
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX Wifi
Cooling Cryorig M9a w/ BeQuiet! PureWings 2 ~ 92mm
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 3200 ~ 16GB(2x8GB)
Storage Samsung 870 SSD ~ 500 GB
Display(s) AOC 24G2
Case Cardboard...
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 550w G3
Mouse Logitech t400 Zone Touch Mouse
Keyboard iKBC CD108 ~ "Silent" Red Cherry MX Switches
Software Manjaro ~ KDE Plasma
Benchmark Scores Fast enough for me!
That doesn't happen very often.
LLM...

After the recent updates to the Steam client, even when I'm doing a fresh install in linux all of my games show up "before" I opt into Steamplay and restart. It didn't used to be this way. When I used to do a fresh install, only a small percentage of my complete library was visible because those titles were deemed "linux compatible", the rest were hidden until I joined SteamPlay. Now...I'm assuming they're saying ALL games are compatible or have the possibility of becoming compatible. I don't now for sure, other than to say it's interesting. :)

Yes, I unfortunately ran into that exact issue with FO4. It just will not run stable with Proton.

ER...

I had no trouble with Fallout 4 in Solus, but ran into troubles in both Mint(Black checkered boxes, freezes, and popping.) and Debian(Immediate crash to desktop) that I couldn't overcome. In Solus...all I did was add this line to my "launch options" command ine and I was up and running.

Works perfectly...

WINEDLLOVERRIDES="xaudio2_7=n,b" PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=90 %command%

I also use the above in the launch options with Skyrim(and others). It kills the issue with not being able to hear the NPC's audio and usually any crackling/popping audio issue as well.

As far as I'm concerned, both titles run just as good in Solus as they do in Windows. I personally believe "vanilla" Fallout:NV and Fallout 3:GOTY look MUCH better in linux than Windows. The first time I played Fallout:NV in linux...I was constantly saying WOW...I never noticed that before! It was surreal. Everyone who loves these two Fallout titles should try it at least once.

I told myself I'd stop at loading 10 games - for now. So, from my list here are the games I've loaded that are running beautifully. It's not all roses though...and I'll explain the problems briefly. I don't want to get too far off topic here.

These 9 are pretty much perfect, despite my weak graphics and having to play a few of the titles in 720p...The Outer Worlds loads a little slow when going in to new areas, about 2-3 seconds but I think it's just more than my system is able to handle. Other than that...plays beautifully.

FO3:GOTY, FO:NV, Fallout 4, Oblivion, Skyrim:SE, Metro Exodus, Kingdom Come: Deliverance, The Outer Worlds and Terminator: Resistance.

1 needs a little work. I think it's because the title is new?

Chernobylite

It runs fine but the cutscenes are giving me some problems(blacked out, missing audio). I'm working through them now, looks like a simple video conversion issue.

I wish my graphics were about 20 to 30% more powerful. I'm used to working with...well, not much...so I can deal with it effectively, but in 2021...i'm pushing the limits here(After selling every graphics cards in my stash at hugely inflated prices...I'm sitting on a pile of cash, so I'm not suffering...I'm just waiting patiently.).

I think Solus is spoiling me...none of the above is usually this easy. Maybe it's because I'm using all AMD? I don't know.

Best,

Liquid Cool - 1%er

P.S. If you're using nVidia/Intel on Solus...search for "Hardware Drivers" at the start menu for DoFlicky. It will get you up and running. Also...doubly make sure Gamemode and Gamemode-32 bit are installed. With AMD these are installed by default.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,221 (5.30/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Muddling through it lol
DeepinScreenshot_select-area_20210911211532.png
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
22,546 (3.82/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Stardust
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential (White)
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Yes, I unfortunately ran into that exact issue with FO4. It just will not run stable with Proton. They must be using some really unusual APIs and libraries in that game for Proton to not be able to load it properly.

I may have asked this already but Im still not understanding proton. Do you install it separately? is it part of steam? I guess I could grab my laptop and look. (I dont play games on the laptop so haven't dug into this)
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
333 (0.15/day)
System Name My system is my pet?
Processor Intel Core i5 9400f 2.9GHz/4.0 Turbo (NoOC)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370M D3H rev. 1.0
Cooling An okayish Cooler but it is better than Intel's stock
Memory Corsair Red Line 8x2 16GB 3000MHz (NoOC) DDR4-3000 15-17-17-35 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R) V1.35 ver 4.24
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce MSI 980 Ti Golden Edition (NoOC)| Spare: GTX 650 Ti 1 GB
Storage Samsun 860 EVO 1 TB | Spare: WDC Black 930 GiB WD1003FZEX
Display(s) Asus VG248QZ 1920x1080 144hz 24" (Current: 60hz, because Contrast is lowered with 60+ Hz)
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair 850W RMi power supply (Overkill I know -long story-)
Mouse Logitech M187 wireless (First day of use 30-9-2021)
Keyboard Logitech K120 USB Cable
Software Windows 10 21H2
I may have asked this already but Im still not understanding proton. Do you install it separately? is it part of steam? I guess I could grab my laptop and look. (I dont play games on the laptop so haven't dug into this)
It is part of Steam, Valve is developing it. They forked it from Wine source code then integrated it in Steam. Just Install Steam in Linux. Right click the game that you want to play then choose Properties then click the Compatibility tab then click the "Force ..." then Okay. Install the game then run it. You will most likely need to use the experimental Proton since it is mostly better than any Proton versions that Steam has. Right click the game from the list again, then look for the setting where you can change the Proton version. Choose the experimental one.

If the game has problems, the game might need a launch parameter to work probably. Go to https://www.protondb.com/ then type the game's name and see what they tell you to do. Sometimes they will tell you to use a certain version of Proton. Go to the game's properties where you can change the proton's version or add the launch parameter.
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
22,546 (3.82/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Stardust
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential (White)
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
It is part of Steam, Valve is developing it. They forked it from Wine source code then integrated it in Steam. Just Install Steam in Linux. Right click the game that you want to play then choose Properties then click the Compatibility tab then click the "Force ..." then Okay. Install the game then run it. You will most likely need to use the experimental Proton since it is mostly better than any Proton versions that Steam has. Right click the game from the list again, then look for the setting where you can change the Proton version. Choose the experimental one.

If the game has problems, the game might need a launch parameter to work probably. Go to https://www.protondb.com/ then type the game's name and see what they tell you to do. Sometimes they will tell you to use a certain version of Proton. Go to the game's properties where you can change the proton's version or add the launch parameter.
cool ty! that's super interesting! Steam fan or not, that compatibility matrix is leaps and bounds further than linux gaming even a few years ago
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
15,022 (2.75/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard CODE V2B Cherry MX Blue
Software The Matrix
cool ty! that's super interesting! Steam fan or not, that compatibility matrix is leaps and bounds further than linux gaming even a few years ago

Yes, Steam's decision to integrate it right into the platform makes it really easy to play any of their games.
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,687 (1.11/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-2697v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, 2x EVO 860 500GB, LG 14x Blu-Ray Rewriter
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 21.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Well, here is the easiest to install Arch linux ever! It auto partitions if you want, it will install a desktop during install, it will install the latest Nvidia drivers, and basically makes setting
up a basic desktop of any kind on Arch a breeze. Starts with kernel 5.14 out of the box. I will be trying this bare metal next. Also wine is installed by issuing sudo pacman -S wine-staging. That's it. EdeavourOS is now #2 on the
distrowatch.com list:
EndeavourOS.png
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,687 (1.11/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-2697v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, 2x EVO 860 500GB, LG 14x Blu-Ray Rewriter
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 21.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
To be honest, still haven't finished installing Manjaro. It was actually easier to install raw Arch and then add Kde. Try Endeavour... I think a lot of newbs will like it much better.
You still get a very base install, and can select which apps go on.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
1,200 (0.31/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Graphics Card Free...
Processor Ryzen 3 3200GE
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX Wifi
Cooling Cryorig M9a w/ BeQuiet! PureWings 2 ~ 92mm
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 3200 ~ 16GB(2x8GB)
Storage Samsung 870 SSD ~ 500 GB
Display(s) AOC 24G2
Case Cardboard...
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 550w G3
Mouse Logitech t400 Zone Touch Mouse
Keyboard iKBC CD108 ~ "Silent" Red Cherry MX Switches
Software Manjaro ~ KDE Plasma
Benchmark Scores Fast enough for me!
It was interesting reading the last few posts....I moved to Manjaro a few days ago...:).

Manjaro KDE Plasma Screenshot - September 20, 2021.jpg

Manjaro KDE Plasma Screenshot 2 - September 20, 2021.jpg

I'm pretty sure I've tested every KDE desktop out there. Even the eclectic distros. My favorite out of all of them for stability and feel...openSUSE. There really is no close second. If I wasn't more interested in moving from debian to Arch....I'd plant my flag in openSUSE.

After giving some thought to all of this...If I'm leaving debian and I have to learn a new package manager with Solus. Perhaps it might be a wiser decision to just head on over to Manjaro as a temporary rest stop while I'm brushing up on reading the Arch manuals. With Solus, well..it's a small distro...could be gone in a year. Who knows? Not to mention...SteamOS 3.0 is based on Arch with the KDE Plasma desktop. I plan on centering the future of my gaming around my current desktop and the Steam Deck.

For me...I think this path makes more sense.

Best,

Liquid Cool
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,364 (3.16/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Gentoo Linux x64
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,205 (0.72/day)
Location
Tanagra
It was interesting reading the last few posts....I moved to Manjaro a few days ago...:).

View attachment 217612

I'm pretty sure I've tested every KDE desktop out there. Even the eclectic distros. My favorite out of all of them for stability and feel...openSUSE. There really is no close second. If I wasn't more interested in moving from debian to Arch....I'd plant my flag in openSUSE.

After giving some thought to all of this...If I'm leaving debian and I have to learn a new package manager with Solus. Perhaps it might be a wiser decision to just head on over to Manjaro as a temporary rest stop while I'm brushing up on reading the Arch manuals. With Solus, well..it's a small distro...could be gone in a year. Who knows? Not to mention...SteamOS 3.0 is based on Arch with the KDE Plasma desktop. I plan on centering the future of my gaming around my current desktop and the Steam Deck.

For me...I think this path makes more sense.

Best,

Liquid Cool
Manjaro was actually the best distro for the Dell XPS17, at least until Ubuntu managed to release a modified kernel that got sound working on many Intel laptops. With Manjaro, you just needed to install it, then update it, and sound worked. Until Ubuntu came through, it either required all kinds of magic dances or stay on the 5.6 kernel, and initially the 5.6 kernel didn't even work, but I think a fix got merged into that kernel only somehow.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
1,200 (0.31/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Graphics Card Free...
Processor Ryzen 3 3200GE
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX Wifi
Cooling Cryorig M9a w/ BeQuiet! PureWings 2 ~ 92mm
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 3200 ~ 16GB(2x8GB)
Storage Samsung 870 SSD ~ 500 GB
Display(s) AOC 24G2
Case Cardboard...
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 550w G3
Mouse Logitech t400 Zone Touch Mouse
Keyboard iKBC CD108 ~ "Silent" Red Cherry MX Switches
Software Manjaro ~ KDE Plasma
Benchmark Scores Fast enough for me!
Liquid Cool...another distro hop? Are you serious!?

No No gentlemen(and ladies), I'm at home now in Manjaro, so I'm afraid my screenshots will be diminishing to zero. :(

I'm sure most of you have been around linux long enough to test out plenty of distros and there is always that one...that one distro that stands out from the rest in all the right places. For me...that's Manjaro. Although, the others distros I've mentioned(Debian, Solus, even openSUSE) are solid contenders and worthy of a look. Especially Debian really...because for the first time I can honestly say in - Debian 11 Bullseye - these guys are doing SOMETHING right. Every one of their desktop environments I tested booted up and ran perfectly! This has never happened to me before and I started testing Debian distros many years ago...

On to the reason for my post. This is a "screenshots" thread and I wanted to pass along an article I read about wallpapers from OMG! Ubuntu! awhile back entitled...

The ‘Hey Dude, Where Can I Get That Wallpaper?’ Blog Post

I've always liked Joey from OMG! Ubuntu!, he keeps his site updated continuously. He and Liam from Gaming on Linux are really the only two websites I go to for linux based content on a daily basis. Distrowatch and Phoronix...weekly, but that is about it(I spend a lot of my time here :), or gaming!).

In Joey's article he mentions...

Walls by JFL - Free Widescreen

I've been following this Free Widescreen page as it expands(updated almost daily) and I've found quite a few interesting wallpapers for my own collection...so I thought I'd pass it along.

Manjaro is now my home.jpg

Best,

Liquid Cool
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
501 (1.27/day)
Last screenshot from me for a while as well.

Over the last week or two I've bounced around to a few different distros, following @Liquid Cool in a way.

Came back to Debian 11 where things seem to be the most stable and complete for my needs. While Debian will quickly fall behind the latest cutting edge distros, I really appreciate the slower and steadier nature. For me, I think one of the biggest annoyances of Windows 10, and now 11, is the fact that something's always changing, and mainly only for the sake of change. I don't need a new weather and news widget crammed into the task bar - If I'd wanted one, I would have put it there.

Anyway. Debian 11 Cinnamon:

Deb11.png
 
Last edited:

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,687 (1.11/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-2697v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, 2x EVO 860 500GB, LG 14x Blu-Ray Rewriter
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 21.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Well, 21.10, or Impish Indri has now reached beta status. It should be final shortly. You can now upgrade 21.04 to it using the sudo do-release-upgrade -d command.
It will ship with kernel 5.13. Well here it is on a bare metal install:
21.10beta.png
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2015
Messages
538 (0.25/day)
Location
Here
System Name Skypas
Processor Intel Core i7-6700
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212X Turbo
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB + WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 22EA63V
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2 w/ Deepcool XFan 120
Mouse Logitech B100
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 Pro (to be replaced by 2025)

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,355 (3.48/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Full Size Wireless Apple Magic Keyboard
Software MacOS 10.15.7
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,957 (5.27/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Is your browser window translucent? I feel like I'm seeing your background through the window. For a second I thought my display was exhibiting image retention again. :laugh:
I'm seeing the same thing so I'm inclined to think there is a bit of transparency being applied..
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,364 (3.16/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Gentoo Linux x64
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Turns out AIDA64 runs under wine fine (other than well, sensor data, because drivers):

Linux scheduler on Gentoo KDE Plasma putting down some mean Ryzen 5800X cache latencies... through a emu layer... wow.

Screenshot_20211017_170531-min.png
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
618 (0.21/day)
System Name Headshot
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero ROG
Cooling Phanteks Glacier One 360 MPH
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4 @ 3200 16-18-18-18-36
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Vega64 (Linux)/Gigabyte RX 6600 (Windows VM)
Storage Cruscial P5 1TB nVME, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Seagate 1TBx2 (Home/Data), 2TB Seagate (Games)
Display(s) 2x Acer 1080P 144HZ
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Stack (Schiit Audio Modi 2 DAC + Magni 3 AMP + Loki)
Power Supply eVGA Supernova 1000 G2
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Arch Linux with Windows 10 Gaming VM
Turns out AIDA64 runs under wine fine (other than well, sensor data, because drivers):

Linux scheduler on Gentoo KDE Plasma putting down some mean Ryzen 5800X cache latencies... through a emu layer... wow.

View attachment 221263
1634517358149.png


For curiosity sake and science, figured I would compare with my 3800X running Arch.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,364 (3.16/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Gentoo Linux x64
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
I switched to my gentoo distro on my primary gaming rig, finally. It was worth it, despite the loss of HDR.

I even got Wayland working on nvidia today, despite a lot of fighting. Proof. And marvel at my neat 4K Plasma Desktop with glorious Kerbals going to space:

Screenshot_20211019_105802-min.png
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
618 (0.21/day)
System Name Headshot
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero ROG
Cooling Phanteks Glacier One 360 MPH
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4 @ 3200 16-18-18-18-36
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Vega64 (Linux)/Gigabyte RX 6600 (Windows VM)
Storage Cruscial P5 1TB nVME, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Seagate 1TBx2 (Home/Data), 2TB Seagate (Games)
Display(s) 2x Acer 1080P 144HZ
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Stack (Schiit Audio Modi 2 DAC + Magni 3 AMP + Loki)
Power Supply eVGA Supernova 1000 G2
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Arch Linux with Windows 10 Gaming VM
I switched to my gentoo distro on my primary gaming rig, finally. It was worth it, despite the loss of HDR.

I even got Wayland working on nvidia today, despite a lot of fighting. Proof. And marvel at my neat 4K Plasma Desktop with glorious Kerbals going to space:

View attachment 221508
I have not used Gentoo in 10 years, but I remember compiling KDE for it on my x6 1055t and it taking the better part of half a day. How is it these days with faster CPU's and IO? Looking back on it I probably should have used some RAMFS for compiling from, but I didn't know any better then.
 
Top