• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The PS3 Clubhouse

Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
892 (0.22/day)
Likes
63
Location
Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
System Name Commander
Processor Intel i3 540 3.06Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Cooling 4x 80mm Case Fans, Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller, Stock CPU Cooler
Memory 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz (2x 2GB) - Kingston
Video Card(s) HIS ATi Radeon HD3850 256mb DDR3
Storage 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 22" BenQ FP22W LCD, 700:1, 5ms, 16:10
Case Don't know exactly, metal, built on LED's.
Audio Device(s) Integrated - Altec Lansing 5.1 Speakers (6.5" Sub)
Power Supply Antec True 550W, 24 AMP on 12v rail
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit - AVG - Spybot
My sister ended up getting it from Big W (not where I pre-ordered it from) for $78 which is a really good price here (around like getting it for $39 in the U.S.). I also asked her to pick up Mario Kart Wii while she was there (dw I won't talk about that here :)).

How are you guys enjoying GTA IV??
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,415 (3.52/day)
Likes
4,277
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
so far i like the game. i picked it up this morning. good story line and the graphics are what i expected. i tried to get into multiplayer mode but it says it cant contact the server!
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
I got the game, but busy with homework, might try to play later today.

About the online, R* is trying to fix it. PSN users are having trouble connecting, XBL users are having trouble staying connected.
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,415 (3.52/day)
Likes
4,277
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
I got the game, but busy with homework, might try to play later today.

About the online, R* is trying to fix it. PSN users are having trouble connecting, XBL users are having trouble staying connected.
thanks. let me know when you can play. i wanna see if we can call eachother with the in game cellphone and connect to fight some gangsters. :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
I been hearing a lot of stuff regarding freezing on both the 360 and PS3 during intro screen, especially on the 60gb version. I am crossing my fingers and hoping it wont happen to me when I pop the game in.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,415 (3.52/day)
Likes
4,277
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
I been hearing a lot of stuff regarding freezing on both the 360 and PS3 during intro screen, especially on the 60gb version. I am crossing my fingers and hoping it wont happen to me when I pop the game in.
really? well i played it for 1.5 hours straight this afternoon on the 80 gig version and it played great. hope you dont get screwed.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
mine never froze....got this game at 12 midnight monday.....cant wait to do some multiplayer its gonna be greeeaaaaaat I think I rather not play at all then to always drop connections on the 360 dropping connections are annoying to me......GAME IS SO GREAT
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
My GTA4 froze once and did these 10 second freezes. It stopped after awile tho. Great game I just think the graphics weren't as good as they looked in trailers.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
I have to say at 1080p on a 61" tv, the game does suffer a lot of aliasing issues. But who cares, gameplay > graphics

btw, can you update my profile Easy Rhino...

ktr
PSN Username: teh_stig
PS3 Model: 60GB
Accessories Owned: Blu-ray Remote, 1x SixAxis controller, 1x DualShock3 controller
TV Owned: Samsung 61" DLP 1080p
Games Purchased: Gran Turismo 5: Prologue & Grand Theft Auto 4
Current Playing: Grand Theft Auto 4
Games Looking Forward To: Gran Turismo 5 & Metal Gear Solid 4
Blu-rays Purchased: None
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
994 (0.24/day)
Likes
28
Location
SoCal
Processor Intel C2D E6420 (3.2 gHz @ 1.365v)
Motherboard Gigabyte 965P-DS3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Memory 4 x 512mb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 4870 512mb
Storage 200gb Maxtor SATA, 400gb WD SATA
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
GTA IV... heh. I honestly was expecting waayy better graphics from the game, but I guess that's the whole point of having trailers - to hype a game up. Don't get me wrong, I love the game... the storyline is fun (so far) and the characters are all believable which helps with the immersion, but the graphics (at both the standard 480p and the 1080i outputs) are rather distracting. It has so many aliasing issues it seems like Rockstar didn't even try to make it look nice. An option to adjust the screen (as in previous iterations of GTA) is missing, leading to a screen that gets cut off on both sides for me (I can't see how much money I have, I can't see how much ammo I have, I can't see how many stars I have until I get to 3 stars, some of my map gets cut off, etc.). Overall though, I think it's a game well worth the money.

anticlutch:

PSN Username: bakabakablah
PS3 Model: 60GB
Accessories: 2 x Sixaxis controllers
TV: 48" Samsung bigscreen @ 1080i (I don't know the exact model #)
Games owned: GTA IV, Assassin's creed, Gundam
Currently playing: GTA IV
Games looking forward to purchasing: GT5, MGS4
Blu-Rays purchased: none.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,415 (3.52/day)
Likes
4,277
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
i read that gta4 on the ps3 runs at 620p while the xbox 360 version runs at 720p. you can tell on an HDTV !!LK!L!JLdjlj3oijojfojljrlgjogjf but whatever, the game still rocks.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
i read that gta4 on the ps3 runs at 620p while the xbox 360 version runs at 720p. you can tell on an HDTV !!LK!L!JLdjlj3oijojfojljrlgjogjf but whatever, the game still rocks.
I really dont even care about that. All I know is that the end result, the PS3 still looks better, and the game is awesome.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,415 (3.52/day)
Likes
4,277
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
I really dont even care about that. All I know is that the end result, the PS3 still looks better, and the game is awesome.
they both look the same to me. the game is awesome and that is all that truly counts.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
892 (0.22/day)
Likes
63
Location
Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
System Name Commander
Processor Intel i3 540 3.06Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Cooling 4x 80mm Case Fans, Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller, Stock CPU Cooler
Memory 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz (2x 2GB) - Kingston
Video Card(s) HIS ATi Radeon HD3850 256mb DDR3
Storage 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 22" BenQ FP22W LCD, 700:1, 5ms, 16:10
Case Don't know exactly, metal, built on LED's.
Audio Device(s) Integrated - Altec Lansing 5.1 Speakers (6.5" Sub)
Power Supply Antec True 550W, 24 AMP on 12v rail
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit - AVG - Spybot
@Easy Rhino, can you update my profile on the first page too plz:

joshmcmillan
PSN Username: joshmcmillan
PS3 Model: 40GB
Accessories Owned: 1x Sixaxis, Guitar Hero 3 Les Paul Guitar Controller, Jabra BT135 Bluetooth Headset, VGA Cable/Transcoder
Screen Used: BenQ 22" Widescreen LCD @ 720p
Games Purchased: GTA IV, Calling all Cars, Pixel Junk Monsters, Uncharted, Motorstorm, Guitar Hero 3
Current Played Game: GTA IV
Games looking forward to: Gran Turismo 5, Playstation Home, Little Big Planet
Blu-ray Movies Purchased: None
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
Can you play with a keyboard and mouse in gta4?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,415 (3.52/day)
Likes
4,277
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
yea, multiplayer works now and it is hilariously awesome. infinity and i were playing last night and it is a blast. just doing free mode is cool. you can run around and do whatever you want. definately going to play again tonight!!!
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
yea, multiplayer works now and it is hilariously awesome. infinity and i were playing last night and it is a blast. just doing free mode is cool. you can run around and do whatever you want. definately going to play again tonight!!!
Yeah that was pretty funny I have my other friends playing now also so whenever just not tonight.....lol
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,415 (3.52/day)
Likes
4,277
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
so who has gone into the statue of liberty? i did it last night and it is pretty weird. i won't spoil it if you dont know what it is. take a helicopter and fly to the statue of liberty and then drop out of it so you land on the top most level. you can walk through one of the four doors.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
so who has gone into the statue of liberty? i did it last night and it is pretty weird. i won't spoil it if you dont know what it is. take a helicopter and fly to the statue of liberty and then drop out of it so you land on the top most level. you can walk through one of the four doors.
ahh yes, the heart ;)
 

kylew

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
604 (0.16/day)
Likes
70
Location
Liverpool
Processor Main: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 @ 3.7Ghz / Server: Q6600@ Stock
Motherboard Main: Asus P5E @ Rampage Forumla / Server: P5K Deluxe
Cooling Main: Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme (8 x 120mm fans inc. PSU + 2 x 92mm fans.) / Server: Stock
Memory Main: 4x2GB Gskill DDR2 1000Mhz / Server: 4x1GB Gskill DDR2 800Mhz
Video Card(s) Main: 2GB 5870 Eyefinity 6 / Server: HD 4850
Storage 8 Internal (SATA) 2 External (USB). Total storage 5.4TB
Display(s) Triple Dell 24" 2408WFP
Case Main: Silverstone TJ07 / Server: Coolermaster Stacker 810
Audio Device(s) Main: Auzentech Xmystique / Server: NI Rig Kontrol
Power Supply Main: Coolermaster Realpower 850w Modular / Server Tagan 600W Modular
Software Main: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit / Server: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 19.5k 3D Mark Vantage 12.5k Super PI 13.4s
Hey all, I've been meaning to join since I got my PS3 (begining of April) :D I Just haven't gotten around to it yet. Well anyway, here's what I've got:

PSN Username: kyle-waller
PS3 Model: 40GB
Accessories Owned: Blu-ray Remote, 1x Six Axis controller
TV Owned: Hitachi 42" 1080p
Games Purchased: Ratchet and Clank, GT5: Prolgue, Sonic :)D), Conan, Everybody's Golf, Folklore, Tony Hawk's Project 8, Ridge Racer 7, The Darkness, Uncharted, Resistance, Heavenly Sword, Armored Core 4, Assassin's Creed, Lost Planet, Gundam: Target In Sight.
Current Played Game:
Games looking forward to: Metal Gear Solid 4, FF13, Sequal to Ratchet and Clank? Midnight Club: Los Angeles and any decent RPGs
Blu-ray Movies Purchased: Beowulf, 300 Spartans
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Multi-player on GTA is a blast! I was at my friends house playing with my dad and it was so fun :D
 

Mediocre

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
1,237 (0.29/day)
Likes
70
Processor C2D E8400 @ 3.60GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-Pro w/ extra Vreg HS
Cooling Apogee GTX, 2x120mm DD, MCP-1000P Res/Pump, all 3/8" 7x80mm (4x push/pull, 2x exhaust, 1x side)
Memory 2 x 1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 @ 800 (4-3-3-6)
Video Card(s) EVGA 9800GTX+
Storage 3 x 80 GB WD SATA300 (2x RAID 0)
Display(s) Scepter x37 1080p 37" LCD & Samsung 204B
Case CoolerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Mushkin HP-580AP (C/O TPU!)
Software Vista Ultimate (32-bit)
Yeah been playing GTA since wendsday and its a blast. I have slight issues with both the audio and video. Have to turn up the volume an extra few notches above what prologue was running, and I also find it to be really dark. I upped the brightness on my LCD (from 30 LOL) and its better, but now the blacks aren't really black....still a great game, too bad I only have like an hour a night to play :(

Also grabbed a dual shock controller

I'll have to hop on the multiplayer and give that a go tonight

:toast:
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,415 (3.52/day)
Likes
4,277
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
it's on late tonight! anyone who wants to play join me around midnight EST for some multiplayer chaos. i prefer free roam so that we can just screw around in the city. hope yall can come!!!