• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

The RAGE Megathread

Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Hopefully thing's will get only better soon.

GStaff: Appreciate all the feedback... I'll share it with the team. We're definitely looking to make improvements to the game where we can -- sounds like you already saw Carmack's note on textures. The team also continues to work on additional fixes for future updates. Can't really discuss specifics there, as that stuff can change over time.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
275 (0.07/day)
Likes
15
System Name Sky Net
Processor AMD Phenom II X2 550BE @ 3.93ghz & climbing
Motherboard Asus M4N82 - Deluxe
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 4GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 2 BFG GTX 260 896mb MaxCore Slied
Storage 1 Seagate 150GIG - 2 Western Digital 80 GIG HDs as storage - 1 TB external drive
Display(s) Dell 21inch Widescreen
Case AZZA Solano 1000
Power Supply Mach 1 1000watt
Software Win7 Home Premium
Blame yourself and your rig, not the game.
A PC enthusiast should know how to troubleshoot and overcome these small challenges.
The fact that there are official tweak guides on several websites and forums - even this one, and you are still having problems points to one thing: User Error.
Blame himself & his pc..not the game? Seriously man? Have you not checked the official forums on this game? It's rampant with issues & problems. I'm running the ultra config from Fusedcore & I'm still getting texture popins no matter the settings so your dead wrong there. I know this pc thru and thru and the only fault lies in this game. Is this really the future of pc gaming? Some hyped up crap that looks even worse then a product released years ago and people actually defend it? Id is out of touch and have no idea what their fan base is any longer. They do not have a place in today's pc gaming market...both of which I'll be the 1st to recant (& wished it was different) if they change their direction. But to sit and defend something that's soooo obviously flawed is amazingly daft!

Also those that are now calling this game a tech demo and the real deal will be released when Doom4 hits shelves...really? Are people so snowed nowadays that they are ok with paying full price for a game...only to be reveled as a demo. Plus..with the masses showing their ok with it.. why are you gonna be surprised when the same thing happens with Doom4?

(throws hands up in pure frustration!) I'm just thankful I got the game free on steam. I think I've lost all faith in gaming companies to release on pc anymore. It's been issue after issue recently.
 

The_Ish

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
328 (0.13/day)
Likes
43
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 580 DirectCU II
Storage Corsair F120 SSD +9,5TB storage
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64
Benchmark Scores I only care about practical performance.
To be honest, when you said that you were not interested in doing minor troubleshooting, I dismissed you as one of the ADHD generation of babies with a false sense of entitlement.

If you spent the same amount of effort to read up on some of the tweaks as you do crying on the internet, your game would most likely be working flawlessly right now.
You are misunderstanding me here techtard (or I formulated it badly), I did troubleshoot, I just wrote that I didn't like doing it. I got the new drivers and added a custom config etc. The drivers didn't help, my guess is because it's AMD drivers. The config only made the game look more clearer, but didn't help with the performance as it said it would. There is only so much I'm willing to do to get a game running smoothly on a machine that is clearly up to the task hardware wise.
PC games have almost always had to be fiddled with to play nice on your computer. It comes from there being such a huge variety of hardware that the games can run on.

Even with the botched launch, RAGE was easier to get running than some of the classic PC games back in the late 80s and 90s. You guys have it so easy nowdays and you don't even know it.
This just isn't true in my experience. I've been playing PC games since -93 and such classics as Syndicate and Beneath a Steel Sky. They worked perfectly well then, and they work perfectly well today. I actually finished BaSS again just a year ago.
Spend some time to tweak your rig. Uninstall your drivers and run driversweeper or driver cleaner in safe mode.
Install the newest RAGE drivers. Install the newest Crossfire profiles.
Create the \id software\rage folder for a gamecache.
Maybe set some basic launch options via steam,
Maybe use a rageconfig.cfg file.

Do a little bit of work and stop bitching.
I did some of that as stated earlier. Also Rage did not ship with any official support for SLI/CF.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
967 (0.32/day)
Likes
221
System Name El Superbeasto V1.2
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 5.0 ghz
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55
Cooling XSPC Raystorm CPU + 2 RX360 radiator + xspc Razor R9-290 w/ backplate
Memory 16gb G.skill Sniper 1866 ddr3 (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 w/ XSPC Razor full cover block and backplate
Storage Hyper-X 120gb-OS, WD Caviar black 2TB-Steam, Plextor M5S 256gb - MMOs+RTS games
Display(s) Samsung 23" 120hz 3d LCD w/ 3d glasses, using 'lightboost' trick
Case NZXT H630 white watercooling case
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX + Sennheiser HD 598
Power Supply XFX Pro 850 XXX semi-modular
Software Windows 10 Pro (Had some mystery error on Win7 and decided to go W10)
You are misunderstanding me here techtard (or I formulated it badly), I did troubleshoot, I just wrote that I didn't like doing it. I got the new drivers and added a custom config etc. The drivers didn't help, my guess is because it's AMD drivers. The config only made the game look more clearer, but didn't help with the performance as it said it would. There is only so much I'm willing to do to get a game running smoothly on a machine that is clearly up to the task hardware wise.

This just isn't true in my experience. I've been playing PC games since -93 and such classics as Syndicate and Beneath a Steel Sky. They worked perfectly well then, and they work perfectly well today. I actually finished BaSS again just a year ago.

I did some of that as stated earlier. Also Rage did not ship with any official support for SLI/CF.
Until they release official SLI and Crossfire support, temporarily disable multi-gpu. A hassle, but sometimes it's gotta be done.
SLI and Crossfire are still not fully supported in all games, you can blame both the gamedevs and the GPU makers.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
Until they release official SLI and Crossfire support, temporarily disable multi-gpu. A hassle, but sometimes it's gotta be done.
SLI and Crossfire are still not fully supported in all games, you can blame both the gamedevs and the GPU makers.
I highly doubt you'll see dual card support from id - the game is capped at 60FPS. It doesn't even stress a single card enough.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
2,312 (0.64/day)
Likes
715
Location
Switzerland
System Name Keep spending on me
Processor i7 4790K ( 4.4 Ghz stock )
Motherboard Maximus VII Impact z97
Cooling Corsair H90 140mm AIO
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 1866 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS DUAL GTX 1060
Storage M.2 Samsung NVMe 960 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC G2460 G-Sync 1080p
Case Cooler Master Mastercase 3
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II Impact
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
Software Win 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Gaming at high performance is my priority
trying to finish it in nightmare difficult .... So easy, there is just some head to blow in more ... I love FAT mama bullets
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
1,764 (0.46/day)
Likes
343
Location
Darkness
System Name Unreal Machine III
Processor Intel Core i3 2120 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory Gskill 8GB 1866Mhz Ripjaw CL9
Video Card(s) Saphire HD6950 1GB
Storage Kingston SSD 240GB + 500GB Barracuda 7200.12 + WD 640GB Black eddition + WD 1TB green + 500GB F3
Display(s) HP W2207 22'
Case Termalthake xaser III black
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatal1ty + Creative inpire t7900 7.1
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM 850HP
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software 10 pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage P14042;3DMark 11 P4408; Furmark 1.9 @840 3654
trying to finish it in nightmare difficult .... So easy, there is just some head to blow in more ... I love FAT mama bullets
Ah yeah, who doesnt love fat mama??
It takes a single bullet to do what 2 sniper bullets do, best weapon (pistol with scope) for headshots at close to long range, when we cant see the head anymore then, only then one must use the better scope on the sniper riffle...

Also steel for hordes of zombies and smg feltrite ammo for "cops" and i found the rocket launcher cumbersome and useless and using the crossbow fun...

I just finished the game for the second time in around 15h, first time took 17h, got lost a few times looking for stuff...

The game has some serious graphic glitches, but i do think it looks awesome, very detailed character designs...

Races are a cool add and having to upgrade the rides makes racing even better...
Hunting bandits and jumping around is even more...

I had some fun playing cards too in wellsprings, a shame my cards where on the week side for playing hard...

Overall, i can say i loved the game, it is probably the closest to borderlands i have played on a small scale though...
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
2,680 (0.89/day)
Likes
693
Location
Reaching your left retina.
I just finished the game for the second time in around 15h, first time took 17h, got lost a few times looking for stuff...
I've been hearing that it is very short, but according to your numbers it doesn't look like it is very short, by today's standards. Can you tell me how mch it took you to complete other FPS, i.e HL2, Doom 3, Crysis 1/2, or any other... whichever one you prefer will probably do, I've played many if not most of them. I just want to get an idea of how long it is.

For reference it took me 18h to complete HL2 the first time.
15h to complete Doom 3, Crysis 1 == 13h; Crysis 2 10h, COD4 == 3h.

EDIT: Also if anyone else want to tell me how much it took them I would apreciate it too. I don't think I'll get it because I'm probably getting Skyrim instead, but I might change my mind and buy both. I'm definitely getting Rage when on sale on steam anyway.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,476 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,026
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
My game crashes to desktop after the first video, will the new drivers fix this?
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
My game crashes to desktop after the first video, will the new drivers fix this?
Have you tried disabling one of your cards?
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
1,764 (0.46/day)
Likes
343
Location
Darkness
System Name Unreal Machine III
Processor Intel Core i3 2120 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory Gskill 8GB 1866Mhz Ripjaw CL9
Video Card(s) Saphire HD6950 1GB
Storage Kingston SSD 240GB + 500GB Barracuda 7200.12 + WD 640GB Black eddition + WD 1TB green + 500GB F3
Display(s) HP W2207 22'
Case Termalthake xaser III black
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatal1ty + Creative inpire t7900 7.1
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM 850HP
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software 10 pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage P14042;3DMark 11 P4408; Furmark 1.9 @840 3654
I've been hearing that it is very short, but according to your numbers it doesn't look like it is very short, by today's standards. Can you tell me how mch it took you to complete other FPS, i.e HL2, Doom 3, Crysis 1/2, or any other... whichever one you prefer will probably do, I've played many if not most of them. I just want to get an idea of how long it is.

For reference it took me 18h to complete HL2 the first time.
15h to complete Doom 3, Crysis 1 == 13h; Crysis 2 10h, COD4 == 3h.

EDIT: Also if anyone else want to tell me how much it took them I would apreciate it too. I don't think I'll get it because I'm probably getting Skyrim instead, but I might change my mind and buy both. I'm definitely getting Rage when on sale on steam anyway.
Rage can take more than 15h, if you take your time exploring every inch of the world looking for stuff and collecting cards, i only got like 40% or less of the cards...
Played hl2 dunno for how long because its been long ago...
Same for Doom, Crysis, and i think Crysis 2 was short, but forgot how long...

My game crashes to desktop after the first video, will the new drivers fix this?
I did first playthrough without issues with last ati drivers, then somewhere through second playthrough game broke, i cleaned drivers with driver sweeper, put them back again, and did a clean reinstall of the game and problem fixed...
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,476 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,026
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
Have you tried disabling one of your cards?
No i haven't done that as i don't have CCC installed. I uninstall it after its installed because it conflicts with MSI afterburner argh.

Rage can take more than 15h, if you take your time exploring every inch of the world looking for stuff and collecting cards, i only got like 40% or less of the cards...
Played hl2 dunno for how long because its been long ago...
Same for Doom, Crysis, and i think Crysis 2 was short, but forgot how long...



I did first playthrough without issues with last ati drivers, then somewhere through second playthrough game broke, i cleaned drivers with driver sweeper, put them back again, and did a clean reinstall of the game and problem fixed...
Hmm ok well i will install the latest drivers and see what happens then.

If its just a crossfire issue then that just sux for me.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
No i haven't done that as i don't have CCC installed. I uninstall it after its installed because it conflicts with MSI afterburner argh.

Hmm ok well i will install the latest drivers and see what happens then.

If its just a crossfire issue then that just sux for me.
Don't download the 11.9 set if you intend on playing Rage, download this set.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
11.9 works perfect, all you have to do is put a certain opengl file in the rage installation folder and it will work flawless.

I'm currently running 11.9 with the latest cap profiles and then that file in my RAGE installation. Game is flawless with maxed config/ fov tweak and looks great.

EDIT - Here's the file you need ATI OGL RAGE
 

The_Ish

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
328 (0.13/day)
Likes
43
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 580 DirectCU II
Storage Corsair F120 SSD +9,5TB storage
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64
Benchmark Scores I only care about practical performance.
Until they release official SLI and Crossfire support, temporarily disable multi-gpu. A hassle, but sometimes it's gotta be done.
SLI and Crossfire are still not fully supported in all games, you can blame both the gamedevs and the GPU makers.
It's funny because I thought the exact same thing (try disabling CF). I had just installed some new hard drives and I have to remove the GPU's to get to the SATA connectors. I forgot to click the CF bridge on, so there never was any CF enabled to begin with.
Adding it obviously did absolutely nothing.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
How to I get rid of that horrendous screen tearing?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
1,764 (0.46/day)
Likes
343
Location
Darkness
System Name Unreal Machine III
Processor Intel Core i3 2120 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory Gskill 8GB 1866Mhz Ripjaw CL9
Video Card(s) Saphire HD6950 1GB
Storage Kingston SSD 240GB + 500GB Barracuda 7200.12 + WD 640GB Black eddition + WD 1TB green + 500GB F3
Display(s) HP W2207 22'
Case Termalthake xaser III black
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatal1ty + Creative inpire t7900 7.1
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM 850HP
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software 10 pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage P14042;3DMark 11 P4408; Furmark 1.9 @840 3654
I have always been playing with the 11.10 drivers, the latest, so i dont know how bad it was before, there just remains occasional glitches like redstone character not appearing correctly or one or another issue, nothing serious though...
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
Enable the in game vsync with triple buffering or use d3doverrider
He has an nvidia card. He'll just need to force it from the nv control panel by selecting the exe, then enable triple buffering and forcing vsync. No need for 3rd party apps. Worked for me.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
He has an nvidia card. He'll just need to force it from the nv control panel by selecting the exe, then enable triple buffering and forcing vsync. No need for 3rd party apps. Worked for me.
Ill give that a try... i tried to enable it through the global profile but it did not want to stick.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I have always been playing with the 11.10 drivers, the latest, so i dont know how bad it was before, there just remains occasional glitches like redstone character not appearing correctly or one or another issue, nothing serious though...
preview 3 just came out days ago afaik
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
He has an nvidia card. He'll just need to force it from the nv control panel by selecting the exe, then enable triple buffering and forcing vsync. No need for 3rd party apps. Worked for me.
Say what? Nvidia or ATI should both have the in game option to enable it so why even bother with the nv control panel? With ATI you can also enable vsync/triple buffering in the CCC as it caters for open gl or use 3rd party software such as D3doverrider (if that is your preference).

I was just trying to help out, you know?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
Say what? Nvidia or ATI, in game has the option to enable it so why even bother with the nv control panel, with ATI you can also enable vsync/triple buffering in the CCC as it caters for open gl or use the 3rd party software such as D3doverrider (if that is your preference).

To be honest for a PC user who has such good hardware to be asking such a rudimentary question about vsync its' a bit criminal, but I was just trying to help out you know?
EDIT -
Ill give that a try... i tried to enable it through the global profile but it did not want to stick.
Sorry phanbuey, does it not work in game for Nvidia cards? That seems a bit ridiculous if so.