• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

The RAGE Megathread

Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
So it turns out that Rage was BSODing because I ticked the GX option on my Asus panel sound card; since I unticked it there has been no more crashes. :D
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
So it turns out that Rage was BSODing because I ticked the GX option on my Asus panel sound card; since I unticked it there has been no more crashes. :D
Ah yeah, i have that soundcard too, totally understandable since i also got some weird behavior.


because you are supposed to use that only when playing those games which need the conversion for EAX sound, but Rage is obviously a modern game with OpenAL support.


Can you please post more detailed specs, like motherboard, which asus xonar model you have and Asus Xonar driver version. I'll email carmack about it.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
So the ATI Open GL file that everyone was adding manually, is now obsolete - or at least I assume so because it causes the game to crash.

Adding the line about 0 jobs to your default.cfg seems to help out massively with multiplayer, which will still freeze every two seconds otherwise.

What concerns me is after several months, with two patches, multiple driver releases after the 'rage performance driver'(which I assume are accumulative) and with no special configs overriding the in-game options, it still manages to have performance issues.

With or without Crossfire, it can be solid 60 and then tank to 40 and stay somewhere in between for quite a bit of time - something to do with the rendering system? I question it because when standing still it's 60 constantly and while you always get better frame rate when not moving, you shouldn't lose almost half your performance in motion.
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,088 (0.35/day)
Likes
232
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G1
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-4600U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Intel stock for now
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X DirectCU II OC \\ Intel 4400 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB \\ Micron 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP ZR2440w external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
Movement should decrease your performance. But in half? Thats just bad.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
10
System Name The Xinator
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V-PRO
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance White LP 1600Mhz 1.35v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce OC (Rev 2.0)
Storage OCZ Vector 256GB
Display(s) Hazro HZ27WD(V2) 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200 (V1)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX
Power Supply Antec CP-850
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
I have a horrible issue with texture loading times. As soon as I load into a new area, the textures have to load DURING gameplay. This drops my FPS into single digits until it loads all the textures and then BAM! 60fps, smooth as anything until I get back to a loading screen. The issue is, it takes anytime between 20 seconds to 1 minute dependent on if I have 16x AA on.

This is really getting on my nerves. Any Ideas?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I have a horrible issue with texture loading times. As soon as I load into a new area, the textures have to load DURING gameplay. This drops my FPS into single digits until it loads all the textures and then BAM! 60fps, smooth as anything until I get back to a loading screen. The issue is, it takes anytime between 20 seconds to 1 minute dependent on if I have 16x AA on.

This is really getting on my nerves. Any Ideas?
Did you try to enable GPU Transcoding
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
9
Location
Venezuela
System Name pote
Processor 3570k@4.4
Motherboard gigabyte z77x-ud3h
Cooling hyper212+ +fan
Memory 8gb 1600 corsair vengeance
Video Card(s) amd gigabyte 270x 2gb
Storage crucial m4 64gb raid0, 3x3tb wd green
Display(s) asus ips 24inch 1080p + tv lg 32 inch 768p
Case crappo
Power Supply corsair 550w vx550
Mouse steelseries laser sensei
Keyboard microsoft wireless
Software win10 x64
too much AA

i ran the game perfect with the 2 updates, but also i ahve nvidia cuda (don´t know if that helps) and a ssd, i played with 4xmsaa
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
Everytime I enable V-sync in the Rage options, the game freezes, then I am forced to CTCL, ALT, DEL. Which then brings me to my desktop with a Rage Error message.

Why the he'll is this game SO BUGGY? It's un-playable without V-sync. Setting up the CCC does nothing to resolve this issue. Without V-sync, the game becomes choppy.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
The game is not buggy - the drivers are crap. (Right the opposite: The most bugless game you can get)

You have to force Vsync through CCC ... don't know why installing it would magically fix the issue.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
967 (0.32/day)
Likes
221
System Name El Superbeasto V1.2
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 5.0 ghz
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55
Cooling XSPC Raystorm CPU + 2 RX360 radiator + xspc Razor R9-290 w/ backplate
Memory 16gb G.skill Sniper 1866 ddr3 (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 w/ XSPC Razor full cover block and backplate
Storage Hyper-X 120gb-OS, WD Caviar black 2TB-Steam, Plextor M5S 256gb - MMOs+RTS games
Display(s) Samsung 23" 120hz 3d LCD w/ 3d glasses, using 'lightboost' trick
Case NZXT H630 white watercooling case
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX + Sennheiser HD 598
Power Supply XFX Pro 850 XXX semi-modular
Software Windows 10 Pro (Had some mystery error on Win7 and decided to go W10)
Other than the rough launch, this game has been pretty stable and bug-free for me.
Bad OpenGL drivers from AMD were the problem, and probably still are. It seems that every now and then these clown break their OpenGL.
It's the usual Ati deal: great hardware, bad drivers.

Here's to hoping for a ninja-update. Game was fun, if a bit brief and generic.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Rage plays OK, my only issue is not having the freedom as you do with Skyrim. In Rage theres alot of areas where you can easily go but you are somehow blocked off my an invincible barrier. I cant even jump onto a 1foot hgh ledge in Rage.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Rage plays OK, my only issue is not having the freedom as you do with Skyrim. In Rage theres alot of areas where you can easily go but you are somehow blocked off my an invincible barrier. I cant even jump onto a 1foot hgh ledge in Rage.
Yeah ... totally agreed on that. First thing i ever do in every game is to see where i can go and rage is pretty closed but not as closed as COD.

though i wasn't that bothered about it's definitely not like corridor shooter or somethign tight.

however invisible walls are really annoying, you can't jump on fences and stuff ... that's too much.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
After playing Rage for several days, I am really enjoying it. I've had only 2 crashes and one BSOD. Hopefully AMD will have refined drivers soon to once and for all make this game 110% issue free. I am still having slight sync issues despite enabling V-Sync.

Anyhow love the car game play and the sound of the engine is Kick-Ass... :D
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
What in the name :confused:

I was playing, then all of a sudden the credits come up and the game is over :eek: You got to be kidding me :eek: Dam bloody SHORT..........:mad:
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
I found some info on why the Rage was stuttering. It was the fault of both ID and graphic card companies.
The problem is caused by the game detecting your GPU as having 0 vram. Pretty huge problem that ID let slip by.
Too short? I ws hoping for it to be as long as Fallout 3 or at least alittle shorter than Fallout 3.
When is ID going to release a Rage Expansion Pack :confused:
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
What in the name :confused:

I was playing, then all of a sudden the credits come up and the game is over :eek: You got to be kidding me :eek: Dam bloody SHORT..........:mad:
Oh we do understand ... everyone got through that, you're not the only one :ohwell:
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
Oh we do understand ... everyone got through that, you're not the only one :ohwell:
Darn, and I was really enjoying the game too. If feels like something is missing and/or not done, like the Rage story is not completed. Any info on a possible Expansion Pack continuation?
I hope so. :D
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Bad news ... :(

Carmack finally saw my question and answered it:

Catched him when i checked his twitter mere 10 seconds after he tweeted - caught on it 17:35 CET ... seems to be morning there ... friking timezones.

https://twitter.com/#!/ID_AA_Carmack/status/185754269717250048

So much for good luck optimism there ... this is exactly why i said 1% might not happen but who the hell knew source files weren't in more detail ... that's silly because he's been previously saying totally talking the opposite ?!?!?! It's not like he didn't know this 2 months before release and 2 months after he suddenly knows "oh it doesn't go more than 8k" ... kind of wierd.

Well yeah now we know about that very unclear "source files not much more detail" thing that wasn't sure what exactly he meant.

But i heard a while back that something like this migth be done for Doom 4 - including an idea of delivery which wasn't sure but one of the ideas was "texture streaming from http server"
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Bad news ... :(

Carmack finally saw my question and answered it:

Catched him when i checked his twitter mere 10 seconds after he tweeted - caught on it 17:35 CET ... seems to be morning there ... friking timezones.

https://twitter.com/#!/ID_AA_Carmack/status/185754269717250048

So much for good luck optimism there ... this is exactly why i said 1% might not happen but who the hell knew source files weren't in more detail ... that's silly because he's been previously saying totally talking the opposite ?!?!?! It's not like he didn't know this 2 months before release and 2 months after he suddenly knows "oh it doesn't go more than 8k" ... kind of wierd.

Well yeah now we know about that very unclear "source files not much more detail" thing that wasn't sure what exactly he meant.

But i heard a while back that something like this migth be done for Doom 4 - including an idea of delivery which wasn't sure but one of the ideas was "texture streaming from http server"
Hate to say I told ya so......but I told ya so.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
Bad news ... :(

Carmack finally saw my question and answered it:

Catched him when i checked his twitter mere 10 seconds after he tweeted - caught on it 17:35 CET ... seems to be morning there ... friking timezones.

https://twitter.com/#!/ID_AA_Carmack/status/185754269717250048

So much for good luck optimism there ... this is exactly why i said 1% might not happen but who the hell knew source files weren't in more detail ... that's silly because he's been previously saying totally talking the opposite ?!?!?! It's not like he didn't know this 2 months before release and 2 months after he suddenly knows "oh it doesn't go more than 8k" ... kind of wierd.

Well yeah now we know about that very unclear "source files not much more detail" thing that wasn't sure what exactly he meant.

But i heard a while back that something like this migth be done for Doom 4 - including an idea of delivery which wasn't sure but one of the ideas was "texture streaming from http server"
In other words, console ports to PC once again screwed PC gamers from quality graphics. Right :mad:
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,583 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,915
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
I'm close to beating this.. I think?.. lol but so far I think it's a great game.. Once I used Steam Mover to move the game files from my 3x 250GB Raid0 (159 read and write) to my Intel 40GB SSD (200 Read 40 write).. It was like night and day! The texture popin was so bad on my old drives.. So, I had to do something to stop that popin.. I noticed the internal benchmark only tested texture read speed from the drive.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
Having trouble getting a few console commands to work such as God mode and Infinite Ammo.
I am using the correct variables - it simply does not flag anything in-game.

I read somewhere after a patch, the cheat codes stopped working, however I'm on version 1.0.0.1
Is that not default?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
some stuff was disabled because of issues but i think it was re-enabled in next patch, I was in it but now i just don't recall anymore, i'm very busy with all the WiiU discussions, and SC2Hots stuff, probably getting in beta soon as the original game.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
I'm close to beating this.. I think?.. lol but so far I think it's a great game.. Once I used Steam Mover to move the game files from my 3x 250GB Raid0 (159 read and write) to my Intel 40GB SSD (200 Read 40 write).. It was like night and day! The texture popin was so bad on my old drives.. So, I had to do something to stop that popin.. I noticed the internal benchmark only tested texture read speed from the drive.
I had that on my 570GTX but i fixed it with this autoexec.cfg, some lines might not work, but overall I got the effected I wanted.

First I've set desired config (dont change after or it conflicts with autoexec)

then added this autoexec.cfg

Code:
//main settings

seta fc_maxcachememoryMB "2048"
seta com_videoRam "1280"     //your vram size




//Virtual Textures

seta vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 "16384"
seta vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly "16384"
seta vt_pageimagesizeunique "16384"   ///lower to 8192 if you're running out of vram 
seta vt_pageimagesizevmtr "16384"
seta vt_qualityhdplossless "1"
seta vt_qualityhdppower "0"
seta vt_qualityhdpspecular "0"
seta vt_qualityhdpnormal "0"
seta vt_qualityhdpdiffuse "0"
seta vt_qualitydctpower "100"
seta vt_qualitydctspecular "100"
seta vt_qualitydctnormal "100"
seta vt_qualitydctchroma "100"
seta vt_qualitydctluma "100"
seta vt_usecudatranscode "2"
seta vt_cudaBudget "256"
seta vt_maxppf "512"
seta vt_maxlockedpages "1024"
seta vt_maxaniso "12"
seta vt_uncompressedvmtr "1"
seta vt_preload "1"
seta vt_vmtrcompression "none" //HDP DXT DCT
vt_restart




//Renderer

g_fov 95
r_gamma "0.88"
seta r_shadows "1" //default
seta r_displayRefresh "0" //default
seta r_multiSamples "4"
seta jobs_numthreads "2" 



//Image

seta image_preload "1"
seta image_blend "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"
seta image_filter "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"
seta image_anisotropy "12"
seta image_usecompression "0"
seta image_screenshotquality "100"
vid_restart
and add this to Rage.exe shortcut;
Rage.exe +seta com_AllowConsole 1 +seta com_SkipIntroVideo 1 +seta mem_phymemblocksizem "2048" +exec "autoexec.cfg"


Although i didnt try this after 1.2 patch and texture sharpening pack.