• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The RTX features are not working on my Gigabyte Gaming OC 4090

Rbk_3

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
29 (0.04/day)
No games have DLSS or Raytracing settings. 3DMark Port Royal says my PC is unable to run this test. You need a graphics card with drivers that support Direct X Raytracing to run this test. Obviously I am on the latest driver.

I tried DDUing, then reinstalling Windows again with no luck.

Everything else is running fine.



310496134_797455711309316_58171218943581966_n.png
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
14,940 (2.40/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
There must have been something wrong with the driver installation.
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
11,801 (3.89/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Processor Ryzen 5600 at 4.7 all core ($130)
Motherboard MSI B550-VC Pro ($109)
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140 ($43)
Memory T-Force Vulcan Z 3200 CL16 4x8GB ($84)
Video Card(s) MSI 6800 XT Trio Z ($540)
Storage Kingston KC3000 1TB ($90)
Display(s) NZXT 27" Canvas 2560x1440 IPS 165hz ($145)
Case Corsair 110q ($60)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 DAC ($100) - Logitech 400w THX 2.1 ($85)
Power Supply Corsair RM 850w Gold ($105)
Mouse Razer Naga X ($40)
Keyboard Anne Pro 2 ($40)
Software Windows 11 ($10)
Benchmark Scores $1,581
I would recommend a clean driver install of the gpu drivers and your chipset drivers for the cpu, reboot on both, make sure OS is fully updated, and if that doesn't fix it, not sure. Maybe you even have an unstable ram OC or something?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
14,940 (2.40/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
What windows version are you running?
Also is your windows OS fully updated?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,873 (3.34/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4 x 8GB SR Samsung B-Die) @ DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850W T2
Mouse Steelseries Prime Wireless
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Make sure you are using the latest nvidia drivers.
 

3x0

Joined
Oct 6, 2022
Messages
296 (2.49/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard MSI MPG B550I Gaming Edge Wi-Fi ITX
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2 rev. B Noctua NF-A12x25 Edition
Memory 2x16GiB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4 3200Mb/s CL14 F4-3200C14D-32GTZKW
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX6600XT Gaming OC Pro 8G Noctua NF-A12x25 Edition
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 WDS100T1X0E-00AFY0 1TiB, Western Digital Blue 3D WDS200T2B0A 2TiB
Display(s) ASUS VG259QM 25” IPS 1080P 240Hz
Case Cooler Master NR200P ITX
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing 220, HyperX Cloud
Power Supply Seasonic Focus SGX 500W SFX
Mouse Glorious Model O-
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins Aqua
Make sure you are using the latest nvidia drivers.
If he didn't use the latest drivers he wouldn't have been able to install them for the 4090 in the first place...
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
11,801 (3.89/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Processor Ryzen 5600 at 4.7 all core ($130)
Motherboard MSI B550-VC Pro ($109)
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140 ($43)
Memory T-Force Vulcan Z 3200 CL16 4x8GB ($84)
Video Card(s) MSI 6800 XT Trio Z ($540)
Storage Kingston KC3000 1TB ($90)
Display(s) NZXT 27" Canvas 2560x1440 IPS 165hz ($145)
Case Corsair 110q ($60)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 DAC ($100) - Logitech 400w THX 2.1 ($85)
Power Supply Corsair RM 850w Gold ($105)
Mouse Razer Naga X ($40)
Keyboard Anne Pro 2 ($40)
Software Windows 11 ($10)
Benchmark Scores $1,581
There is an option when you are installing Nvidia drivers, to "clean install/factory reset" and you need to select that option when installing a whole new archetecture like Ada (the 4090).

He says he did a clean OS install though in original post, so I honestly have no idea at this point.

Maybe the power supply is not strong enough so it is not reading it right? What power supply are you using and is the GPU fully connected? Are you using one of those 4 in 1 adapters the reference models have?
 

Rbk_3

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
29 (0.04/day)
Ok so something very interesting.

This was a fresh install on a brand new Samsung 980 Pro I bought along side the card.
I tried my old windows install on a 970 Evo and everything works fine. This is very strange.


Everything is up to date on the new Windows install. Could it have something to do with the 980 being Gen 4 and the 970 being Gen 3? 980 is in the top m.2 slot and the 970 is in the 2nd?






There is an option when you are installing Nvidia drivers, to "clean install/factory reset" and you need to select that option when installing a whole new archetecture like Ada (the 4090).

He says he did a clean OS install though in original post, so I honestly have no idea at this point.

Maybe the power supply is not strong enough so it is not reading it right? What power supply are you using and is the GPU fully connected? Are you using one of those 4 in 1 adapters the reference models have?
It is a brand new 1600 EVGA P2. I am using the 4 8pin adapter that came with the card
 
Last edited:
  • Wow
Reactions: 3x0
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,873 (3.34/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4 x 8GB SR Samsung B-Die) @ DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850W T2
Mouse Steelseries Prime Wireless
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
If he didn't use the latest drivers he wouldn't have been able to install them for the 4090 in the first place...
You can but you have to really be forceful. It's basically only possible with nvcleanstall. Still wanted to rule it out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3x0

Rbk_3

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
29 (0.04/day)
So update. I have 2 Gen 4 NVME drives and installed windows on both and RTX features work on neither. I have 2 Gen 3 drives and RTX works fine on both of those. I also borrowed my buddies 3060 and it has the same issues.

Has to be my motherboard probably?
 

panjandrum

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2023
Messages
2 (0.22/day)
Did you figure this out? Just got a gigabyte 4090. Also installed on a 980 pro. And no ray tracing!
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
23,800 (3.73/day)
Location
Washington
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) 3x Gigabyte M28U (4k IPS)
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Hel 2 on ATH-R70x's
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO (White)
Keyboard Ducky One 3 Pure White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
I run a 980pro and have never had such an issue.

Make sure:

You are using the clean install option.

You are using the latest nvidia drivers

You are NOT using nvcleaninstall (to rule out 3rd party weirdness)

Your OS is upto date

3dmark is upto date
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
11,801 (3.89/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Processor Ryzen 5600 at 4.7 all core ($130)
Motherboard MSI B550-VC Pro ($109)
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140 ($43)
Memory T-Force Vulcan Z 3200 CL16 4x8GB ($84)
Video Card(s) MSI 6800 XT Trio Z ($540)
Storage Kingston KC3000 1TB ($90)
Display(s) NZXT 27" Canvas 2560x1440 IPS 165hz ($145)
Case Corsair 110q ($60)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 DAC ($100) - Logitech 400w THX 2.1 ($85)
Power Supply Corsair RM 850w Gold ($105)
Mouse Razer Naga X ($40)
Keyboard Anne Pro 2 ($40)
Software Windows 11 ($10)
Benchmark Scores $1,581
When I installed Gforce Experiance along with the driver it solved the issue for some reason

main thing is its fixed, lol
 

panjandrum

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2023
Messages
2 (0.22/day)
When I installed Gforce Experiance along with the driver it solved the issue for some reason
Well I tried that late last night, complete removal of all nvidia stuff and reinstallation but still the same. So weird, guess I'll keep trying.. Thanks

I run a 980pro and have never had such an issue.

Make sure:

You are using the clean install option.

You are using the latest nvidia drivers

You are NOT using nvcleaninstall (to rule out 3rd party weirdness)

Your OS is upto date

3dmark is upto date
Thanks, as you say it must be a software thing but I can't get it to work yet. Such a new computer, always teething troubles! But as they go, could be worse, heh.
 
Top