1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The show off your tech related purchase thread

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by Recon-UK, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,328 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,520
    Bought my hubby a 500GB Samsung 850EVO for his beeday :)

    me good waifu
     

    Attached Files:

    AsRock, Komshija, stinger608 and 2 others say thanks.
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,721 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Location:
    What my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    remixedcat says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,328 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,520
    Thanks I allready have one in my main rig and my hubby desperatly needed this bc he's running on a 840 from 2012 that's only 120GB and it's acting fucky so.... and his game storage was only a 250GB WD HDD from 2008 .
     
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,721 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Location:
    What my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    I got a 840 evo 250gb in my Lenovo ThinkPad E540 laptop works wonders and 850 and 960 evo in my main rig.
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6,009 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,255
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    the SSD upgrade to a Laptop is IMO/IME the absolute Best performance upgrade that can be made for a laptop, short of buying a better laptop. its like night and day. I always get a kick out of watching peoples faces when i Swap their HDD for a SSD in their old laptops.
     
    ShurikN, remixedcat, puma99dk| and 2 others say thanks.
  6. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,605 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    good riddance for that p.o.s

    i use a Xbone classic ... well the best PC gamepad was the X360 original ... no wonder the XBone and Elite version are still "the only one" worth it.

    actually something surprise me ....
    that's way too long for a Razer product .... did you strike a deal with Razer, to have a product from them that did actually hold that much? (specially with "intensive abuse" since most of their product don't hold more than half their warranty with "normal use" personal experience :laugh: ) i ask because i only did find that in the hand of "sponsored" player and reviewer ... (or i guess i am just extra unlucky ... at last that's what i would think ... if i was alone :roll: )

    pretty please .... pics in thumbnails :oops: (actually not only you ..... readability FTW :cry: )




    as for me ... well couldn't resist ... 219chf, promo price 189chf minus 50% carrier bonus (still keeping a prepaid card ) = 94,50chf ....

    if i pass the Snapdragon 430 ( Qualcomm is always synonymy of overheating .... not matter what) that phone is a "instant" success from HMD Global, unibody aluminum (excellent build, with almost invisible plastic part for the top/bottom antennas) ok only 5,2" anmd 720p (tho, seriously who need more than 720p up to 5,5" and 1080p above 5,5 and up to 13" ... ) 2gb RAM and 16gb storage,2gb RAM is not an issue ... actually 3GB and above is non-required for 95% of the phones, some user would scream "but but but when i had 1/2gb RAM it was always used up to 75-80% ... so the RAM was lacking" well ... true ... but with 3 or 4gb the usage is the same ... Android RAM management is different, and 16gb storage neither is an issue, not with a 128gb uSD ... (up to 256gb nonetheless) and Android N giving the possibility to shift the main storage from internal to SD.

    pure stock android no bullshit bloatware or overlay (EMUI was good tho) latest security patch from 1st August 2017 (only the Nexus and Pixel got it at the same time) and bound to get Android O faster than any other manufacturer (aside from Nexus and Pixel ofc ... tho you can bet it will be at the same time)

    yep a Nokia 5 (got it last saturday, only 1 in stock and the other weren't listed, plus the Nokia 6 wasn't different enough, appart +0.3",+3mp rear cam, 1080p and 16gb more while keeping the same SOC to warrant 40chf more)
    IMG_20170809_043019.jpg IMG_20170809_043009.jpg Screenshot_20170809-043049.png

    HMD Nokia finally did it!
     
    AsRock, puma99dk| and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,721 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Location:
    What my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    @jboydgolfer yeh for most of them it brings them back to life, even a good strong hdd can do that I tried that with a couple of HGST Travelstar 500GB/1TB with 7200rpm and 32mb cache they were replacing shdd's and they kicked ass.


    @GreiverBlade nice a new Nokia plz tell how it is, I hoped that when Nokia finally got into the Android game that they might get back to be a good and stable phone with some sort of surprise.
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,605 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    very agreeable on daily usage, quality build is as i already wrote but i could add it's way higher than what you expect on a handset at 219chf .... my Honor 6X was 249chf and while it had a better SOC/dual camera/bigger screen + FHD/ 1gb RAM and 16gb storage more, it had some downside: the build was not unibody aluminum there was a lot more plastic and the one covering the antennas was not discreet at all (on the N5 you don't even see it unless you put it in full light) the only things that make it feel like a middle range phone (what it is nonetheless) is the Snapdragon SD430 and the HD 5.2 screen (tho 720p on 5.2" is sharp enough but i already submitted my opinion on screen sizes and resolutions :laugh: )

    good and stable yep ... pure stock Android N with the latest security patch, it heat a bit during charging and sometime gets quite warm on heavy tasks but it's Qualcomm's fault and not HMD :laugh: although ultra smooth and snappy in daily operation i have yet to find any stuttering or lag ( the 2gb RAM is not really a cons) and from what i saw Nokia's handset line will get updates almost like the Nexus and Pixel's line from google, call quality is good enough if not excellent, signal reception is good too (i live in a mountain area)

    like what? a review (on a french site that i slightly hate) labeled the Nokia 5 as "meh and bland" while i qualify it of "pure beauty" for it's flawless design, one cons they've put was about the fingerprint scanner, that they found slow ... if's less than 0,5sec is slow ... they have brainlag ... nearly all the other scanner have the same delay (my Honor 6X was not slower nor faster) tho the position is a little odd for me .... i, for long, preferred the back scanner that you mainly use with the index (nope not the positioning from the Galaxy S8 .... that one is unpractical ... ) but i got used pretty quick for the Nokia 5 (bottom front, home button with Scanner ) in addition i have to say that i am happy to finally get a phone that does not have onscreen navbar :laugh:


    i wanted Nokia back and HMD did a good job

    actually line is seen as: Nokia 3 Nokia 5 Nokia 6 for the low-mid, mid and high-mid range (the Nokia 3 use a MTK SOC and will get updates a little later than the 5 and 6),

    to come: Nokia 2 (with a Qualcomm SOC) and Nokia 8
    previously the Nokia 9, with a SD 835, they renamed it to 8 because it will probably be the 1st phone to get Android 8.0.0 right out of the box, i
    f it's around 500€ as rumored ... it's quite good ... it has the same specs of many flagship that cost 900+, overpriced crap tho .... most of the time .... you know, Samsung or Apple. (i only hate some brand for their pricing, they have nothing to back up the overprice but fans still follow them blindly ... when some other brand do better than that and are reasonably priced )

    edit: does not have USB-C can be a cons (not really .... Micro USB is a little more practical nowadays ... with one micro USB cable you cover almost all your devices, no phone use the 3.0 less the 3.1 version and even Micro USB can be reversible, tho the Nokia 8 will have USB-C )

    also that's the 1st time i can say "the manufacturer description is true"
    https://www.nokia.com/en_int/phones/nokia-5
    usually you feel them over exaggerating the quality and features of their product but in the N5 case it's astonishing how much true it is (funny point ... i am an ex ice hockey player ... i played for 13yrs in my hometown local team ... and the product page has a lot of hockey related pics :laugh: )

    also i want to add, the only letdown of that handset is the handsfree kit ... it's utterly pathetic but no real issues as i have a sport wireless handsfree kit, and the sound is great with BT or the onboard speaker,
    last but not least, the screen as an excellent readability in direct sunlight.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017
    puma99dk| and Athlonite say thanks.
  9. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,512 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,128
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    I guess i am too lucky, that Razer Controller didn't have a good time in my hands.

    Probably.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2017
  10. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,605 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    probably not ... rather :p ... you are just the 3rd person i heard/read that had no issue with a p.o.s product from that p.o.s brand ... (well yours did still fails something .... : the price :laugh: )

    don't quote only a part :p quote the whole truth :


    except one Boomslang, Diamondback and a Copperhead no Razer peripheral did hold more than half it's warranty (actually their 3 first product were good ... and then : down the drain )

    self quoting ...
    i can also add a mousepad : Destructor .... adequately named since it self destructed (surface falling apart and not user fault ... since with the same setup and a Roccat Siru, no issues in years, same with my Alumic )

    ah i can add another to the 3 mouses that were good from Razer: a mouse bungee.... obviously Razer wouldn't fail that .... it's too simple to make (tho they still overpriced it and it has no extra compared to what other brand do)

    WD Element 1TB for 30$? bnib? not a bad deal... and got a 10,000mAh 36Wh powerbank for 20~
    IMG_20170810_134817.jpg IMG_20170810_135010.jpg IMG_20170810_134947.jpg

    yep the best ever ... although .... i would gladly upgrade it to a Elite .... but i wait on promotion :p (tho its totally worth the 125~ chf my retailer ask)
    IMG_20170810_134921.jpg
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  11. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,721 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Location:
    What my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    Something for my special girls rig that already is rocking a Xeon E3-1225v3, MSI Z97i Gaming-AC, Mushkin Redline 16gb 2400mhz, 2xWD SE 500gb:

    20795012_10212027337812538_1176267284_o.jpg

    Sadly the SC version wasn't in stock, it's gonna replace her KFA2 GTX 960 2GB she uses now hooked up to her HP 24inch IPS 60hz.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,497 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    496
    I don't think that 4GB would make any difference in the resolution and detail setting you will be using this card.
     
  13. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,169 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    My latest purchases.

    IMG_0652.JPG IMG_0680.JPG
     
    AsRock and MIRTAZAPINE say thanks.
  14. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,721 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Location:
    What my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    These ain't the best pics I know that, but I didn't have a cable for my iphone so had to transfer them over fb :banghead:

    It's nice to see this small card ships with a zero fan idling mode now in the start EVGA didn't make that.
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB.jpg

    The card only thing that's disappointing is no backplate but still looks nice and has a black pcb at least :rockout:

    20841283_10212033901256620_1589189748_o.jpg

    20795235_10212033901376623_944992549_o.jpg

    20795010_10212033901776633_1966871937_o.jpg

    20793915_10212033902136642_1562489444_o.jpg

    I am thinking about making flashing it to the SC version or maybe just make a custom profile on my special girls pc so she can have the speed dump it gives even I doubt that 1607mhz vs 1506 on the core makes a huge difference:nutkick:
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,605 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    ordered yesterday received this morning (Saturday)

    Ravpower 30W dual turbo charger
    dual USB A port (blue light) Quick Charge 3.0 & iSmart 2.0
    range: 5V / 2.4A, 9V / 2A, 12V / 2A

    28chf
    IMG_20170812_122516.jpg IMG_20170812_122540.jpg IMG_20170812_122602.jpg IMG_20170812_122609.jpg

    now i can charge my Nokia 5 (in QC3.0) and Sony Smartwatch 3 at the same time :D (or my Xtorm Fuel Bank 4X )

    funny thing ... the Odroid-C2 can use either micro USB or a standard jack for power .... i've found that in my drawer (it's a powerbrick i have since years ... it was for a Palm Tungsten E) exactly the right specification for the device :D (tested)
    IMG_20170812_131059.jpg IMG_20170812_131123.jpg
    now i can remove the jumper that switch the micro "USB" from power to "Host"
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
    Norton, puma99dk| and AsRock say thanks.
  16. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,721 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Location:
    What my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    Looks like this EVGA GTX 1060 6GB doesn't love the 100% power limit doing Unigine's Superpostion benchmark the core clock is all over the place but averages out better at 116% power limit and gives a better score.

    Stock clocks at 100% power limit the GPU boot clocks jumps from 1683 to 1873mhz a lot and don't wanna settle down:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB stock clocks 100procent powerlimit.png

    with the power limit raised to 116% and at stock speeds it actually settles down at around 1823mhz and delivers a higher score:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB stock clocks 116procent powerlimit core 1823mhz.png


    Same story if I clock the card from 1506/2002mhz to the clocks of the SC version that's 1607/2002mhz.

    Jumping from 1734 to 1974mhz a lot more than I feel like it should:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB SC clocks 100procent powerlimit core.png

    SC clocks with power limit at 116% it's more stable at 1898mhz even it starts out at 1974mhz:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB SC clocks 116procent powerlimit core.png
     
    ensabrenoir and GreiverBlade say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,605 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    seriously ... can't the pics be in thumbnail :p pretty please ... clicking for full size (or even resized) is a little more practical than having them directly in full size for readability (and not taking the whole screen with just a few pics :D )
     
  18. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,721 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Location:
    What my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    oh didn't realize ur screen resolution was stock in 2010 xD I will try to remember that when pics gets above 768p ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,605 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    pffffff .... i didn't meant 1 pics used the whole screen, but a flood of them make the post annoying :p

    see :p
     
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,806 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,005
    Location:
    London,UK
    Not home yet but i forked out for some Corsair ML140 pros in white
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Vya Domus

    Vya Domus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    971 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Mess with the frequency/voltage curve and you can make it pretty much 100% stable. My 1060 runs at 2139 mhz constantly and that's with a blower cooler. The stock curve is seriously underwhelming , these chips can hold on to much higher clocks.
    Also give it a +500 on the memory , pretty much all 1060 reach 9Gbps no problem.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017
  22. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,721 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Location:
    What my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
    @Vya Domus

    I started getting a limit flashing with msi afterburner overlay in fallout 4 but I never got this during futuremark superposition doe or with me gtx 1070 o_O
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Vya Domus

    Vya Domus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    971 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Hmm , never seen anything like that , maybe it is some kind of feature on afterbuner to notify you when the card hits certain power/temp/load limits ?
     
  24. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,081 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,588
    Location:
    US
    Just a few little bits here and there, got sick of having to get behind the speakers to cange from one reciever to the other and there was all the wire too.

    So got 2 little boxes and connected each AV to each so now i just swap the plugs over for which AMP\AV i want to use. I do really Like my Marantz but it don't have the Cannoli's that my NAD has, so now it's just unplug from one box and plug in tot he other and done.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. GeoDragon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    33 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    NC

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)