1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,005 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,239
    Location:
    London,UK
    yeah - hes tight with his money so he only runs the trial version and reinstalls it everytime it runs out
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Hmmm... shouldn't limit the functionality of it though. I dunno, I don't use any AV anymore.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,565 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I surfed the net or about 9 months without an AV, and I had someone who "knows the lot" tell me "you're stupid! I'll put money on you being infected!"

    I should have took that bet.
     
  4. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    ^^
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Um, MSE......
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,005 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,239
    Location:
    London,UK
    Nah - I live by Kaspersky. they have served me well for many years. and they are by far better then Norton. I feel homesick when i use a different firewall/AV package
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,619 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    970
    Location:
    London, UK
    nope, no issues Using KIS or KAV

    They are fine, for the price i get a 5 user lisence it is the best protection money can buy, I dont download heavy PRONZ or what ever but for moderate/heavy browsing it is the best for me, i find NOD32 and other shit very unreliable and prone to lots infections, Kaspersky has never let me down to date. I do agree in recent years it has slightly bloated but the 2011 package has beaten anything i have thrown at it over the last 3-4 years

    I really wonder what you recomend as an alternative, but what ever it is, I can assure you it will be far more expensive :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,656 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,981
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I use free AVG for antivirus and free Commodo for firewall, all I can say is that in the 3 years I have used it I have never contracted any nasty disease :cool:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    You know when you feel like you are being ignored and yet you have perfectly valid input :rolleyes: M to the S to the E. Never had any nasties, updates automatically, can use as much or as little CPU as you wish and offers real time protection which actually works. Also, hasn't affected any games I've played at all. It's free and automatically makes windows defender redundant. Beautiful.:)
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  10. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    We supply MSE for customers with warranties longer than 4 years. We only ever supply Kaspersky when asked. As I have to deal with Kaspersky (Norton and McAfee) issues on a daily basis it only reaffirms my grounding that NOD32 is the best AV out there.

    MSE is a fantastic free AV - as LifeOnMars has stated. It's light-weight, intrusiveness and updates are prompts. It may not be as comprehensive as say free AVG but I sure as hell have less problems with it than I do with AVG.

    We've actually started supplying AVG to customers due to the fact it's one of the only AVs that do 3 year licences. Personally I hate it. False positives galore (same with Kaspersky). F-Secure isn't a bad AV when configured correctly but previous versions were terrible.

    Bottom line is - NOD32 has yet to be beaten in my personal & professional experience. MSE is a fantastic free AV. Malwarebytes is an essential removal tool. Simple. As. That.

    :p
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I can second malwarebytes. A nice bit of software which does what it's meant to without being obtrusive. What alot of people don't realise is that once properly configured this software should not have any impact on any of your daily computing tasks at all. Just take the time to configure it.
     
  12. Ra97oR

    Ra97oR

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    381 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,565 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    You'd be surprised how many people actually believe it's an anti-virus program that runs in the background :shadedshu
    I fixed someone's rig the other day who had 4 antivirus's running at the same time (MSE, AVG, Some Panda thing and also Windows Defender Service still running). I deactivated/uninstalled the AV's then cleaned a ton of viruses of his rig :shadedshu:shadedshu
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    LOL! The ignorant ay?

    If you buy Malwarebytes it becomes a fully fledged IS package.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I can only go by the 2500k i'm running at the moment which runs very cool, even when heavily overclocked. I understand the 2600Ks do run hotter due to the hyperthreading but even so, that cooler should be more than sufficient. You will love the speed....they fly :)
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,005 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,239
    Location:
    London,UK
    Next step for me would definitely be a i7 2600k. I could go for a i5 2500k but. i dont know, for my sort of usage, a superclocked 2500k would probably suit my needs more then perfectly. but i still want extra cores anyway. Back in the day i used to convert a lot of videos and music - now days, not so much, the 2600 would be pretty overkill for me.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'm trying so hard to hold out until Bulldozer and even after all the introductory boards have been released and 'all' the bugs ironed out, this rig (if I don't find some chump willing to buy it) will have to last me. I'm going to have to purchase another HDD and get some RAID lovin' on the go, but I need more storage not necessarily more I/O performance.

    Would love an mATX Sandy Bridge based rig though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,005 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,239
    Location:
    London,UK
    whats your vantage GPU P-score?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I don't run pointless benchmarks anymore - it was fun with my AGP rigs but now I don't get any enjoyment out of 'em.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,005 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,239
    Location:
    London,UK
    I want to go compare :}) against my crossfired 5850s, I never knew you bought a second one for crossfire

    [​IMG]
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Ra97oR

    Ra97oR

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    381 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    B3 motherboards are coming out soon. Might as well get one of them.
     
  22. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I don't have the money for a new rig unless I sold (the majority of) this one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Ra97oR

    Ra97oR

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    381 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,005 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,239
    Location:
    London,UK
    One of my dads DDR400 Modules just died.

    does anyone have a spare DDR PC3200 kits going cheap or at least knows of anyone thats is selling some cheap?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Ra97oR

    Ra97oR

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    381 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I do have a DDR 1 machine back home, not sure if the ram are still working. And IIRC they are DDR333 anyway.

    I think I am gonna hold off buying Sandy first, until seeing how good Bulldozer perform in CeBit.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)