1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    boxes?
     
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Ra97oR

    Ra97oR

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    381 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    The boxes are either headphone amps or DACs and stuff like that.
     
  4. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    oh oooh thoooose boxes lol I've always used a Tascam USB interface (US-122) so I was blissfully unaware of the term "boxes"!

    If they're USB, and don't run through the sound card then it's obvious why people use them lol if they're just running through your sound card then I agree - what on earth would the point be?

    How does yours run Ra97or? USB?
     
  5. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Cheers scam!
    i thought i had a result when i won 2x1gb sticks on ebay for £5 inc p+p then when i looked properly i realised it was 533mhz ddr2 gaah
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,666 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,594
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Really? you need to get behind the wheel of an XF, I used to have an S Type and trust me, the difference is like driving a tractor in comparision to a Suzuki..... the tractor wins every time!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Ra97oR

    Ra97oR

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    381 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Its a class A amp, nothing to do with a dac. I feed signal into it through a modded Essence ST.
     
  8. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I think that's still a good deal, as long as it works :p Be good for upgrading a customers OEM rig that's only got 2 mobo slots...

    I'd love to drive an XF, the S-Type blew me away but didn't quite have the "pushed back in your seat" effect. I'm just about to have a look at what the Top Gear twats say about the XF and the S. Dunno why, I think driving one has got me interested lol
    I missed out on driving a Bentley the other week :( That would have been nice

    I believe that it sounds good, but I hate ASUS :laugh: You interested in valve amps? My Dad's got loads of valve based equipment, I'm trying to see whether it's worth chucking anything for sale here (none of us can sell on ebay).
     
  9. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    reported mr. bad trader...
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2011
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  10. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    If a tv doesn't have HD freeview i would pass. Those cheap tvs have terrible panels. Full HD pretty much means nothing because HD tv is broadcast in 720p and it most depends on the quality of the panel the black levels and white levels.

    Here's a x4 955 for £58.73. If i was building a cheap system seems decent. Sandybridges might be better but those x4s and x6s still do everything fine.
    http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B002TQYUAE/?tag=tec053-21

    EDIT: Here i tried BC2 and its not half bad, its hard to keep up with the veteran players but i think I'll get better. Time Battlefield 3 rolls i will have had some practise. I don't mind dying a lot as long as they are dying a lot too so its kinda even which it seems on BC2.
     
  11. Ra97oR

    Ra97oR

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    381 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Not a fan of valves at all, haven't found a single one that I like. Too much distortion because of their physical limitation.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  12. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    the 955 overclocks pretty well too,better than the 965 and 970 for the most part,60 for 4x4ghz seems reasonable as most games dont fully utilise 4 cores yet.

    Valves rock!
    the ouput transformer Will cause distortion at the higher ouput levels due to saturation but the distortion in mid and tops is soo sweet compared to a transistor amp going squared.
    valve bass is the best sound in the world!well next to a lady making nice sounds in your ear :)
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I use near-field reference monitors, can't remember the last time I heard distortion :p
     
  14. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Since as long as i can remember i have messed around with music, and once it was mastered i would hook it up to a tube amp to see how it rocks when at full chat.
    they are still used in nearly every studio in the world today to add warmth too,digital is too cold!
    of course it doesn't make me right,just stuck in my ways :)
     
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Where's the S-type now?

    Is that tech speak for good?

    i now have a ps3 :D:D:D
     
  16. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
  17. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    i don't have any of the new high tech 'digital amplifiers' just really old ones

    I only bought a PS3 a few hours ago and i'm already getting stressed out over the lack of PSN
     
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,877 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,899
    Location:
    London,UK
    as a guitarist. i don't play anything else other then valve amps. if you think you got something worth selling. throw it up and lets see it. some vintage amps sound amazing
     
    cheesy999 and scaminatrix say thanks.
  19. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    yea class A just means that the amps circuit is always running at full duty,the volume control is just acting as a clutch - that is pretty much the easiest way i can think to describe it.

    freedom what amps do you favour?
    my brother sold his bassman 135 (plus 2 twin 15 cabs)on ebay a few months ago for 200 the fool!
    apparently psn is back next week cheesy,so i read anyway.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,666 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,594
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Part ex'd it for the XF 2 years ago.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Doesn't matter anyway, i have no games and no PSN but unlike the Xbox i have an internet browser and Mouse and keyboard sopport, i'm posting from a ps3 connected to an old dell keyboard - so i basicly have a One of those PC's that you connect to your PC (htpc or whatever- i can't remeber) - excpet this does games - i honestly can't believe i was insulting ps3's earlier today

    @freedom: you all know my vintage sony by now (best sound from an amp i've ever heard and i have a habit of going round electronic stores and trying out their kit just to waste time), and anyway, i'm in the market for buying, not selling at the moment (one for my PC, and now one for my PS3, would do quite well


    Is there anyway of installing ps3 os on a pc cause i like the way i can do everything with only a keyboard
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,877 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,899
    Location:
    London,UK
    my overall favorite has to be a fender hotrod deluxe. i used it for most of my studio recordings and live shows. some vintage 1973 marshall. and the odd all valve vox amps before they started going half digital. i currently have a peavy valve king series amp
     
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    i don't use recording's, i use mine for cd's and Ipod/Phone playback - (and i'm not an idiotic 128kbit mp3 user - 320kbit aac for my local files and 3xx/160kbit AAC for my streaming files (spotify premium depending on the platform)
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,877 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,899
    Location:
    London,UK
    Well i'm talking guitar amps not amps you would get with a 7.1 home entertainment surround sound kit
     
  25. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    It's 40 years old, forget sorround sound i don't think it knows what digital is

    But yes I do know there are some diffrences between a guitar amp and a. Hi-fi amp
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)