1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,570 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Headphones...

    Hell DVD all the way! You can't watch good films/TV with headphones. It's just not cricket.
     
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Niiiice, but the Raven 2's better :p muuuch bigger though from what I've seen...
    What appeals to you about the Raven 1, just out of interest?
     
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    you'd be surprised, get some good headphones, a decently long cable, and plug it in to the headphone socket , i've re-watched some movies with headphones and you just notice so many things you don't normally (Scott pilgrims a great example, you notice so many background sounds that add to the atmosphere you just don't on a surround system)

    that said i'm being pushed towards DVD as its half the price

    Also i'm a bit of a headphones person, i went to a party a few weeks ago wearing these massive over-ears, and managed to get control of the music (apparently by wearing your own headphones and listening to your own music you get noticed quite a lot) , AC/DC is so much better then that normal pop rubbish they play
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,761 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,808
    Location:
    London,UK
    #1. Looks like a stealth fighter.

    #2. I need an ATX case to work with - it was a squeeze getting these 2 6970's into the Antec 902 and due to the Kuhler 920 sticking out inside the case i cant mount a fan on the side panel so no extra cooling for the graphics card.

    #3. my Antec 902 is about 2-3years old (i think)

    #4. Im used to the side panel being on the left handside and not the right


    ----

    ive still done a fine job getting everything inside. I should take a few pics though. Cable management isnt as clean as it could be though but its the best i could do with such a case
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  5. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    That's a good point - I used to hear things through headphones that I hadn't heard on any other system. Until I got my HarmanKardon HK6100 and Mission speakers - that's when I started hearing all those things on a proper setup.
     
  6. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    the biggest problem is the neighbours, we've got a 1000w Panasonic surround system and we can't turn it up too loud as the sub does frequency's so low you just get this massive rumble in other rooms, and the house is semi-detached so...
     
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I always forget about that one! That was one of my influencing factors on getting the Raven 2 - I made an upside-down case just because I needed the window on the other side!

    The Raven 1 does look nice, it's just it looks taller than it is long. I like the kind of new Alienware-y cases, really long but not too tall. I really like the idea of having the PSU separate from the rest of the system though, like you get with the Raven 1.

    I live in a block of flats with moany neighbours, but I'm the moaniest one and I don't give a f*ck so my music goes LOUD!!!
     
  8. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Freedom - have you tried that shiznit yet?
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,761 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,808
    Location:
    London,UK
    just about to give it a go!
     
  10. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Shweeeet.
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,761 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,808
    Location:
    London,UK
    Unfortunately no can do im afraid. I cant get a good signal. and ive moved the antenna all over the fricking garden and i cant get decent signal anywhere.

    thanks for the thought anyway. and if its alright with you i'll hang on to your details to use it while im having a gin&tonic at wetherspoons!!! rare occasion. but at least i know i can use it while im there.
     
  12. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yea just makes sure no-one spikes your drink, rapes you and steals my details :laugh:
    Try changing the adapter settings on your wi-fi card, maybe it's stuck on b and needs g or whatever. I used to mess about with mine all the time, changing settings and that to get new networks. Nothing to do with how far away they are, just what settings they're using ;)
     
  13. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,978 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    What an absolute crock of shit been trying to get on that green man gaming all day and the furthest I have got is putting ArmaII in my basket which has taken ages btw as I keep getting 504 bad gateway and then I finally get bthere and can't get through to checkout, fu*kkikkkkkkk :banghead:
     
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    ArmA II multiplayer is free to play anyway. The SP campaigns aren't really worth playing tbh. It's a crack sim if you get a load of mates playing with you.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    NZXT Tempst (original not evo) and possibly my current case Lancool PC K62.
    Should be like £8 or thereabout for each one to ship using a collect and deliver courier.

    Just been out and bought the new Liverpool Away shirt and i have to say its a smart looking footy shirt. Similar size to my Scotland shirt which is great (size large). Its roastin' here in Glasgow but apparently its raining in Inverness and the golf was postponed.

    Contemplated getting Arma II but fuck it if the servers are overloaded.
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,761 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,808
    Location:
    London,UK
    No signal = too far away from AP or somethings blocking the AP (too many walls or big buildings in the way)

    I have a Edimax EW-7318USg with a 10dBi antenna attached instead of the standard 4dBi attached to the top of a 7ft metal pole for for better signal and
    still nothing. they must have done something to the AP or someones got a house full of microwaves that are on constantly and causing interfering with the signal.

    I used to be able to pick up BT Openzone AP perfectly last year.

    I even tried to switch to another 10dBi back up antenna i had and still no joy.

    no idea what changed
     
  17. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,761 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,808
    Location:
    London,UK
    for that money the hardware is just woeful.

    I think it could be more a case of geography then anything else. maybe its a rural area and they are the only people for miles that sell computer gear. who knows.

    Dell however has much better offers and the tech is more more uptodate
     
  19. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    its got a floppy drive :laugh:
    2011,nearly all mobo's are getting rid of legacy as much as poss,other than OC boards needing a ps2 for k/board..
    not even a monitor...
     
  20. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    i had to fix 2 PC's that didn't have ps/2 yesterday, i only had 1 usb keyboard...

    EDIT: We need more musical genres' named like this --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Powerviolence
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  21. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Anyone know if I can add Arma II to my steam?. I've finally got a key but looks like I may have to download "Capsule" in order to play it as it doesn't seem to be recognised on Steam as a valid key?
     
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Your going need to use capsule

    Isn't it interesting how tech always brakes right before you really need it?
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  23. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    I find it funny how ps/2 is superior to USB for using keyboards since you only get full n key rollover on a ps/2 connection.

    Just watching T in the Park, my sister went again this year. Just not my thing to crowded for me.
     
  24. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    And 'the girl who leapt through time' is now my official best movie of all time, if I had to watch just one movie in my life, it would be that movie

    Does anyone know what the music from it Is called so i can buy it
     
  25. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Here your best asking anime questions in the anime club. Im not being rude its just you will have your questions answered better over there.

    LOL first comment i read when looking up "The Girl Who Leapt Through Time" was "this is one of the only anime that has a good english dub".
     
  26. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    decided to reinstall vista, and upgrade to 64bit whilst i was at it, whats amazing its that its gone from blank hard drive to now fully functional in about 12 minutes
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)