1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    only watched the first one, problem is their so long i will lose interest and do something else towards the end

    i think fight club was quite good, watched kick-ass yesterday and that wasn't bad, bit of a long introduction before anything interesting happens though
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,824
    Location:
    London,UK
    best part is when he gets his ass kicked
     
  3. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Dead Man's Shoes. My favourite film. Paddy Considine at his finest.
    Paddy stars in some films and you wouldn't even know it's him. Man of a thousand faces and all that. I'd say he's my favourite actor.
     
  4. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Crackin' film and I can understand why you like him. Obviously you know but he's in Hot Fuzz.

    ;)

    Did you watch The Suspicions of Mr Whicher?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    havn't even heard of that, i'll have to look it up at some point

    I must say i've heard many people on TPU say TV's are not as high quality as monitors, and iin my opionion they must have had a pretty crap set up, as right here, right now, browsing TPU, i can honestly say i did not expect TPU to be this clear on a 1366x768 32" LCD, however it's actually pretty good, tommorow i might end up connecting up my 1080P plasma (42") and see what the picture looks like on that, cause with all those extra pixels i'm guessing it's going to be awesome.
     
  6. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I haven't seen that one, no. Just googled it, sounds dark. Might have to buy it. I didn't spot him in 24 Hour Party People until like 3/4 through! The other thing I like about most of his parts is the "freestyle" thing. No script, just a plot; and he pulls it off really well.

    I don't know why people say that either. They must be either set up wrong or using S-Video :laugh: I use a 42" TV at 1920x1080 on my big rig, and it's absolutely gorgeous having so much space to work with. And for games it's just pure sex - I installed Crysis 2 (finally lol) and played it on DX11 with the new texture packs earlier, everything on Ultra. B-E-A-utiful.

    Actually yea, I remember having a few problems when setting my TV up with my new GTX470 the other day - it was fuzzy until I changed a setting - can't remember what setting it was tho :laugh:
     
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Only problems i have seen is when people try to use HDMi and they use the wrong setting, that said, their are certain TV's i have tried to use HDMI (a 22" i own) where for some reason they will only do 720P or 1080I through thier HDMI, this wouldn't of been a problem for me if it were not for the fact that the native res was 1440x900, and as such the TV would only accept it's native res at 30HZ, so that didn't end well

    Overall, TV's usualy have the same, or sometimes better image quality then monitors, the only problem is when you try to use HDMi to do the link as this seems to cause some problems for some very specific TV's which have limits on the refresh rate at their Native res

    On most TV's (especially those with a VGA or DVI port, the image quality wil be brilliant though
     
  8. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Aah, yes that's it, you've just reminded me - I had to force the refersh rate to 60Hz. On Auto and 59Hz it looked proper gammy. My TV's also got a VGA input, and it was fine through that.
     
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    There was a guy here last week who rejected a 32" 1080P IPS panel play.com had on sale that week around the £140-150 mark, as 'it was a TV', i tihnk we can all agree he lost a lot by doing that
     
  10. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Ive got a 37inch LG LCD, its okay does freeview decently and the xbox 360 looks great on it. Hooked up via HDMI and i love how ATI cards do the sound, 1080p of course. Id rather sit at a desk when using a pc so i just limit the tv to iplayer, movies, ch4OD ect.

    A few of my favourite movies are Grave of the Fireflies (its an oldish anime), Full Metal Jacket, Young Frankenstien, Apocalypse Now and yeah i loved the Lord of the Rings movies those where a good spin of the books. District 13 was pretty good too, just so many films to choose from i even like those lulzy old movies like Short Circuit.


    TVs dont make good monitor displays due to the response times among other things. Theres plenty of IPS 23" panels for £150 but they are all LED and 16:9.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Keiren, i will post my repsonse to all of those points in the morning, currently milldly irritated as i'm now posting from my PS3 and the 'Shift-Back-space' key combo deletes all of my post that i tried to respond to your post with, and there is no undo button, this is the third time i've tried to post this, as whenever i make a mistake on a capital letter, i end up pressing 'Shift-back-space' and delete all of the 4 paragraph post i've been trying to make:banghead:
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,330 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Home
    I wonder who does his typing on a PS3 controller >.>
     
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,824
    Location:
    London,UK
    thats why having a smartphone is just totally pwnzoRz.
     
  14. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Fix'd!
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,824
    Location:
    London,UK
    but a pc isnt as portable as a smartphone
     
  16. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Portability's for people who leave the house :p
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,824
    Location:
    London,UK
    and for those who want to watch tv downstairs and not want to leave the sofa!
     
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Not me, keyboard and mouse with my ps3:)

    I have a htc... there is no usb/ps2 socket for a mouse or keyboard
     
  19. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    What happen to your desktop cheesy.
     
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,824
    Location:
    London,UK
    I make posts on TPU from a Samsung JET time to time. I dont have a problem at all
     
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Desktop?

    If you mean my PC it isn't working as ebuyer have my motherboard

    if you mean my actual desktop it ended up looking like this


    [​IMG]
     
  22. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Damn Freedom, I didn't realise how bad these gumtree-lowballers are! Two of them within the last hour.
    £50 for my Vapor-X? Stick it up your Yaris thanks!
     
  23. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    755 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Netherlands
    can i come in?
    my girlfriend is english but sadly i'm not xd
     
  24. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    No, sorry. Your GF can though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    If you live in UK then sure why not lol.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)