1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    This heatsink is brilliant, i had to overclock it just to get the fan to spin up
     
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,202 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    London,UK
    I done a little side panel mod on my 902.
     
  4. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    lol the fan should spin anyway - if it doesn't it's broken!

    Oooohhh... got any pics? Or do you mean mod like you just accidentally smashed the f*ck out of it? :laugh:
     
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    In the bin.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    you know what i mean:laugh:

    the motherboard starts the fan at 1200 (Because i told it to in the bios)

    It only starts to spin the fan up to full RPM once the tempreture exceeds 48c
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    Lol. Need dinner advice peeps, I have a packet of beef mince and what should I do with it?

    1. Pasta, ez
    2. Meatballs, meatballs are awesum
    3. Burger, why not?
    4. your choice
     
  8. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Burger sounds nice and if you put some chilli's in them...


    overall i think i choose Number D: The lasagne
     
    Fourstaff says thanks.
  9. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Actually, I didn't :p I thought you were being literal.
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,202 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    London,UK
    I unscrewed one of the clear panels out of the side panel, used a little velcro tape on the inside and just coverd the gap with a black dust filter.

    I couldnt attach a fan on the side panel anyway as the Kuhler was getting in the way of the clips that hold the fan in.

    so the best thing to do was to take part of the clear perspex off and put a washable dustfilter there.

    nothing major. If i had a dremel i would have done a complete side panel mod. but this is good for now.

    got a lot more airflow inside the case. and i can feel the 200mm fan pulling air into the case where as i previously couldnt
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    No lasagne sheets, but I have chilli, so burger it is!
     
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,202 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    London,UK
    best food in the world by miles.

    I dont care what anyone says. I love lasagne
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    you've spent too much time using laptops obviously

    With this new Heatsink i can run at really low volts

    i'm now running prime 95 3.4GHZ, at 1.28V

    Now all i need is a board with proper power cucuity (this things rated 95W max) so i'm pushing it using a 125W proccesor as it is

    Someone tell me when i can get a decent AM3+ board for around £50
     
  14. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Lasagne is buff, but I prefer a spaghetti bolognese mm mmmmm

    Laptops? Have I? How did you deduce that?


    I don't do laptops. I just fix them.
     
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    I've never seen a desktop PC where the fans don't move at all, there are a lot of laptops like that, most new one's even have a 'passive' cooling mode where they just vary the proccesor speed in the power options menu

    that said most Core I laptops only hit about 60'c on passive modes so it normally doesn't end up throttling at all
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,202 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    London,UK
    If you come across any good 4GB DDR3 1600mhz modules for laptops. let me know
     
  17. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    don't bother with 1600mhz, just get 1333mhz and call it a day unless you've somehow got some sort of quad core on that netbook your buying

    If it's a core I seres (now i sound like an intel advertiser) you don't even need the modules to be identical for dual channel to work
     
  18. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Ach, I see what you mean noo

    There's a guy on TPU in US that's got some for sale. I'll look into it and handle it if you're not comfy buying from US?
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,202 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    London,UK
    I was refering to a matching 8Gb set, but yeah, I'll have a poke
     
  20. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    why does it really need to be 1600, it barely makes a difference in a desktop, so why will a laptop mind?
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,202 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    London,UK
  23. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    T'is bloody cheap. Laptop RAM's usually a bit more than desktop too. G-skill also give lifetime warranty on their laptop RAM (not all company's do lifetime on lappy RAM)
     
  24. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    guys, now whilst doing extended stress testing at 3.5ghz+, the clockspeed will occasionally lower itself for a while

    Do you guys think it's because i'm trying to push to much power through a motherboard with what i think has 4 (or 4+1) stage VRM's?
     
  25. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    CnQ or chokes on the vrm's err choking..
    got a heatsink on your vregs?
    if its the mobo in your specs then i'd get ramsinks on there quicksmart or ofcourse drop the OC and preserve lifespan of components
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)