1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    You get them with most GPU's as GPU's only have DVI, well most of them anyway.
     
  2. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    sorry maybe the sun fried my brain aswell as my body today,i was trying to describe the opposite of the ones bundled with gpu's
    VGA D sub to DVI.
     
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You can get them but yeah, sorry I typed it incorrectly, it's a standard DVI to VGA converter. Just I put VGA first as that's how it came out in my head, VGA cable to a DVI converter, to a DVI port.

    Again, my bad.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,923 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    At last today flyin back to UK. 2weeks without PC was a hard time for me, and my wedding was great aswell.
     
  5. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Congratulations on getting married,now you will find your virginity again after you lost it all those years ago :roll:
    just kiddin fella!
    where did you get married?
     
  6. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    so how was Latvia?
     
  7. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Thats because DVI carries the RGB signal for backwards compatibility with VGA.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,874 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,896
    Location:
    London,UK
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,874 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,896
    Location:
    London,UK
    Im wondering if i can obtain better temps on this Kuhler...

    Current setup...

    [​IMG]

    but im wondering.... What if i turned the fans on the kuhler around to pull air inside instead of exhaust??

    another thing that might effect those temps is that my computer sits pretty close to a wall as my desk sits in an alcove. after an hour of BC2 i touch the bit of wall directly behind where my 6970 exhausts are and its real hot. so Im afraid if i do flip the fans to pull air into the the case then it will pull the hot air in from the GPU's too.

    another thing thats stopped me doing it is the build up of dust inside my case, since that part wont be coverd by a dust filter unless i go out of my way to buy one.

    Id like to hear your thoughts.

    oh and that big square box at the bottom of the diagram is my PSU....I forgot to label it.

    There are also 2 120mm fans pulling air into the case/over the hard drives from the front of the case. the 200mm fan is always set to medium unless its really hot as it gets pretty loud and makes the case start to 'whine' as it resonates with the plastic mesh in front. I think the 200mm runs around 800RPM@ medium settings
     
  10. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    can you make it so the fan exhausts air upwards?
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,874 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,896
    Location:
    London,UK
    do i look like a guy who wants to get medieval on his case? :laugh::laugh:
     
  12. Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,923 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Wedding was in Latvia. We celebrated it 2 days about 55 guests i almost got all my money back i spent on wedding.All was filmed about 7.5h only first day and 1000+ photos was made.
     
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Glad you're back Arciks! Congrats on the marriage :toast:

    You know what it looks like to me? The 200mm fan on the top of the case is stealing a lot of the available air from the Kuhler. You want the Kuhler to get the maximum amount of air it can.
    Try making the fan on the top of your case intake instead of exhaust and see what that does for your temps. And then try turning the fan off altogether and check results.



    Afternoon everyone
     
  14. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    trying this game here http://rustyhearts.perfectworld.com/download, looks good and it's free so i can't lose much by playing it

    anyone else want to join me?
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,874 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,896
    Location:
    London,UK
    changing the 200mm into an intake would royaly fuck up the airflow inside my case.

    2x120mm+1x200mm intake -- 2x1850rpm typoons for exhaust = nuclear melt down.
    --------

    But good point but i am already one step ahead of you. Remember i was telling you about my side panel mod??

    [​IMG]

    I completely removed the small panel where i can mount a 120mm fan and used some velcro tape and attached a dust filter there.

    I couldnt use the 120mm fan mount anyway as the retention clips inside were getting in the way of the kuhler. with a 'gap' like that, the 200mm wont be choking the typhoons for air. I hardly run the 200mm at max anyway. it only does around 600rpm@47cfm. so theres good air flow inside my case after the small mod.

    I did switch the 2 GT's around and used it as an intake but results were anywhere short of disastrous compared to when the fans were facing the other way. members here just dont seem to understand how hot 2x6970s get at full load and when those 2 room heaters are roarin' anyone standin behind them will be left with severe burns. and thats literally what happened here.

    the hot hair from the 2 6970s got sucked into the kuhler when the fans were acting as intakes and they just funneled the hot air from the GPUs back into the case.
     
  16. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    *rant* why does BBC Iplayer desktop take 60mb to play Radio 1 ? That's just crazy. Probably better then opening a browser for it, but still. Sort it out BBC!

    */rant*

    ps.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    saw that, didn't see the point, i get 50fps in BC2, i get bad K/D because i'm bad at it. not because there's 0.0001 Second lag from C1E that's compleatly overshadowed by the ping time

    still, i read it all the way through, i'd already done most of the things it reccomends anyway

    Why would you use the desktop iplayer client?, unless you spend most of your time offline there's no point to it?

    i just use the online thing and i have no problem on my 5Mb, even if other people are on the network at the same time
     
  18. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    I use the desktop IPlayer client because I like to have music playing in my games on top of the SFX :) So I have it playing ALL the time !
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    I Just leave chrome open:laugh:
     
  20. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I know it might seem like it'll f*ck up the airflow, but we all know that air doesn't react how we want it to inside a case. You've got to be willing to try new (and sometimes silly sounding) things to get results, trial and error style.

    Personally, I don't think it'll mess up the airflow. The bottom half of the case is sorted; in from the front and out from the back (GPU exhaust).
    But the top of the case looks like it has has no air to exhaust, so IMO the top fan + the kuhler are gagging for air.
    Easiest way is to just try turning the 200mm fan off and see what happens to CPU temps. If they're lower, then try turning the fan round.
     
  21. Broom2455

    Broom2455

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Fans and Kuhler 920

    Originally Posted by FreedomEclipse View Post
    changing the 200mm into an intake would royaly fuck up the airflow inside my case.
    2x120mm+1x200mm intake -- 2x1850rpm typoons for exhaust = nuclear melt down.

    Just a thought , have you tried running it the same way I do my H50. ?
    My H50 rad is in the front of my case above the DVD drive running push/pull so pulling from the front of the case. All I have done is put the screws in the rad and used cable ties and doing this it dropped my temps by 5 degrees.

    Hope this gives you an idea
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Thats a very good idea!
    It also avoids alot of the dust buildup if the case is on the floor.

    I tried a similar thing but iinstead of the p/p watercooling all i did was to form some corrugated plastic in a squared funnel to lead to the HSF directing some cool air there as the HSF was getting the hot air off the back of the upper GPU,
    which stole most of the cool lower intake's air.
    I hope that made sense..
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,874 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,896
    Location:
    London,UK
    cant run the rad in front. I have 3 hard drives and 1 SSD. and due to how small this case is and how big the graphics cards are. I cant shift stuff around like i would like to.

    Either I run with the rad in front and lose 2 or 3 hard drives or i just leave it as is
     
  24. Broom2455

    Broom2455

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Ok, just a thought :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,874 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,896
    Location:
    London,UK
    Its a real tight fit inside this case. Even the 6970s wont go inside unless they are at an angle. theres just not a lot of space to move this around.
     
    Broom2455 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)