1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    what if i put the rice on the radiator as well?
     
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    +1 to rice, stick it in for a 4days to a week and then see how it goes
     
  3. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I've had to do it 4 times, it only took 24 hours each time, even in winter. These were all Sony Ericcson W810i's (I've had to fix a shed load of them). No doubt depends on the type of phone.

    :laugh: slow-cooked rice anyone? :p

    I'm guessing you're not serious.
     
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    i am serious, it spent all of last night in a bag of rice on a radiator :eek:
     
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    The last time I had to do that it took 4 days :/

    Sous vide rice should be good, if those top chefs know their thing
     
  6. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Keep it in a dry place mate, you don't want moisture in the air.
     
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    W810i's - 4 times quicker than any other phone!!!
    They are amazing :laugh:
     
  8. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    STFU man! the K750i is were it is at :toast:
    both my ericssons are super old and work perfectly!
     
  9. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    I had a K800i, built like a tank and responsive.
     
  10. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    That series of phones was the best ever IMO.
     
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    my k550i agrees, that said i'd take my wildfire anyday

    EDIT:That said i do like the razr v3, i know people still using them today
     
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    i have one of those too
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I've got Gas2100's old C510. Absolutely amazing. Drops off my lap and hits the deck twice daily. Solid as a rock.
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    i loved sony....
     
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    why the past tense?
     
  16. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    C510 was my mums old phone now she has a similar level Nokia, the C510 reminded me of the old K series but not as chunky.
    Sony was the shit back in the day now i wouldn't touch their android phones with a bargepole.

    All my old phones where Sony, i used to have a weird spin phone walkman series.
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
  17. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    their android range seem very mediocre in comparason, it is the same with nokia...
     
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    but it's sony they make many other products (my sony TV is amazing)
     
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    Samsung are better in virtually every space...
    their design is really amazing..
     
  20. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    I agree Sony TVs are nice but there are other just as good manufacturers. Their headphones suck and the Walkmans are nice but overpriced.

    Their Camcorders always are just behind Panasonics because i was going to buy a Panasonic SD60 at one point but never did.
     
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    i have the sony because i got a really good deal on it (something like £180 and that was last year when most other brand name 32" were around £300)

    the picture quality, is good but not the best, the reason i like it is because unlike my panasonic, i've i turn on a device connected by HDMI, the TV will turn on at the same time (opposite way round as well, i can turn on devices by selecting them as my input) and they also turn off as well, the remote will also let me control things connected to it without needing another remote

    i also like the menu and how many options they let you play with, it's got 100's of things to adjust
     
  22. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    My LG 4000LH was £320 including delivery, that was 2 years ago and its 37inches. Nothing special but it does the job the colours are nice if the blacks are just average but back then that was always the case, Plasma for blacks, LCD for colours/whites.

    My brother just got a fancy Panasonic Plasma TV for his place, absolute quality in all regards. They arnt as big bulky and heavy as they used to be Plasma TVs.
     
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Actually Plasma's are also good for white's, in fact the most dramatic ways plasma's outperform LCD's is in scenes where there's something very bright on a back background

    all in all the reason it's 32" is because i sit less then 2m away from it, so anything bigger wouldn't actually work very well for me

    it's an excellent TV, however it does have some problems with fast moving objects
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  24. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Rubbish Plasma is better for deep blacks, thats why people play blade runner as a test DVD on plasma tvs.

    EDIT: My tv has that 100hz option and real cinema but ive never seen a difference with it enabled.
     
  25. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    it's good for both, so long as your not using dodgy picture settings you can have no problem with either, no backlight = good blacks, but at the same time you can have it doing whites no problem

    EDIT:The 100Hz option only blurs the frames together and shows you an average of them, it's supposed to stop ghosting in LCD's, plasma's have no need as there's no noticeable response time anyway
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)