1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
    Cheap refurbs are good. but not if even Crucial themselves dont expect the drives to last that long.

    says it all pretty much
     
  2. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    The only thing impressive that crucial has made has to be ram in my opinion.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
    their C300 got a lot of good reviews and recommendations.

    the QC on the refurbs are 'Questionable' shall we say.
     
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
  6. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    don't know why
     
  7. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Firefox is annoying me, it seems to want to chew up 200-300mb of ram and the plug in container uses up almost 100mb. Not that much really but i only have 4 tabs open and non flash heavy sites loaded, it was was also crashing in Google Earth when i was showing my cousin a route to college it was just freezing it did that before i think its a flash problem.

    My ram usage is 2.52gb, ive only got Firefox and Steam minimised to the task bar. Whats going on there? I don't even have an anti virus running in the background. Not that the pc is slow but just wanting to know whats chewing up the ram? Is it as simple as the OS wants the extra ram? Its not like im seeing any extra speed boosts from having it use more up, folders and stuff just pop open in the same speed as when i had 4gb.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
    you have 8Gb of ram....stop crying, :nutkick:

    ram doesnt offer much of a speedboost unless its higher frequency, More ram just means you can multitask more. for instance. If i mount a DVD image on my hard drive and i start installing a game. it will start to hog up my ram. and everything just becomes shit slow when theres only 200-300mb of free ram left.

    I usually have more then 10tabs open in firefox anyway.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  9. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I run Windows 7 on 1GB of RAM and it's lovely. It was really slow with 1GB of 533 stuff, but now I've changed to 800MHz, it's sweet. I've been reading that the "memory scaling" on Windows 7 is brilliant and that's why it works really good with low amounts of RAM. But rarely people have problems when running lots of RAM; mostly in laptops.

    Kieran: Lots of people have been saying bad things about the plugin container. Try stopping the service or try a different version of Firefox. I don't have any problems with Firefox crashing or Windows being slow whatsoever.
    Specs:

    E2160 1.8GHz
    1GB DDR2-800
    Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
    WDCGreen 500GB

    Runs perfect on Firefox 4.0.1
     
  10. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Like i posted im not that upset but id like to have known why it was using up that much ram at idle either way because i was just interested, its using up about 1gb more now compared to before. I thought with Windows using up more ram it would be slightly more snappy or i would get a faster cold boot but nah it didn't really do much in that regard.

    As with all AMD systems usually tighter timings are better than raw speeds. This G.Skill is okay but i was a bit annoyed how it dropped in price to £40 pretty quickly after i bought it at £65.

    EDIT: Firefox never crashes it freezes and its usually like when im using Google Earth or something Flash or Java related, the plug ins that are installed are Java, Flash, Google Earth, Fox it reader and Silverlight. Im on the newest version of Firefox and i cannot remember what version i was on when it started freezing, its infrequent but enough for me to notice it. I usually have to stop the process and then it asks me if i want to reload my previous tabs.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
  11. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Aah, I don't use silverlight and I tell foxit not to install the plugin when I install the reader. I don't use the google earth plug in either - ther's no point as there's google maps anyway lol the only plugin I have the need for is flash.

    My problems were worst when I had the "show all histroy" window open. It went mega slow with that.
     
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
    if you want snappy - get an SSD as boot drive
     
  13. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Good question is why would i need Silverlight installed? and i thought you needed the Google Earth plug in to do the street view and over head Earth view? BTW I recommend everyone try's Fox It reader its way better than Adobe Reader for PDF files.

    An SSD at £1 a gig is still to much for my liking.

    If i had my way no one would use Flash or Java but its just to common, HTML 5 is a start.
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
    you could have picked up a cheap Crucial refurbed SSD :laugh::laugh: they said it was like 70p per gig.

    I will always be weary of Crucial though.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  15. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,141 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I corrected your mistake :p

    It is for the simple fact that it will let us take web way further than we have been able to do previously and enable web apps that interact like native applications all within the comfort of our browser, HTML5 is revolutionary to be honest and does away with the likes of Flash, Silverlight, Java etc whilst giving a lot more richness to web apps, definately exciting stuff now and will be even more so in 1-2 years time, FU apple with your zero flash support you bastards :slap:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
    MilkyWay says thanks.
  16. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    I love the idea of SSD's but not the price.
    cable management becomes so much easier when you can velcro an SSD round the side of the case that never gets opened.
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
    well I might be jumping onto a 120Gb 6Gbs SSD later this week or the week after. gonna try out my current 90Gb in my DM1, but if that doesnt work due to HPs bios not wanting to recognise it then i will sell it or keep it just for games. my steam folder alone is around 55Gbs, but i'll probably just load BC2 and a few MMOs on it as well as BF3 when it comes out
     
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
    :( my external optical drive for my DM1 still aint come through the post
     
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    still waiting for my entire laptop too :(
     
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,823 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,749
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I am waiting for:

    Cooler for my 6970 (Prolimatech MK-13)
    2 x SSD 120gig (OCZ Vertex 2E)
    6GB kit of 2400mhz memory
    6 120mm fans

    Just received my youngest daughters £37.50 Microsoft office 2010 professional plus (2 licenses available, one for Lappy, one for desktop :D)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I don't even know if i should be honored or pleased. My mum gave me my dad super old but brand new wallet. Made by Dior,it looks nice but uh..it looks abit girly or it be okay for gays.
    Honestly don't know right now.

    Anyways the waiting game sucks i always have to wait at least until half 12 for a package,if its from Scan it be in afternoon delivery all the time.
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
    Hey tatty, can i just remind you it was my birthday last saturday :D:D:D (the previous saturday, not the one just gone)
     
  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,823 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,749
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Damn..... too late your Birthdays gone :cool:, and I just ordered a Colour Laserjet too :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    London,UK
    belated gifts are still welcome :D
     
  25. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Loving the new avatar Tatty, much better than the previous sets. Jealous of your new purchases mind.

    :shadedshu
     
    Tatty_One says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)