1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Here's my opionion on onlive after use (my routers playing up at the moment so i have only about 3.5meg internet)

    i played a few games i own on varius systems, Hawx 2 looks like the xbox version but with resolution swapped for special effects

    Dirt 2 , looks much worse then it does on my PC, but much better then it does on a Intel HD powered laptop

    therefore, i think this could be good in laptops which don't have a decent graphics card, or more importantly, netbooks!

    think about it, it would preserve battery life because for the laptop it's like internet browsing, but, it would give you much better graphics then normal and you wouldn't notice the low res because you would be using a 10" screen

    i can also see this becoming good if they work on their compression technology a bit more, because i know i can stream better quality video from youtube then that
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,333 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,075
    Location:
    Home
    Been playing Team Fortess 2 for a change rather than Starcarft 2. Easy to learn, hard to master.
     
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Tf2 is fun, though like CSS there is a lot of leet players that are really good at it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    just seen a few minutes of Xfactor, someone needs to tell them it's not pokemon, and they are not going to win just by putting their hat on backwards

    reminds me of why i don't watch it
     
  5. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,533 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Xfactor uk sucks because their is no Simon cowell going your singing sucks donkey balls.
     
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    not upgrade?? i think importing from US will be expensive

    When will bulldozer hit?
     
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    October, either the 10th or 12th, can't quite remember which
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    really its upto you how much you want to spend on a upgrading or replacing that CPU.

    there are quite a few auctions for Q9550s going that are upto around £40-50'ish right now. that are ending within 8hrs or so. you might get lucky going after one of them.

    Or

    you can grab a Q9450 from a selling in Hong Kong for around £130 If you really want a Q9450.

    If you got the money for a full on upgrade then just upgrade already looking at some of BD bench results in todays newsfeed, a 2500k is still an excellent buy if you plan to overclock it.

    with the amount of 'fixing' and inconsistant testing methods and results. I think AMD know that BD still doesnt toe the line with SB so they bench it against random processors just to show its more superior.

    a heavily OC'd 2500k WILL beat an OC'd gulftown in almost every test untill it comes to the heavy multitasking test.

    And so....AMD pitch their BD against a Gulftown when an 2500k is clearly faster.


    thats just my own opinion anyway. AMD's marketing smells of a blantant cover up to the point where it makes my spidey senses tingle every time i look at the results.

    Cool if you still want to go BD though. but i highly recommend waiting until proper reviews surface before parting with any cash.

    Intels 2700k might also push prices down a little
     
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    I feel the same way, i just was thinking in terms of price to performance ratio, even if it is close to SB then it should be a decent choice, any idea when socket 2011 is out??

    gotta wait for my Student loan before i take the plunge anyway. tomorrow will tell me 100% what is up
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    I think 2011 will be out either towards the end of this year or Q1/2 next year
     
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    at approx what speed would i need to run a Q6600 to match a Q9450 at 3.2GHZ (perfomance wise i mean)?
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  12. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,533 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    You would probably need to run it at 355*9 to get it at 3.2ghz.
     
  13. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    i mean perf wise :laugh:
    i can do math too :)
     
  14. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,533 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Oh performance lol,you probably see a tiny bit of difference perhaps.
     
  15. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,668 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,596
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    In the Region of 100mhz - 150mhz faster if that makes sense.
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    at 3.6 GHZ now, pc booted at 4ghz but couldn't get into windows, my card is still screwing around. Im thinking the mem is clocked too high for it as it keeps artifacting... stupid pre-overclocked cards....
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    Its rare to find a Q6600 that can do 4Ghz - specially on air,

    as for the 570 - RMA it
     
  18. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    are OCUK difficult to deal with these issues?

    or should i rma through MSI directly?

    or should i underclock and keep it for now?
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    youre gonna have an up hill struggle if you need to RMA through OCuK :laugh:
     
  20. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I've heard they can be......... difficult lets say.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    Im guessing MSI is the best route then
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    Probably. but If OCuK still stock that particular card or have a similar model it stock, It could cut down turn around times by almost a whole month (i have no idea how long MSI take to send a working card back - Sapphire tends to take 1 month sometimes longer)

    When Tattys old Asus 5850 Direct CU needed RMA'n, they accepted it back for RMA then they missplaced it.

    Tatty got in touch directly with Asus and he asked them if they recieved the card and Asus denied ever recieving the card from OCuK. By this time OCuK already had the faulty card for 3weeks or around a month and had already cleared the card for replacement after testing it weeks ago.

    Nobody there knows what happened to it, after they finished testing. and i think Asus was putting OCuK under pressure because they started communicating more on what was going on after Tatty spoke to Asus - before that Tatty was lucky to get any responses to E-notes at all.

    Still no idea if they ever found the card, Asus couldnt give OCuK another 5850 Direct CU because OCuK never sent one out to them in the first place. and 5850 Xtreme's were just starting to appear on the market and it came bundled Crysis 2 game so i took that option instead of going for an MSI 5850 Twin FrozR II.

    got the 5850 in, overclocked it, benched it. Sold it on for the RRP and kept the game.

    -----

    On the rare occasion OCuK decides to be professional they can be very professional, Not everyone has had a bad experience with them. but at the same time so many people have been shafted and messed around by them almost all of UK clubhouse members here recommend people to stay away from them.

    Its not just on TPU either. if you google OCuK some, theres quite a lot of bad press on them floating around on other forums.

    If you havent had a hassle with OCuk. count yourself lucky and pray will never need to, they are nothing but trouble
     
  23. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I use aria now instead, they seem a bit better than ocuk at least.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    Aria are a lot lot better, I havent used them much myself but one of the great things about them is their customer service. They run a forum and there are always company reps and staff that are there to help sort out any problems. they always have competitions where you can win some really good stuff - stuff that you can actually use and want rather then crap like mouse mats Aria branded mugs and Tshirts and other useless merchandise.

    I only hear great things about Aria. I will definitely buy more stuff from them in the future but i tend to check out ebuyer first
     
  25. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    i bought from Ebuyer and Aria both are good, Aria are a little worse in terms of RMA process. I have never returned anything i have bought from OCUK and i really dont want to find out how bad they are, i will call MSI tomorrow
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)