1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,764 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    658
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Time to try out Battlefield 3 beta. :D
     
  2. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,181 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    731
    lucky git!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,804 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,000
    Location:
    London,UK
    Fixed the problem with the whining 140mm fan at the sidepanel - its all good. dont need a fan controller for that anymore. which is great cuz it means less wiring.

    All it took was a dust filter between the case and the fan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,181 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    731
    Since i updated firefox text looks slightly different, :confused: wierd.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    969
    Location:
    London, UK
    I haven't noticed :confused:

    Get your HUMBLE BUNDLE!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Using chrome, FF pissed me off.

    Just got mine, already owed most of them though so just got frozen synapse really.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    UK
    firefox user:laugh:

    Probably GPU rendering or something

    stopped using firefox around version 4-5 as bugs starting happening at a rate which makes IE6 look reliable

    ______________________________________________________


    different topic

    does anyone know of any good PCI-E Sound cards around the £30-40 price?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  8. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,181 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    731
    There are more browsers than just Chrome, IE and Firefox for example i have Lunascape installed but i just dont like its interface and design. However annoying Firefox is with it freezing for no reason and having memory leaks i always felt drawn back to it.

    I should keep trying other browsers.

    EDIT: Its not morphological filtering because a while back like months ago i accidentally enabled that in the Catalyst Control Centre and it fucked up everything in firefox because it tried to filter everything because Firefox uses GPU acceleration. Its obviously something they changed in the revision.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    UK
    newest chrome developer build is good at the moment

    can you convert a PCI-E 1x Slot to a PCI slot
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  10. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    969
    Location:
    London, UK
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,181 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    731
    I do not like Chrome either and yes technically you can get a converter for PCI EX 1x to make it PCI, apparently its for servers or something fuck if i know.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    969
    Location:
    London, UK
    >.< this is what dehydration does!
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  14. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    UK
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    969
    Location:
    London, UK
    look for a Asus Xonar DX it is a Asus Xonar DS but on a PCI-e BUS
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    UK
  17. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,181 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    731
    That is a PCI EX 1x to PCI converter. Thats what cheesy was asking about so you where right. You can get PCI EX 1x sound cards im pretty sure.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    UK
    overall can i get a decent Sound card and PCI-E for under £40?
     
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    969
    Location:
    London, UK
    No
    unless you want creative...
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  20. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    UK
    :(

    in that case can a GTS 250 do sound output to HDMI?

    EDIT:No, that creative is not even a real xi-fi chip, just a rebrand of the same sort of chips you find on motheboards
     
  21. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Its pci to pci-e he wanted pci-e to pci


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    UK
  23. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,181 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    731
    Probably not i just checked a few stores and they only sell the DX for £55 and i dont see any other cards for a 1x slot.

    No i dont think that the GTS 250 does sound output to HDMI i had to use a cable to my motherboard for sound, the ATI cards have built in sound chips for audio through HDMI.

    That picture looks like it goes into a 1x slot and makes it PCI.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    969
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes i think it can but you need the pass through cable
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  25. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,181 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    731
    SPDIF to motherboard or sound card which is not the same as the card being able to do it through itself. Your basically passing through the sound to the onboard sound chip or sound card to do the processing.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)