1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    I was actually planning on going raid soon but I think an ssd is more likely now :(

    on a completely unrelated question
    does Anyone know how much it costs to rent out a cinema screen for a few hours?

    edit:the idea is to rent out a cinema screen, connect up a pc or ps3 and play bf3 or another game on it
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
  2. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    I didnt know you had both consoles Cheesy.
    Anyway i find that Forza has lots of cars but its mainly quality over quantity, most of the cars in GT5 are premium or standard and standard is ripped right from GT4. To bump up the amount of cars lots of them are just slight differences.

    They focused a lot on the lighting this year in Forza, that was a design choice by Turn 10. The mods effect all of the characteristics of the car, an exhaust mod for example will effect the weight and performance characteristics.

    Its pretty shitty that Turn 10 make a ton of DLC and make you pay a premium for it, even that they know only a few will buy it. In reality they want you to wait a year and re buy the game of the year with the DLC included. A shitty tactic but its like Borderlands, which ended up cheaper to buy the game of the year with the DLC included, rather than buy DLC separate.

    EDIT: The way DLC works in FORZA is you buy the DLC and it unlocks the car in game, you still have to buy the car in game using in game currency but you sometimes get those GIFT cars that they gift to you with cool decals and stuff.

    Nah i dont know if a cinema would let you rent out a screen unless it was a local small cinema. Not even sure if you could hook up a console to a cinema projector, if it had those connections or not i have no idea. Im sure someone would find that really sad but i think it would be fun especially getting split screen on the go. The sound quality interests me more than the actual screens.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 31, 2011
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  3. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Bullet Dodging Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,577 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,501
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    ^^^ Merged ....... It's all in a days work :)

    On a different note, sold the freebie 570 for £225, bought another 560Ti, namely the MSI Twin Frozr II, now I have only used ATI over the last 3 years but I have to say this card is awesome, faster than my 6970 with the Gelid (flashed from 6950), I run that 24/7 at 920, although it will do 940 for benching, am running this 560 at 1030 and it gives me 6 FPS more in World of tanks with less heat and power consumption for about 70 quid less..... highly recommended, in fact it surpasses stock 570 performance by a bit at these speeds and totally silent.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    The 560ti sounds great.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  5. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    £158 for one here http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/asu...-bt-shop-online-157-98-shipped-1047499?page=2 if you want to save about £20-£40 on what places like ebuyer are selling it for

    and it's Pre-overclocked with a good cooler

    this is where the idea came from

    http://imgur.com/VEIbb
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
    MilkyWay says thanks.
  6. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    LOL there is a thread where someone was complaining about the amount of double, triple and quad posts.
     
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,749 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    744
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    ive only ever seen a tripple once and ive not come across a quad yet, wouldnt be assed if i did but then people do get wound up by the funniest stuff, ive had many an argument about gramma on ere and my lack there'of
     
    More than 25k PPD
  8. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah, i've never actually seen the problem with double or triple post's, it's not as if they take up that much more screen space or something
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  9. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    No the reason i found it funny is because i have moaned about it before and i was told it wasn't a problem. I dont mind the odd spelling mistake but sometimes posts are ineligible and i cant understand it, i realise not everyone has English as their first language.

    Here is the thread.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=154360
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2011
  10. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    it isn't a real problem, it's just a load of people looking for a way to moan about something which honestly doesn't matter as much as they say it does, there are also quite a few reasons why people double post besides just laziness, so an automated script like they're suggesting could cause quite a few problems anyway
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,822
    Location:
    London,UK
    Anyone here with a staff discount at CEX? I need a new phone :toast:
     
  12. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Just been offered a 2500k for £115 but its unboxed and i just asked if it was still in warranty. Dunno if i will take up the offer kinda worried incase i get stuck with a CPU that in a week or something dies and im down £115. Someone didnt pay and i ended up being the next bidder or something.
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    My local Tesco has the galaxy mini with 500MB of internet for £10 a month
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,822
    Location:
    London,UK
    I just need a handset
     
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,330 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Home
    Get any random one new off (insert phone company here) then, basic ones dont cost more tan £30 new.
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,822
    Location:
    London,UK
    nah got my eye on a Xperia Arc or Arc S.

    i could get a samsung phone for £10. but its not a smartphone
     
  17. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    It's unlikely that a CPU will ever die without being severly abused. CPU's are the only thing I dont care about warranty with as I've never broke one!!

    You should either snap it up or let one of us get at it :laugh:

    And hello everyone!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
    MilkyWay says thanks.
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,822
    Location:
    London,UK
    SCAM! Repo me an Arc S!! go go go!!
     
  19. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Anyone noticed increased price of Hard drive 1TB are like £60+ now.
     
  20. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,330 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Home
    Yup, I posted a page ago. Not bothered, its going to go back to "normal" next year, tighten up belt and stream porn for now.
     
  21. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    So your saying i should go for it? If i was that uncomfortable with holding onto it i could easily re sell it here on tpu but im now kinda crapping it incase it comes DOA or something is wrong with it.
    EDIT: Ebay for a brand new in box phone, i mind a while back you where looking for a phone before you went sandybridge Freedom.
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,822
    Location:
    London,UK
    I get more value for my 2 phones if i exchanged it - Hence going to CEX going for an Arc S on ebay could be quite expensive
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  23. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    What phone are you swapping? Didn't pantherx12 work in CEX at one point?
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,822
    Location:
    London,UK
    Im gonna exchange a Sony.E X10 Mini Pro and my trusty old Samsung Jet S8000 - Looking to get about £150 for both which should take the edge off the remaining cost
     
  25. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    They may offer you less by like 2-5 since there in-store price is different to online.
     
  26. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Okay after reading a little more the seller that offered me the 2500k sold one last month and someone left feedback today, "Postage could of been faster and better packaged. As described tho." They dont have any bad feedback as a seller or buyer.
     
  27. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    If I happen to find one laying about :roll:

    Yea I think it's well worth it. I'd have it without the slightest hesitation if I had the dollar. If it was any other piece of hardware (mobo, RAM, etc.) I'd think twice, but not a CPU. I've just searched to try and find a 2500k that's been broken by OC'ing, LN2 etc. and I can't find one.

    Have any of you guys here ever had a CPU DOA? Or a CPU break on you ever? I haven't, but I'm not hardcore OC'er. Thinking about it, I bet IC's broke a fair few...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  28. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,822
    Location:
    London,UK
    has anyone seen this shit???? I spat my tea all over my keyboard when i saw it

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    holy mother of god......

    I need to take out a fucking morgage if i plan to go RAID

    SELL THE HOUSE!!!!!!

    SELL THE KIDS!!!
     
  29. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,377
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Erm you must of seen my "I fried my 2500K" thread? I accidentally put +0.5v into it instead of +0.05v (damn jerky Asrock UEFI bios :( ) Got my Intel replacement last week thank god, it would BSOD on stock settings, had to undervolt and disable cores to get it into Windows

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153264
     
  30. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    They're just taking the mick now. Deliberate price hikes just because of limited availability. Shame on these e-tailers.

    Well, the first chip I would put down to severe abuse, but am I reading it right that the replacement ended up faulty aswell?
     
  31. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Lol this was discussed couple pages ago and i've just mentioned it on previous page of the price increase on Hard drives.
     
  32. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,769 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,822
    Location:
    London,UK
    Oh and scam, if you happen to come across an iphone 4s or Xperia Ray - Let me know and we can talk business :pimp:

    and you said price hikes but you didnt say that they jumped to over £200! that F3 used to be £40. if they increased the price to £60 or 80 - fair play, but over £200???? they have no shame
     
  33. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,377
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Managed after 3 days of trawling google shopping to find an external 2TB drive in Ire for (90euro + 8euro shipping (£84) and it has shipped, I had placed about 3 other orders from different online sites for them all to cancel on me. The HDD is a Seagate XT 2TB, might just sell the enclosure on ebay.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)