1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,734 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    No offence, but really? You must really love the series.

    Besides tech, i don't really have a hobby. Unless you can class the pub etc. as a hobby...
     
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,333 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,075
    Location:
    Home
    No, I don't really like the series. But the models are awesome, I kid you not.
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    well.....Ive been a mega fan of most things Gundam since i was in high school :cool::cool:

    what can i say? I love giant robots!! but in most cases its more of the designs that I like then just the anime.

    Its no different then your grandfathers who loved building hornby trainsets or WWI & WWII tanks, ships & fighter planes.

    and just like building a PC - time goes into building it once youve unboxed it. you can choose to customise it a little with a craft knife or scalpel and etch your own small designs on the models or you can just give them different paint jobs. then the standard colours of the plastic they come in.

    I love gundam but i dont limit myself to that genre alone - I have 2 armoured core models and I probably going to get some Macross ones at a later stage, but first i need my own place so i can put all these babys in a glass cabinet away from dust and parents knocking shit over and breaking it when they do house keeping (R.I.P Full Armour Z.Z :( )
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  4. British_bitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello May i be added please?
     
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    Welcome :)
    have a nice stay, aquant yourself with the rules and hopefully you'll have plenty of laughs with us all ;)
     
  6. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Ive been looking for a Laserdisc player but difficult to find anything locally, postage is killer. Just for collecting and the awesome factor.

    Recently got myself a Phanteks cooler which is a total beast. A blade snapped clean off one of its included fans. Was purely an accident but hopefully i get a replacement soon, still runs great even with one fan as its hovering at around 28-31c at idle on 4ghz.
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,333 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,075
    Location:
    Home
    The rules are simple: Just don't get yourself kicked out :D
     
  8. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Sooooooooo I completely forgot to test my replacement 2500k from Intel when I RMA'd my last one a couple of months ago and have just been running the same settings for OC as the last one, which for an i5 needed a lot of voltage for 4.5GHZ (1.36-1.38) well I just found out this chip will do 4.5 at .05v less and am running 4.7GHZ at the same voltage as the previous, might push my luck and aim for 4.8/4.9 with the same voltage too :rockout:
     
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Welcome guvnor
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    Its a good un if you can do 4.9@1.38v

    get yourself something like a Corsair H70 or H80, switch the fans on it to AP-15 Scythe GT's and highfives all around
     
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    does my motherboard look like it'll do anything like 4.8GHZ?
     
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    most should hit that easily
     
  13. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Might do, id say it really depends on the chip itself and how much voltage it requires.
     
  14. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    chips and gravy
     
  15. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Thinking of selling my main rig and maybe going with an A8-3850 mini itx build, not really using my pc for anything these days to really justify it and the APU should be fine for casual gaming
     
  16. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Just made a mitx system with an a6-3500, 500gb 7200rpm sata2 hdd, and 2*2gb 1600 9-9-9-24 ram for y mum. Impressive and snappy, windows installed real quick, not tried any games but it is not bad at all by all accounts.

    For the price it seems really good and if you can cool ok overclocking seems to be epic... to the extent that you should prolly get the a8-3800 and just clock that byach!

    edit: with stock cooler my apu was getting to like 55c 3*100% load @ 2.1ghz in a mitx case (looks good for cooling) so you will need some ok cooling i reckon... though undervolting should be easy
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Well since getting my laptop with an E450 which plays things like COD MW and L4D2 reasonably well, the A8-3850 should suffice for most current games at 720p which will be fine on my 37" TV, really not coming close to using the horsepower of my 2500k at 4.6ghz whatsoever, don't even encode these days as I have my PC hooked up to my xbox for streaming and a direct connection to the TV via hdmi for anything the xbox won't play :rolleyes:
     
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Can any of you help me?

    I got my old copy of red alert out and tried to play it, and all that happens is a little message comes up telling me windows can only run x86 or x64 software

    is there a way to fix this?
     
  19. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Have you tried setting a compatibility mode?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, I set it to windows 95 (the system requirement) and it didn't change a thing

    I don't see why it shouldn't run

    as far as I'm aware I meet all the requirements
    75Mhz proccesor
    8MB of Ram
    1MB Video Card
    Direct X 3
     
  21. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Hmmm... might just be too old. You'll probably find someone who has got it working via Google.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    So who in the right mind would buy a 500Gb hard drive for £257.99 and not a penny less...

    Ebuyer Error
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,878 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,901
    Location:
    London,UK
    Maybe a collector as Samsung dont make hard drives anymore.
     
  24. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,734 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Wrong, a faggot.
     
  25. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Tried running it in a VM?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)