1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    Does anyone know where I can get a dual 5.25" bay acetal reservoir that isn't an EK-bay Spin reservoir?
     
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    Got mine done by Sky a few months back
     
  3. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    XSPC 750i?
     
  4. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    That's acrylic. It doesn't matter any more, I just realized that Danger Den ships worldwide.
     
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    watch for tax dude;)
     
  6. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    Yeah... I gave up on my search. Since this is my first time water cooling, an EK x2 250 advanced (tube res) will have to do.
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,133
    Location:
    London,UK
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    I don't see the point of tablets, so SSD gets my vote.
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,133
    Location:
    London,UK
    yeah I was just thinkin that myself.... Id definitely use my netbook a lot more if it was 'faster'. The E-350 APU is weak when it comes to loading windows up.
     
  10. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    get a tablet pc :D
     
  11. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Me personally netbook + smartphone kinda negates any need for a tablet, i see a tablet as an extravagant waste. An SSD on the other hand might be a nice boost for the netbook.
     
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    thats how i feel, i just assumed you were a tablet dude....

    Phone is really good that ways
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  13. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    oy!

    [​IMG]

    used to be busy around here - and funny!
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
  15. vega22

    vega22

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    th sun is out, most of the uk are in beer gardens :thumb:
     
  16. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    Diablo 3 happened :D
     
  17. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well I do agree on the awesome weather. But no reason we can't talk about BBQs here!

    Also : everyone here knows about hotukdeals right? Worth checking a few times a day!

    Also : I need an active subwoofer. Anyone got one (or know where to get one cheapish)?

    and Diablo 3, I'm tempted but no time really. Just BF3 if I wanna game for now!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yep Bought some Shorts from them today!!!


    Oh, I just bought a new set of TV speakers with Tesco Points. Best bet is Ebay, you can get some really good re-conditioned or lightly used units
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,133
    Location:
    London,UK
    you know your internets no good for shit when pingtest selects maidenhead or milton keynes as the server when your pretty much sitting at a desk 50 or so miles back down south.

    Not the worst ive experienced however - one time it bounced me off a server in france.

    I think my ISPs servers are having spaz out again
     
  20. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Not sure this is allowed. hehe

    [​IMG]

    oh yeah. been sitting in a tab on it's own for like a week now!

    edit: this image is awesome lolllll
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,133
    Location:
    London,UK
    Patiently waiting for Novatech to delivery my Samsung 830 SSD :pimp::pimp:


    and now the bad news...

    Its going in my HP DM1 and from what a lotta people say, the sata controller on this laptop is pretty weak and wont be able to get the full speed out of the SSD.

    theres no clear info if the DM1 supports Sata 6/GBs but many say it does though theres no proof at the same time.

    Its currently running a 320GB WD Scorpio Black which i think is Sata 3/GBs.


    Wont know about the speeds until it gets here
     
  22. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    If you are hardworking enough you can dump the M4 to the DM1 and keep the 830 in the tower.
     
  23. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    I'm sure it will be fast enough unless that sata controller is really fubared
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,133
    Location:
    London,UK
    very true. but for some reason my even when i trim all the crap from my current W7 installation on my laptop it seems to come close to 100GBs and i have no idea whats taking up all that space. I dont really use the laptop that much unless im away from home or just lazy and fancy doing my surfing from elsewhere like downstairs.

    Could be virus activity but nothings come up on multiple virus and malware scanners. and i want to avoid a complete reinstall of this OS cuz i only installed it a few months ago and doing the windows updates just takes FOREVER - Like literally the whole day because the processing power of the E-350 is just so weak lol

    I dont need the extra space on my PC anyway so its good with the M4 for now. having the 256GB SSD in the DM1 would mean i wouldnt need to carry around an external hard drive all the time to store my music, movies and other stuff all the time.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2012
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    Interesting, I only have 64GB used in my entire system. That's including Starcraft II, Diablo 3, TF2 and a bunch of other utility.
     
  26. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,211 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,133
    Location:
    London,UK
    well when it comes to games, I dont have a lot installed. Even though the E-350 is capable of gaming the performance and also the size of the screen often put me off gaming on it more or less completely. so far ive only got Guild Wars, Torchlight and WORMS installed. (man i miss my old 14.1" warhorse!!)

    and since this is more or less a fresh install of W7, I dont have the usual bloatware that comes with most new laptops.


    :EDIT:

    not to mention how hot the hard drive in this gets when gaming or running anything hard drive intensive like virus scans or downloading. thats another reason why I was so keen to move to SSD.

    Really it just ticked all the right boxes.

    Lower power requirement = more battery power when away from mains.

    Less heat = more comfortable when laptop is in use.

    SSD = no moving parts and it boots up lightning fast and feels more responsive as the system quite easily gets bogged down when it comes to running multiple apps/tasks


    TBH getting this laptop was bit of a double edged sword. but I knew exactly what i was getting when i purchased it so I cant really say that i didnt know it would be this bad.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)