1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,207 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    Anyone notice EBUYER going down hill as of late??
     
  2. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hello? Where is everyone?!

    Anyway, I just sold a monitor and had to play around with the connectors on the back of my PC. Now my Asus Xonar DX/XD is no longer working, analogue or digital connectors. Back to realtek for me - any ideas how to save this?

    I haven't tried to reset it in the slot yet, yeah lazy, but still I wouldn't expect any issues...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    if all you did was play with the connectors it probably has just become slightly unseated or something if you moved the PC.
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    Not sure about the quality of service, but their prices are creeping up.

    Where is everyone? Busy drinking as always :roll:

    No idea what happened to your sound card, but try fiddling around.
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  5. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    AMEN to drinking

    just sayin'
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    No good with speakers, you will need to go somewhere else :p I am pretty well versed with mid end earphones, you can ping me up there :D

    Yes this club is dying slowly. Usual suspects are all gone.
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,739
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I'm still lurking :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    Lurking but not contreebooting!
     
  10. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    Post up guys im missing our nice club.....

    Anyone have a spare Sata Controller sitting around??
     
  11. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Bought myself an OCZ Agility 3 SSD 120gb from Scan. I originally bought a 60gb Adata SSD but they are letting me return that for the OCZ.
    Hope to hell i don't get any problems that others have with OCZ SSDs.
     
  12. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hey

    I also got a 120GB SSD for myself recently. Not a particularly fast one but it was only like 40 quid due to a HotUKDeals deal at the time.

    Anyway, it was for my laptop, and while it was a bitch to fit it's made a difference. However I still find the laptop a bit slow doing things like surfing etc. It's a dell but I installed a clean Win7 install and the drivers are up to date. TRIM and full write caching are enabled. It's just slow at moderate/heavy browsing and even sometimes waking up and switching tabs.

    It's a first get Core i3 (2.2ghz I think) and has 4gb ram (3 available or so). Any tips? I'm thinking this is the best I will get from this but my previous experience of going HDD>SSD on my desktop suggests it should be a fair bit faster now. Perhaps it's just a crappy SSD? 120GB OCZ Technology Vertex Plus. Even my Kingston SSD100 seemed quicker in my desktop my hazy memory suggests.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    I've not disappeared, just far less active.
     
  14. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    No idea, my brother is using a 1st gen i3 laptop too, and somehow feels more sluggish than my POS laptop. Install 64bit OS? I am shooting in the dark here.
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,207 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    I went from a 7200rpm WD Scorpio Black to a 240GB Sandisk Extreme SSD with my laptop.

    with its combined 8GB of DDR3, 64bit OS and read speeds of 550MB/s it still feels sluggish, though many would say that an AMD E-350 is a weak processor which it is.

    Its still a huge improvement compared to when i had a mechanical hard drive installed though.

    Its just the way things are sometimes.
     
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    I know I don't post in this thread at the best of times, but thought I'd just let you guys know that I've massively downgraded my rig due to monetary issues and am avoiding the forums so I don't feel sad about epic rigs and such ha ha.

    Hope everyone is well!
     
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  17. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    anyone know how i can Flash a LiteOn iHAS224 to a iHAS624??
     
  18. UbErN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    256 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Ingerland
    Just bought a nice shiny chrome, chavvy exhaust backbox and performance air filter for my car :D :laugh:
     
  19. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    I got Skyrim recently and Guild Wars 2 also. Haven't had time to really play either for more than a couple of hours. Which first? :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,207 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    have you ever played Guild wars 1?
     
  21. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    nope :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Hello tigger is still here, though not been on for a while.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,207 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    then Guild wars 2 would be a great experience for you. Mind you though the game is still ridiculously buggy, voice acting can be exceptionally bad in some cases and the NPC Ai is thicker then a plank of wood when it comes to doing missions/quests that include them. Not to mention that they either do little to no damage which can make a few missions really hard if you solo them aaaaaaaaaaaaannd occasionally their armour is made out of bin liner and you will find yourself turning a mission into a drinking game which is what i did.....


    Since you havent played the first guild wars. you have more of an open mind then a oldskool veteran like me whose spent 3 or 4 years in Guild Wars 1 and has uninstalled Guild Wars 2 because the developers have just totally dropped the ball and the product itself is clearly unfinished.

    As many have said and which I am most inclined to agree with, to simply put it.... the devs needed more money. and what better way to make more money then release a game prematurely before its 100% finished and work on it while the game is live so it infuriates the people who bought the game and especially those veterans from GW1.


    Its a nice game, it could be a lot lot better. Im waiting for an expansion pack to be released before i go back to it.
     
  24. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    Uni is swamping me with shits
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,207 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    well make sure to flush and leave the seat down cuz i dont wanna smell it
     
  26. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Anyone want a Planetside2 key?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)