1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    Not enough snow (to close the schools) here down in London. Hoping for more snow.
     
  2. computertechy

    computertechy

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    833 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    i bet it was you who snatched up the last 5970!!! :laugh:

    where u getting em from mate??

    MORE SNOW AND NO WORK FTW!!!

    our council is soo f****** lazy.... they just dumped the grit in massive piles on hill's

    thank F*** my transit has traction control :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,874 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
    hehe yeah - i got mine from overclockers.co.uk - i paid for a xfx 5970 standard edition but because of the delays in them getting in stock they gave me a xfx5970 black edition instead :D

    I live in the countryside so there are no gritters out here, been trapped at home since the snow hit, oh well :p
     
  4. computertechy

    computertechy

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    833 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    LMAO it was you!!!!

    how you liking the card?

    looks like you will be using it quite frequently over the weekend mate... hehe
    make sure u have plenty of food and water. if not u could always melt some snow....but dont melt the yellow stuff :p

    .Seriously be careful.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,874 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
    Card's pretty good (tons better than my 4870x2) - word of warning though the overvolt tool doesn't save settings so if you shutdown/statup again and left the card overclocked in the CCC then you get system lockups as soon as the CCC starts to load as even if it's in 2D mode it crashes the drivers if running on stock voltage and 3d clocks set too high (i don't now why - xfx know of the issue and wont fix it anytime soon :( )

    I'm currently trying to use msi afterburner but that doesn't have the ram voltage controls :shadedshu
     
  6. computertechy

    computertechy

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    833 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    seems to me to be some fail from ATI driver Dev. Similar stuff happened to the 4800 series on release as well.

    shouldn't really need to overclock the card anyway :p

    have fun with your 5970 buddy ;)

    :toast::toast:
     
    human_error says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,615 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    Cold and bored lads, and the snow is melting.

    D:
     
  9. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    It's actually snowing again here! Whoop whoop.
     
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England

    Oh with any luck that means I'll get some in 4-5 hours :laugh:
     
  11. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I hate the snow i fell on my ass carrying two bottles of sprite :(
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    It was the Sprite, sprites that did it!
     
  13. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Sprite replaced my blood.

    Infact now I think about it; sprite ruined a game of l4d for me yesterday :twitch:
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,225 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,152
    Location:
    London,UK
    Im under a lot of stress....last monday - I took 1 of my 4870s back to the shop for RMA. after a bit of a chat with them & joking around that I hope sapphire send me a 5870 back - the guy bought it up that they could just send me back a 5770 if they cant find any 4870s :(

    I should get the card back by the end of next week some time (at least thats what the guy in the shop said) but im still worried....

    I may have to sell my remaining 4870 for a 5770 for crossfire.... or just sell them both & get a 5850 :p
     
  15. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,874 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
    Or sell the 5770 and buy a used 4870 for a lot less, thus making a profit :D
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,225 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,152
    Location:
    London,UK
    blah, I hate buying pre-used hardware. but we shall see.

    a 5770 is less powerful cuz of the 128bit memory interface right??
     
  17. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    LOL check the new 3d06 bench thread, I have just hit 28k with 2 x 5770's :toast:

    The mem oc's like a dream making up for the 128bit bus ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,225 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,152
    Location:
    London,UK
    well I'll see what happends. anyway - I'l definitely bench both 4870's 'if' i ever get it back.

    But i thought 3d06 didnt support duel or crossfired cards??
     
  19. computertechy

    computertechy

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    833 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    yea 06 does, well their is a difference when i enable and disable crossfire anyway :laugh:


    been snowing like hell in Brighton today, has just stopped, have -4.3.c on a calibrated temp gauge :eek: damn cold out their

    EDIT: sorry to hear about your 4870 freedom :( hope it works out :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    its snowing yet AGAIN tonight and tomorow >_>
     
  21. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Thats good matey, looks like no college on Monday! OH YEA!
     
  22. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    And risk of not getting money and food from our parents to feed us=BAD
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,225 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,152
    Location:
    London,UK
    my rooms FREEZING without my missing 4870....its usually fairly warm in here but 1 4870 doesnt cut it....

    damn you global warming maybe I should turn the fan on my remaining 4870 down so temps are sitting just under 50-60c - its just sitting above 40'c right now
     
  24. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    Do you mean off?

    If you do, your room will probably will colder as the heat will just stay in the case instead of going out in your room.

    Fans and heatsinks don't make things colder just move where the heat is.
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,225 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,152
    Location:
    London,UK
    Im talking about the fan on the graphics card - not the ones on the case - got 5 fans on my 902.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)