1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    GPU still doesnt go above 31 degrees during intense games, and 30 on every other game. Not sure if its giving incorrect temps or not, it doesnt sound right.
    CPU hits 70-71 on a bad day like Sunday during a P95 run, luckily theres a lot of room where the intakes and exhausts are, so it gets plenty of fresh air. If I had it on sane voltages like most other 3570k's at 4.4 (maybe 1.25v?) it would be far lower...
    I might look into volt modding my 780, I've read a guide on it. I'm not happy with the locked voltage at the moment, and I have loads of thermal headroom.
     
  2. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    hmm 30*c does sound slightly oddly low, could be true not sure how'd you test it! whats the ambients as well?

    well i havent hit 60*c yet and its 30+*c ambients up to 1.6v which is pretty incredible i think! (max so far 52*c) so far testing 4800mhz seems quick as hell even with low RAM speeds! wish i could find a full cover block for my board, half tempted to get a CHVF and block that!

    seems a shame that your card is vlocked, especially being on water. is a waste to be quite honest!

    is there any bios that unlocks them or is it the same as AMD, no chance in hell!


    AND YOUR SIG LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL
     
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I cant find anywhere that's recorded GTX 780 temps on water. It is about 23-27 degrees while idle, then jumps to 30-31 degrees while I'm gaming. Is the temp sensor on the chip/PCB or what? What reports GTX 780 temps on the card, and how is it reporting temps this low?!
    Sadly no BIOS voltage unlocks that I know of, only volt mod PCB's which involved desecrating my card with a nice red PCB and lots of solder.
    I'm stuck at 1.2Ghz Core because of the 1.2v limit.
     
  4. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    bogus sensors dont usually report temp changes that accurately!

    low voltage/locked may mean it stays cool, also the vrms arent affecting/raising core temps so could be true. maybe someone who has a titan/780 on water could say!

    temps sensors are on the gpu i believe. just like a core sensor on cpu!


    you talking about one of those external hard modded volt boards?? aaaah definitely not for the faint hearted!
     
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
  6. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    you wasnt lying!


    damn that seems a lot for a bit more of an overclock!
     
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
  8. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    LOL ya say ya not keen on flashing a bios but up for hard modding it! :laugh:

    if you got a bios switch there shouldnt be too much risk, just always follow the guides!
     
  9. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Well I can just back up with GPUZ and flash with NVflash5.0.x from what I see. I just prefer getting my hands burnt with solder when doing things, plus the custom OC BIOS only adds .125v, as my card boosts to 1.2v anyway. Might try it tonight. Maybe get close to 1.3Ghz mark.

    So this has nothing to do with tech, but i figured this might be fun for those on the piss - especially the day afterwards.
    So for the last weekend, enjoying the sunshine, I've been drinking Jim Beam whiskey, and orange juice with Blue Curacao which looks like this:
    [​IMG]
    And now, for the last 2 days, my piss (and everything else) is literally coming out blue. It's awesome.
    Enjoy the sun and cocktails, have fun on the toilet too.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2013
    d1nky says thanks.
  10. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    OCUK Forums suck, they dont automatically resize images...
    Anybody can find a second hand/cheap Corsair C70 in white?
     
  11. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Anyone any experience with the 1TB platter Seagate Barracuda's? just bought an 2TB ST2000DM001 one off dabs outlet on eBay for £68 delivered, from what I've seen the write speeds on these in HDDTune average around 155-160MB/s which is pretty damn good for mechanical drives, should have it before Friday :toast:
     
  12. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I got two 2TB Seagates, awesome cheap drives. Slight noise when the axle is parked but meh, least of my noise worries.
    I get bursts of up to 175-200MB/s but sustained speeds around 125-140MB/s.
     
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    RCoon says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Are they the ones I listed above? 7200.14 ST2000DM001
     
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    One of them is, used as my Steam drive. The other is a model 1 year older.
     
  16. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    The few reviews I have seen were averaging 150-160MB/s are you running them on your SATA3 ports with AHCI enabled?
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Yup, that transfer speed depends entirely on the size of the files your transferring.
     
  18. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    those drives are awesome I've got 2 myself
     
  19. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I feel better now, only worrying thing is the paltry 1 year warranty.
     
  20. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Never had a HDD fail for the last 7 years. Read up on the statistics. Out of all HDD's shipped from WD, Seagate, Hitachi, the RMA percentage is around 1.4% within the first 6 months.

    I still have a 300GB IDE drive that still functions flawlessly. (Also seagate)
     
  21. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,020 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I'm in the middle of an WD RMA and have RMA'd a Seagate before aswell, though it is by large luck of the draw and for the most part most people are fine.
     
  22. Boozad

    Boozad

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    69 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wolves, England
    OK for another Brit to drop by in here every now and again lads? Only just spotted this part of the forum to be honest as I'm more of a part-time lurker and don't post much.
     
  23. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    We're open to everyone, including TheMailMan sometimes, he cant get enough of the british atmosphere.
     
  24. Boozad

    Boozad

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    69 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wolves, England
    Sorted, I'll drop by every now and again if I can tear myself off Battlefield 3. Finally bought it a couple of weeks ago and got hooked on the multiplayer. Pretty sad for a 36 year old I suppose.
     
  25. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,990 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Nonsense, my old work colleagues dad (57 YO) still plays Left4Dead2 and ME3 on a very regular basis. In fact he's playing it on my old MSI 6850 nowadays.
    If you look for the TPU Teamspeak 3 Server on here, you could join them in BF3 in the evenings, its quite a bit of fun.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)