1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,067 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,955
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I don't have to use the USB sound card, the headset runs as stereo without it through two standard 3.5 jacks. I'm curious as to which offers the best sound quality though.

    Besides that I have a 5.1 surround sound speaker system I run through the sound card.
     
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,739
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I have a Creative Xifi Elite Pro that would go with them headphones very nicely, you know the one with the flash IO box, full remote with the entertainment, gaming and full pro music packages :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK
    thats why the Creative SB-Z is so awesome, It has a dedicated port just for headphones - all you need to do is go into their UI and switch from speakers to headphones in seconds! Its easy!

    my SB-Z is the only reason why im even thinking about getting some Philips Fidelio X1's
     
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,067 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,955
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Oh my, that is shiny. Checked fleabay, and the reasonably priced ones are collect only :( the others are rather expensive!
     
  5. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    517 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    UK
    I feel like I've walked into an audiophile court case...
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK
    SB-Z is no where near Audiophile grade. the Xonar D2X is indeed an amazing card though and sounds pretty amazing for music/movies, you want the STX if you want audiophile grade :p
     
  7. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    517 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    UK
    I simply have a set of JVC HA-RX700 cans plugged into the USB soundcard integrated in my keyboard. I'm in no way close to audiophile.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK
    one soundcard not Audiophile enough.
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,739
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    They came in at 200 quid new but I have to say it packs some serious punch, has the usual on board dedicated ram etc and headphones have their own independent setup features that give you so many options............. and I have a box complete sat in my study cupboard!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    517 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    UK
    So I'm doing a build for someone in the summer. I've come up with a parts list, but I'd like to hear people's thoughts. My 'client' as I shall call him is wanting a specific type of build (think beginning with 'H' and rhyming with 'Macintosh'), which does limit the options for parts a little bit. He is on a budget, and is wanting to do some semi-professional editing (he has software for a certain OS, which is why he is specific about his build), and some casual gaming. Here's the build so far:

    http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/3FDaQ

    I am aware that this build is without a dedicated graphics card, but as I said he's on a budget and says he'll buy a graphics card later when he has more money. I've also spied a low-price GT 640 that I can throw in if necessary.

    Thoughts?

    Layton
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2014
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK
    Looks ok to me, but you might wanna split that ram into 2x4GB so you can make use of dual channel.

    You dont need to, and even if you did it might not net you much performance but dual channel is dual channel.
     
    LaytonJnr says thanks.
  12. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    517 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    UK
    My thinking was that if he does decide to go further in the editing field, he could easily just stick another 8GB stick for more performance. I would've done dual channel if it wasn't a Mini-ITX board.
     
  13. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    I got me a Xonar D1 it's pretty fucking good after you fix the EQ
     
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,067 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,955
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Are you implying you.might sell it sir?
     
  15. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,739
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Well I am not using it and am in the process of doing a major upgrade (x79, 4820K etc) and the x79 board I am looking at has Good quality on board sound, I am sure if you were interested we may be able to negotate a decent deal that suits the both of us. What was the Fleabay price range?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,067 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,955
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Anywhere between 60 (pickup only) and 200 :laugh:
     
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,739
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Really? Seems a bit excessive at £200 even if it's brand new as they origionally came out about 4 years ago, I will drop you a PM for consideration.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,067 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,955
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK

    I think Ed is voiced by a different person now :(
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  20. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,067 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,955
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Sorry about not being overly talkative last night on TS, these days we've been getting pretty serious in Warframe, it's taken over my entire evenings these last two weeks. I haven't even watched the lastest Game of Thrones episode because of it!
     
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK

    dont worry about it. I managed to get warframe working, sat through the tutorial, got to the part where i had to choose which world to teleport to and thought 'meh' and went to join some TPU guys in BF4.
     
  22. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,067 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,955
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    That's fair enough. Maybe when BF4 isn't broken in some way I might actually pay the ridiculous amount of money they're asking for it.

    EDIT: HAMAGERD MY HEADFOANZ ARRIVED. Gonna make sweet love to them when i gets home.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2014
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK
    Yeah, its still £18 just for the base game (no expansion packs)

    Not a bad price however. I remember buying CoD4 for £20 back in the day so its not bad if you dont care for premium and all the other DLC.
     
  24. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,067 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,955
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I think I'd require premium in order to play with the TPU guys, and to not feel like I'm missing out on a Megalodon.

    Base game I can get for £15, added premium is £30. That is the most stupidest pricing I've ever seen in my life.
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)