1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I thought I was going to be able to get a better OC but it just the same really. No improvement at all and I prefer ASUS over Foxconn.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,215 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,143
    Location:
    London,UK
    Sounds like you could do with a brand new Xonar D2X too - If you want I could knock the price down a little further - it sounds leagues better then your creative ZS!! :rockout::rockout:
     
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Oh no!

    I've started getting atefacts in Burnout Paradise. I'm not turning my back on this flash just yet though. It's only in Burnout and I've been forcing AA and MLAA so I'm hoping it's just an old game stressing out a bit.

    It's not happening in Metro 2033 which I've been playing more than anything else. I do however keep thinking that I'm seeing them but I think they're specks of dust. Just not used to the level of detail or something.

    Anyroad, I'll keep you posted.

    :/

    UPDATE: No corruption in 3DMark06, personally I wouldn't be running this but as Freedom asked. I can't say I'm all that impressed tbh. I nearly hit 19000 with a ASUS Matrix GTX285.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,825 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,750
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Its your CPU, I got over 25000 with a 5850, you need to increase that Powerplay to 10% and run it again, money says better score! What speed you running the memory...... default 6970 speeds??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,215 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,143
    Location:
    London,UK
    I pull over 21k with just a single 5850 - thats some poor score
     
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Yeah default 6970 core & mem.

    :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    that is wayyy to expensive for me, even if i did have the cash my both my and my brother's PC are fucked, i tested out that CPU in my PC now this piece of shit wont boot with either processor in it. he is gonna buy an AMD X6, motherboard and RAM. now im stuck again....
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,215 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,143
    Location:
    London,UK
    Dude - My Xonar STX cost me £130 - I paid £100 for this D2X - the fact i offerd it to you at almost below half price - you are laughing. card still retails at £90-100 and nobody wants to buy it for £70 despite brand new - so dont give me this too expensive BS - talk with your wallet not your mouth!! :toast::toast:
     
  9. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Obviously the right attitude to take to clinch the deal.

    :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,825 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,750
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    OK, well it's either powerplay stopping you drawing enough power for the card at load (research shows that the powerplay config is not changed to the different 6870 config when flashed) and therefore you need to give that GPU more powerzzzz or it's memory, most (but not all) 6950's memory is rated at 1250 so with this new error checking thingy you may be getting massive throttling, my advice would be therefore in this order:

    1. Pull memory back to 1250 and try another run, all other settings the same..... score?
    2. Put memory back to default 6970 speeds, increase powerplay to 10% and do a run..... score?
    3. Pull memory back to 1250, increase Powerplay to +10% and do another run..... score?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Will do. I ever really bench for shits & giggles. As my games play brilliantly I'm not too bothered. Just a little bit worried (& paranoid) about the artefact that appeared whilst in Burnout. Didn't reappear in any other game nor did any other corruption.

    I will try your suggestion though and see how the results differ.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,215 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,143
    Location:
    London,UK
    Ive Been offerd £60 for my D2X :eek: not too sure if i should part with it for that price....
     
  13. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,825 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,750
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    It's all sale and demand, times are tough, many see a good quality sound card as a luury they can do without, especially with half decent on board 7.1 chips and faster CPU's to push them..... although it's up to you of course, if you need to sell it bad.... yes, if not....no!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,215 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,143
    Location:
    London,UK
    well the idea was to sell this Xonar and get an SSD - but ive been trying to sell it for a month and theres been loads of interest but no-one wants, asside from the polish peoples who email me from gumtree and lowball me for £40
     
  15. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Anyone here know much abour petrol RC cars? My little brother just bought one for me but we don't know the first thing about them! He got it second hand.
    Anyone know of a good site to learn about them?
     
  16. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    All I know is that I'm jealous. A mate's brother had one once. Bloody thing went like the clappers, it was awesome.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  17. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    A colleague in our Networks division has one, I'll ask him if he knows any decent sites.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Cheers guys, I just managed to find it on the Traxxas site. It's this one. He paid £30! Got a ton of spare bits with it aswell.
    Wanna get my hands dirty and service it etc.!!!
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,215 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,143
    Location:
    London,UK
    A friend of mine flys the petrol driven remote control helichoppers. the engines are small a noisey like a mopeds but it takes a lotta skill to make them do stunts. I want a remote control petrol driven submarine lol. theres a park near me where hundreds of people test their remote control boats and it would be funny as hell to stick a remotecontol 1/50 scale sub in there. even if it cant dive. if it was a model of a german u-boat it would be hilarious
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  20. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    I join the RC club here, but with electric motors instead (well, there is 1 petrol car, and its faaaassstt). Will try to get as much information as possible off the senior members for you. Please do remind me every so often if I forget.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  21. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I saw a German U-boat in a pond at Dover, the guy was trying to get it under another boat and capsize it! The other boat had a kind of water pistol on it and he was squirting my son (middle of summer - he loved it!) loads of fun to watch!

    Yea this thing's 40mph+ :eek: lol just remembered Gas2100's into RC stuff, gonna chuck him a PM quick.
     
  22. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    Off the top of my head: I think the motor have to be covered at all times so that random dirt cannot get in them (and can screw up the petrol car real bad), make sure everything is screwed tight etcetc when you race it (stress level on the cars are unbelievable unless you start to drive them), prepare to fork out a lot of money to upgrade and repair the car (every week, there is at least one crash which costs £5-10 pounds, it adds up fast). Especially for a petrol car, since that the car is full of metal from head to tail, a crash on a bad angle will cause lots of things to break(mostly due to shock), so make sure you are prepared to (financially) handle those.

    For UK only, I think they use this site: http://www.modelsport.co.uk/?gclid=CP7ygI73uaYCFcoe4QodAVe9Gw
    But since that there are a lot of HK members (last time), they used to source their parts form Hong Kong since that its cheaper, and also from US (where parts are easier to find).

    I took a look at your car, and I notice that the wheels are "jutting out". Please be careful when you crash, because I once crashed at 30-45 degree and the took out the whole front suspension (plenty of superglue, fancy glue and replacement to fix). That's with electric motor, no petrol, mind you.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  23. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Cheers man, I'll take note of the dirt problems. Crashing won't be too bad, seems this things made for severe abuse. You can drop it from over 10ft. without worrying (apparently) :eek: I can see how the suspension would still be busted if this thing crashed at that angle though. I bent up the Radius Arm (wishbone?) on my old Escort hitting a kerb like that (see my pro paint skills in attachment). It was wet, on cobbles and I had bad tyres :slap:
     

    Attached Files:

    Fourstaff says thanks.
  24. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    That's what I thought too, until I did some "back of envelope maths" and found out that the forces exerted on these cars are really really high (~20kph to zero in less than 1cm? yeah, even at that size, plenty of unwanted force). Yeah, high enough to bend a 2mm steel rod, and snap another cleanly into 2 (shh, don't tell anyone this ;)). I drove over a small (<5mm) pothole and the whole car flipped over.

    Its the inlet and outlet valves you should be worried about, not the whole motor btw. Motors get really hot, but if you can strap on some megahalems....
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,215 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,143
    Location:
    London,UK
    Id just go around ramming the other boats. - I dont think they can dive that deep though - maybe just submerge

    most of the people in the park i got to have models based on racing boats - all electric though. but every so often someone brings an petrol in
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)