1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Aah, down here you're not allowed petrol ones because of the animals. Leccy only. Damn wildlife :laugh:
     
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,820 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Well the 6950 is in and running, gonna leave it for a couple of days before I flash to 6970, so far it's looking good though!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I started noticing a little bit more of this horizontal artefact in BC2 that appeared, only happens when I'm in tanks.

    :(

    Hope the new cats will amend these abnormalities.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    WHO is that in your sig? she is fine!
     
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,820 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    It could be that with the full 6970 Bios your memory don't like the extra voltage that it's specced for, for that reason alone I will flash just to the modded Bios where only the shaders are unlocked and no voltages are raise, I can always raise them a little in RBE if I want more.

    Eva Longoria :cool:
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    scaminatrix says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,820 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Innocent.... just to give you an update, I couldn't wait! So I have taken initially the soft option and flashed Rui's modded XFX 6950 Bios just to unlock the extra shaders, I have not tinkered yet anymore so I have the full 1536 shaders, I have gone +5% only on the powerplay thingy just to make sure that there is enough juice to prevent any throttling and currently have her at the CCC max of 840mhz, nothing else in the modded Bios is touched like voltages or clock speeds. I can report that she is running smooth and no artifacts after 30 minutes of Furmark, even the temps seem no different from the basic 6950 configuration (idles in the forties, fan never gets high enuff to invade my drums). I am sure this way will avoid any possibility of issues down the road. I might overclock a little further and even do a bench or two with Afterburner on higher voltage but not yet, I am happy ATM..... my concern all along with the full flash was those memory voltages which are higher in the full 6970 Bios where the memory is lower spec in the 6950.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    DAMN IT!

    Got my TV, 5m HDMI and 5m Aerial cable, but not my freaking wall mount! It's just laid next to me... asking to be used :(
     
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,344 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Home
    Sounds like you got yourself some nice women there :roll:.
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  10. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Think I'll dump the 6970 BIOS into RBE and make my own. Just have the shaders unlocked.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    Virgin media's schedule for increasing upload speeds.
    link
     
  12. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    I feel really left out with all these new cards coming out. I got this 6850 in Decemeber for £130 to replace my old GTX260 but im starting to doubt that purchase.

    Fucking hate Glasgow! its raining again and there is nothing in the fridge for munching.

    EDIT: Actually know what annoys me something awful, the fact Virgin Media send me letters and leaflets advertising their products but i cant even receive Cable in my street! I can get crappy regular broadband through my phone and not fibre optic.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  13. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    We had to bitch and complain for a few months before they came and dug up the place for new internet lines. Now we've got fibre optic lines which are awesome so you'd think they'd upgrade Glasgow and Edinburgh before our crappy little town.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,820 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    InnocentCriminal says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I actually get more artefacts with that BIOS.

    :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,820 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    The only way to really test that your card is not damaged is to flick the switch to Bios 2 and see if you are still getting them with the stock 6950 bios.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Managed to find them UK TPU logos, had a little fiddle with them too. They're the same background colours as our avatar section, and the post section.
     

    Attached Files:

    Tatty_One and HUSKIE say thanks.
  18. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    The original BIOS is fine as is the 6970 BIOS. I'll keep fiddling. I bumped the core to 880MHz with the file you linked me to and that's when more, smaller artefacts started appearing in Burnout. In away I'm expecting the unlocked shaders to have a few issues.

    Still, I'm slowing increasing the core speed to see how things improve/turnout.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    742 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    Sheffield Near City centre
    NICE pics matey....:nutkick:
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,820 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Do members wanna select one to use as a siggie?
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    If anybody wants a unique one let me know and I'll see what I can come up with. I'll be changing my avvy shortly.
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,210 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    Ahhhh another day, another week and another attempt at trying to oc tattys 5850 :toast:
     
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  23. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Hows that

    <<
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  24. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    CAUTION THIS IS ENGLAND!
    i need one of them ;)
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,210 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    Tatty. this direct cu cooler needs moar heatpipes. the one on the left doesnt even get hot, but the other burns my finger!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)