• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Thecus Announces the N4200PRO NAS Server

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,312
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,257
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#2
Actually with 3TB drives from WD it should go up to 12 TBs.

What exactly is the container that slides out of the back? Is that how you access the processor and RAM.
 

Helli

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
57
Likes
12
Location
Germany, near Munich
Processor Intel Xeon E5620
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB A-Data DDR3-2000 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 590 (MSI & PNY)
Storage Samsung HD204UI/HD501LJ
Display(s) 24" Samsung SyncMaster 245B
Case Aerocool Xpredator
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TruePower Quattro 1200W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64 Edition
#3
...What exactly is the container that slides out of the back? Is that how you access the processor and RAM.
No. It's a Lithium-Ion Battery used by the Built-In Mini-UPS.

Helli
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#4
i like these things but there too damn expensive, for the price im better off using old parts to build a fileserver
Even the low end model is $699
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#5
Intel Atom and puts performance into overdrive = oxymoron.

On a more serious note, this looks very nice.

I think Microsoft is really beginning to lose out in the NAS market. They need to get a version of Windows out that does basic NAS services for <$100. Windows Server is just way too expensive. And home-server just too poor a reputation, like Windows 7 Starter. And all these Linux based NAS systems are much harder for the average home user/SOHO/small business owner to have to learn, use and configure. I've just gone through the painful process of moving our office files off a (limited and basic) Linkstation NAS that was UNBELIEVEABLY GOOD 8 years ago when we got it, but rather poor, slow, limited featured, and proprietary and onto a "WinNAS rack box". But it was *only* because we had some deep pockets and wanted low-learning-curve maintenance that we went onto the windows platform.

MS needs to make windows much more accessible in the NAS space. Soon, for every "windows computer" there is going to be a non-windows box running NAS, mediaboxes, etc. A strategic mistake.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236
Likes
15
Location
EU
#6
Actually with 3TB drives from WD it should go up to 12 TBs.
Not everything can handle 3TB, that goes over the classical limit of a lot of software/firmware and perhaps these boxes didn't get with the times yet.
I'd check before assuming too much.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,257
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#7
Not everything can handle 3TB, that goes over the classical limit of a lot of software/firmware and perhaps these boxes didn't get with the times yet.
I'd check before assuming too much.
As an individual drive, if it can handle 2TB's it can handle 3TB's.

This was probably written up before WD released the info. on 3TB drives being available. Unless they hard coded that limit into the firmware of the controller, the 3TB drives will not be a problem. And that can be updated.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236
Likes
15
Location
EU
#8
Lots of stuff in IT could be fixed by updates, but never is, it's hard enough with normal software to get them to update stuff but with firmware it only gets worse.