• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Theory of DDR3 Voltage Limitations for Bloomfield Gains Ground

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Nehalem does promise to be a processor to look out for, it would be Intel's next installment, post the successful Core 2 series processors. This time however, Intel made a core modification with the way the system handles memory. The Bloomfield processors house a massive 192-bit wide memory controller for supporting tri-channel DDR3 memory. It however was found that the controller could bring in limitations to the DIMM voltages that the system could support.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Damit that meens that the new Kingston HyperX 2000MHz rated @ 1.9V could fry Core i7 processors
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.92/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#3
Wow everyone who purchased DDR3 in the hopes of saving time and energy shopping for new RAM for their x58 builds just got screwed. Although, anyone who would switch to this new platform so quickly likely wouldn't care about the costs. :rolleyes:
 

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#4
This is a downer :( all the current DDR3 ram is useless now, as most is 1.8V+
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,818 (1.01/day)
Likes
262
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) R9 380X 4gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p12 093
#5
is it posible to instal the 1,8 volt ram and lower it in bios to 1.65?
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#7
Why would it be useless? IIRC, you can lower the voltage of RAM as well as increase it. So what's stopping you lowering your RAM speed and voltage to the point where it works? I would have thought BIOS updates for the motherboard could add support for higher voltage RAM and it's most likely just a deterrent, it probably won't fuck anything up.
 

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#8
Why would it be useless? IIRC, you can lower the voltage of RAM as well as increase it. So what's stopping you lowering your RAM speed and voltage to the point where it works? I would have thought BIOS updates for the motherboard could add support for higher voltage RAM and it's most likely just a deterrent, it probably won't fuck anything up.
Just a deterrent? Since the memory controller is now on the chip i doubt that it is. Will have to see what the reviews say, and wait for someone to stuff on 2.2V+ through it and see what happens.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#9
It's nice to see that vendors will be pushed to comply with JEDEC standards at last. Most "high performance" DDR3 modules operate at voltages in excess of 1,8V - the maximum JEDEC allowed for DDR2 memory! I have rarely spotted DDR3 modules working at 1,5V, actually, and I certainly don't find this to be a good practice - if JEDEC state a maximum voltage for given memory technology, they surely have the reason to do so. But I guess it will be hard to justify water-cooled modlues working @1,5V, right :).
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#10
Just a deterrent? Since the memory controller is now on the chip i doubt that it is. Will have to see what the reviews say, and wait for someone to stuff on 2.2V+ through it and see what happens.
DIMM @ 2.2V + Bloomfield = Boomfield.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#12
It's nice to see that vendors will be pushed to comply with JEDEC standards at last. Most "high performance" DDR3 modules operate at voltages in excess of 1,8V - the maximum JEDEC allowed for DDR2 memory! I have rarely spotted DDR3 modules working at 1,5V, actually, and I certainly don't find this to be a good practice - if JEDEC state a maximum voltage for given memory technology, they surely have the reason to do so. But I guess it will be hard to justify water-cooled modlues working @1,5V, right :).
Here, here! This is what we should be seeing out of DDR3 memory to begin with. If they want to up the speed then invest in doing so lower then 1.65V or don't introduce anything at all. DDR3 IMO has a been a complete mess with higher then normal voltage and higher then normal latency. Maybe with this requirement the memory market will finally get it together!

We should be seeing timing of 7-7-7 or lower and voltage of 1.5V DDR3 1600. Instead we are seeing 9-9-9 at 1.8V+ or 7-7-7 at 1.8V+. It shouldn't be that way if they want to convince people that DDR3 is next gen. That's why it's not doing well IMO.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#13
I find this odd -- how is it that AMD gets around having different voltages for their memory even though they're using the same kind of integrated memory controller? Is this something unique to DDR3 ram?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#14
I find this odd -- how is it that AMD gets around having different voltages for their memory even though they're using the same kind of integrated memory controller? Is this something unique to DDR3 ram?

Same question here...

Wonder when we'll see DDR3 modules with 6-pin PCIE power connectors? :roll:
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#15
The JEDEC of DDR2 is 1.8V. You can buy 4Gigs of ram at 2.0V which is only 0.2V difference. I can run my 4Gig kit just below 2.0V. These 4Gig kits usually come with PSC memory ICs.

Regardless of what voltage AMD can accept it shouldn't be that way. If PSC can bring 4gigs of DDR2 of memory close to JEDEC there is no reason why everyone else can't do the same with DDR3. This would bring the difference down from whopping (1.5V - 1.9V =) 0.4V to 0.1V using 4Gigs at 7-7-7!

It's funny how we went from 2Gigs of DDR2 at 2.2V (where 2.1V is more common) down to 4Gigs of ram below 2.0V! But can't see the same innovation with DDR3 which is suppose to be next gen!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
1,182 (0.30/day)
Likes
98
Location
Bellevue, WA
System Name NORMANDY
Processor Intel Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 WS
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 16GB G.SKILL (2x F3-2400C11D-8GXM) @ 2333 Quad CH
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX750 TI and 4x Plugable UGA-3000 UGB Graphics Adapters
Storage Crucial M4 128GB SSD / Seagate ST2000DX001 Hybrid HDD
Display(s) Samsung 305t and 4x Dell 2001FP
Case CM Stacker 832 + 9x120mm CM TLF-S12-EB
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCI-E
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 Gold
Mouse Logitech MX Revolution / Microsoft SideWinder Gaming
Keyboard Varmilo VB87ML Cherry MX Black Bluetooth
Software Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15: 1188
#16
I see this as a major fail if this is actually true.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#17
I find this odd -- how is it that AMD gets around having different voltages for their memory even though they're using the same kind of integrated memory controller? Is this something unique to DDR3 ram?
Exactly what I'm thinking.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#20

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#21
why release a motherboard or better yet an entire platform when nothing that exists today will work with it? sure... maybe a few sets of ram will work, but why even have ddr3 when its gonna be running ddr1 and ddr2 speeds?

im sure memory companies will make ram that complies but jeeez.... it would be better for intel to unlock this BS voltage link.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
1,106 (0.31/day)
Likes
178
Location
london
System Name Staggered
Processor Intel i5 6600k (XSPC Rasa)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170 Gaming K3
Cooling RX360 (3*Scythe GT1850) + RX240 (2*Scythe GT1850) + Laing D5 Vario (with EK X-Top V2)
Memory 2*8gb Team Group Dark @3000Mhz 16-16-16-36 1.25v
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 1070 HerculeZ
Storage 256gb Samsung 830 + 2*1tB Samsung F3 + 2*2tB Samsung F4EG
Display(s) Flatron W3000H 2560*1600
Case Cooler Master ATCS 840 + 1*120 GT1850 (exhaust) + 1*230 Spectre Pro + Lamptron FC2 (fan controller)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#22
the soon-to-be released a-data tri-channel ddr3 is at 1.65-1.75v. so upcoming Tri-Channel kits should have the right voltage.
 

Poisonsnak

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
362 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
Saskatoon, SK
Processor FX-8150
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme lapped & shimmed
Memory Patriot Viper Extreme 8GB DDR3-1866 9-11-9-27 1.65V
Video Card(s) MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 6970 875/1375
Storage Crucial M4 0309 64GB
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows [8] Developer Preview
#23
I find this odd -- how is it that AMD gets around having different voltages for their memory even though they're using the same kind of integrated memory controller? Is this something unique to DDR3 ram?
Back when socket 939 was new and the DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D was the best AMD motherboard around these same kinds of problems existed. The board had a jumper so you could pull RAM power from the +5V rail (max DIMM voltage 4V) as opposed to +3.3V rail (max DIMM voltage 3.1V). Guys who were using the +5V jumper were frying CPUs if you had too big of a difference between Vcore and Vdimm. Keep in mind these were the days of Winbond BH-5 DDR1 chips where they would take as much voltage as you could give them.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
242 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Antwerp, Belgium
Processor Intel Xeon X5650 @ 3.6Ghz - 1.2v
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Assassin
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 120
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ PC1600
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce GTX 780 3GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro + 3TB + 3TB + 2TB
Display(s) HP ZR22w
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Antec HCG-620M
Software Windows 7 x64
#25