1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thermaltake Announces Immediate Availability of Highly Anticipated Level 10 GT

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i like the looks of the hard drive thing at the front, but the rest of it is about as attractive as my butt crack (pro tip: hairy, not attractive)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. TAViX Guest

    But can it take SLI or Crossfire of dual GPU 35cm long cards????
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    not sure on the measurements, but it does give a few inches room past the edge of a standard mobo.

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. wrathchild_67

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    242 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    A customer requested a build around this case. It just so happened that there was also an 850w PSU that came with it for the msrp price of $269 at TigerDirect. It's definitely not as ground breaking as the original Level 10, but it seems highly functional. If the case didn't include the PSU, I would have recommended another case. If anyone is interested, I can post pics of the finished build using this case.

    The other components are going to be:

    850w Thermaltake PSU
    Asus Crosshair Formula IV
    AMD 1100T CPU
    Thermaltake Frio
    4 x 4GB RAM
    2 x Sapphire Radeon 6950 2GB
    Zotac Geforce 240 GT 512MB (Physx)
    Crucial C300 64GB
    2 x Velociraptor 600GB RAID 0
     
  5. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    859 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    London, UK
    That seems a very expensive system to build around a Phenom CPU, especially when, as the decision to use an Nvidia Physx card shows, this isn't an AMD fanboy/girl.
     
  6. wrathchild_67

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    242 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    It was, but it is the only high end system available with a viable CPU upgrade path. Sockets 1366 (much more expensive), and 1156 are dead, and 1155 isn't available right now nor does it offer full 16x PCI-Express bandwidth for multiple GPUs. At least with this setup, a Bulldozer CPU can be dropped in later and there is enough PCI-Express bandwidth available for future high-end GPU upgrades.

    The Physx card was just icing on the cake. Not really necessary, but it fit into the budget.
     
  7. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    You need a new motherboard for Bulldozer. AM3 is dead too. Your client is fucked.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    until it comes out we dont know if AM3 CPU's work in AM3+ motherboards, or the other way around.

    AM3 CPU's work in AM2+ boards, so IF they follow the trend, AM3+ CPU's may work in AM3 boards.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. wrathchild_67

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    242 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Yep, this single comment made me realize that his computer that was awesome just a few days ago is now completely worthless. Go back to inspecting porn.


    Let's hope so. Asus has done similar things with their BIOS in the past. At this exact moment you can't really build a future-proofed computer (in terms of gaming performance) unless you want to spend over $3000 and get an i7 6-core and some 580GTXs. When someone wants a computer right now, what are you gonna do?
     
  10. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    At least I'm not someone who bought a top-end AM3 system while thinking I could upgrade later.

    In fact, I bought the 1090t instead of the more efficient, better performing and clocking 870 for no particular reason other than "What's it like to have an AMD system?"
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i bought mine because i used the CPU on an AM2+ DDR2 board for a few months before getting my new board, so i had access to the 6 core earlier.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    859 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    London, UK
    I guess I don't tend to make major upgrades so soon after buying a new system.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)